Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
20 crawler(s) on-line.
 9 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Epsilon

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Epsilon:  43 secs ago
 freak:  24 mins ago
 Rob:  29 mins ago
 dalek:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 redfox:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 alanwall:  2 hrs 10 mins ago
 pseudaxos:  3 hrs 8 mins ago
 nbache:  3 hrs 33 mins ago
 saimo:  3 hrs 34 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  3 hrs 42 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
FuZion 
EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 13:20:04
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

That man is amazing...

I wanna say a massive thanks to Rich for the recent availability of EUAE.

I have just been playing SlamTilt, in a window, at full speed (100%, 50fps) with all the bells & whistles & music going on.

Thank you!!!

FuZion.

PS. There had to be at least ONE question didn't there How do I insert different disks during use. F12 + F1 didn't give me anything.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amipal 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 13:24:25
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Apr-2003
Posts: 1895
From: Saltdean, East Sussex, UK

@FuZion

SlamTilt?! Isn't that AGA-only?! Nice!

_________________
After a decade away from the scene, I am back!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 13:31:52
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

@amipal

That it is my pal... That it is!

Hehe, look at me. I forgot the link http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/index.html. Although I should bloomin well hope you all have this in your "Important Sites" bookmarks.

FuZion.

Last edited by FuZion on 17-Oct-2004 at 02:11 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 13:31:56
#4 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@FuZion

When I start it from the shell I get the Grim Reaper. I cannot find anything wrong. Maybe the config file?

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 13:52:10
# ]

0
0

@FuZion

As with Coder I am a bit perplexed. I assume we have to compile the src somehow? Sorry but I am a bit new to this, I have just spent all day replacing Yellowdog with Debian and updating and adding programs where I could manage, not at all a pleasant experience (some successes though!). I nearly died when I saw the Master's announcement and immediately went to his site only to download the slowest 1mb or so of my entire life (shows how popular it is with everyone banging the site!)

Then imagine my horror to find I have to compile and I am a midget in that area but wait that is not the end, you then come on board and brag about playing Slamtilt, my all time favourite game of any platform and one which my wife has taken over posession of my 1200 every night after work.

Please help us poor mortals, how do we compile the src??? I would rather ask you than the Master (Evil One ) as he has already given so much this week!!

Any help appreciated.

ace

 
     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:00:50
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

@acefnq

I too am a mere mortal, I had trouble compiling a "Hello World" example. Anywho, there's an executable ready to run. Head to the bottom of the page & it's (Currently) the 4th item down, just under the source link... Unless of course you mean a Linux binary, in which case you've got me.


@coder

You've got me too. It run straight off from me. The only difference is that, simply cuz I wanted to use it yesterday, I double clicked the icon (Show all files) & ran it from there.

FuZion.

Last edited by FuZion on 17-Oct-2004 at 02:03 PM.
Last edited by FuZion on 17-Oct-2004 at 02:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:37:06
#7 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@FuZion

Quote:
You've got me too. It run straight off from me. The only difference is that, simply cuz I wanted to use it yesterday, I double clicked the icon (Show all files) & ran it from there.


I just tried that too but also the Grim Reaper comes. Did you change the config file a lot? Maybe the problem lies in there?

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:39:43
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

@Coder

Not really. Here's mine:

Quote:
# Example UAE configuration
#
# Lines beginning with a '#' are comments

# Path to file containing Kickstart ROM image
kickstart_rom_file=kick.rom

# If you have an encrypted ROM image from Amiga forever,
# this is a path to the key file
#kickstart_key_file=rom.key

#Show status LEDs on emulator screen
show_leds=true

# Floppy image in drive 0
floppy0=Fun:+ADFs+/SlamTilt.zip

# Joystick port emulation
#joyport0=mouse
joyport1=kbd1

# CPU type to emulate
cpu_type=68020
# CPU emulation speed
# real = approx A500 speed. max = CPU emulation will run as fast as it can
cpu_speed=max

