Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
54 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 zipper:  9 mins ago
 Lou:  12 mins ago
 ErikBauer:  15 mins ago
 IRTheBorg:  21 mins ago
 sTix:  22 mins ago
 AmeegaGuy:  37 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  53 mins ago
 broadblues:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 Trekiej:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 davidf215:  1 hr 36 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 Next Page )
PosterThread
Rudei 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 17:16:46
#121 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3577
From: Dallas, Texas

@DaveP

From my early PC days (ick) - onboard sound is crap.
I didn't even realise the machine had on-board sound - thats why I paid £30 (yes thats £30) for a Soundblaster card for a simple solution!

Am I mad or just practical?

_________________
Nissan GTR '08

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 17:18:38
# ]

0
0

@Rudei

Yeah I know what you mean, hardly the best aural experience in the world! I needed something
that supported 5.1 output, so onboard hardly cut the mustard. Now of course all my freebies from VIA
*cough* have 5.1 built in on the board... ...but still strangely doesnt sound as rich as the A1XEs soundcard
which I need to prise out to find out what I bought all those years ago...

Dave.

 
     Report this post  
PulsatingQuasar 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 17:34:18
#123 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 550
From: The Netherlands, Europe

@Rudei

The NForce 2 audio is pretty good.

_________________
AmigaOne-XE G3 OS 4.
A4000 PPC
A1200 PPC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rudei 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 17:35:38
#124 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3577
From: Dallas, Texas

@DaveP

To be honest, these USB problems and solutions scare the hell out of me but then I'm not particularily good with chopping up wires etc.

But then, I find my A1 and OS4 really stable and enjoy using it - when I feel confident to implement the upgrade myself I'll give it a go.

If I don't feel confident to do it, I'll probably take it to a dealer (i.e. Eyetech in the UK) myself or pay to send it (its an extra cost - but I've got my Amiga and I'm happy with it)

I understand people's frustrations but I knew what I was doing when I ordered it, the problem isn't horrendous IMO just a pain in the backside until I can be bothered to get it repaired.

For people across the world, (for example the likes of Coder) I can see why it is such a bug bear as sending it to a dealer is an absolute nightmare and doing the work themselves is a more realistic option - trouble with that is you need precise instructions in order to make sure you don't make a mess of things.

Thinking about it though, and a point someone has already mentioned, with decent instructions, surely any PC repair/Electronics experts could follow them?

I suppose parts could be a hinderance too - my problem is I don't know enough about the problem in order to make an educated statement

/me hears "Well shut up then!"

I think Eyetech should and will give a formal response - they are a responsible company with a good reputation and a long standing in