# Amiga chipset to emulate
# Can be ocs, ecs or aga
chipset=aga

# Amount of chip memory to emulate
# in multiples of 512K. Thus chipmem=4 is 2MB
chipmem_size=4

# Amount of fast memory to emulate in MB
fastmem_size=4

# Sound output
# none=no ouput
sound_output=normal

# Frequency of emulated sound output in Hz
#sound_frequency=48000

# Prompt for screen mode to use
amiga.screen_type=ask

# Don't dither
#amiga.use_dither=false


FuZion

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
poweramiga2002 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:40:06
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2003
Posts: 1389
From: Flinders NSW Australia

@Coder

i think a gui is needed for all us not too clued up in shell commands

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:41:54
# ]

0
0

@FuZion

You sir are a gentleman, thakyou. I of course feel a much bigger pratt than earlier today fighting with Debian. The reality is i looked at the dates of the files and did not proceed down the page. Slamtilt here I come. Wooooheee.

Evilrich, expect something in your Xmas stocking from me.

ace

 
     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:53:29
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

@acefnq

No worries Mr.

If you suss out how to insert other disks drop me a line, until then, Mean Machines it is. My fave was Ace of Space, although they were all pretty fine.

I have another question now. I've seen pics of UAE where the display is showing your game, app, workbench etc withough the great big black border around it. I imagine the border is because the classic Amiga could display quite large screens beyond the border of normal viewing.

How can I set it so that I see the bits I want. ie. Games that run in 320x240 can be used on that same screen mode?

FuZion.

Huh, edit, edit, edit... My typing fingers are broke today.

Last edited by FuZion on 17-Oct-2004 at 02:58 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Toaks 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 14:57:05
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 8040
From: amigaguru.com

@Coder

missing the rom file or wrongly named maybe? , i got the GR on this a while back so most likely thats the prob.

_________________
See my blog and collection website! . https://www.blog.amigaguru.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 15:40:02
# ]

0
0

@FuZion

In the new UAE drawer you will find a file called UAERC, drag it across your notepad icon on the dock, you can then reconfigure it, at the second to last set of parameters you can set your screenmode, I am no expert but I think the black screens will depend on what mode you are using + the settings. I run os4 on 1024x768 32 bit, if I set the screenmode to "ask" then a requestor comes up at the start of each game, If I use 640x480 it is good but "grainy" 800x600 "not bad' but @1024x768 you will get the black border but very very good resolution (all these modes in 8bit).

Also from memory you can change or add disks by hitting ctrl alt F1 (F2, F3, F4). Hope this helps.

ace

 
     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 15:44:52
#14 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@Toaks

Quote:
missing the rom file or wrongly named maybe? , i got the GR on this a while back so most likely thats the prob.


I don't think so. I dropped the rom file in the same dir as the exe. Does it matter what the name of the drawer is were UAE is in? I will check it double since if it works for others it should also work for me.

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 16:05:34
# ]

0
0

@Coder

Put it in th exe directory or point to it in the UAERC file, also make sure it is called kick.rom, other emulators will only accept this name despite the verion, I am unsure as to what EUAE expects but it works for me.

ace

 
     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 16:17:12
#16 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@acefnq

Quote:
also make sure it is called kick.rom


I tried it but no luck. I double checked everything but it just does not work. I guess today is really not my day. Not much, actually nothing, is working. Bah!

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ikir 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 16:42:10
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2002
Posts: 5646
From: Italy

@FuZion

EUAE RELEASED????!!! YEAH THANKS!

_________________
Amiga News.it
Sam460ex 1,15Ghz
2GB RAM, 120GB Crucial v4 SSD, 32GB SDHC
Radeon HD 6450 1GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FuZion 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 17:01:07
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 1962
From: Birmingham, England

Coder no!

First the MP3 problem, now this. Is there a doctor in the.....

"I got here as soon as I could!"
(Futurama - Bend Her - Series 3 - Final Scene)

FuZion.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 17:22:59
#19 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@FuZion

Quote:
First the MP3 problem, now this. Is there a doctor in the.....


Your typical sunday. Monday's are even worse so maybe I should leave the machine untouched.

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
evilrich 
Re: EUAE... A work of pure evil (Genius)
Posted on 17-Oct-2004 17:27:09
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Oct-2003
Posts: 534
From: Unknown

@FuZion

Quote:
PS. There had to be at least ONE question didn't there How do I insert different disks during use. F12 + F1 didn't give me anything.

It's Ctrl+Alt+F1 for the AmigaOS version (see the README).

Cheers,
Rich

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle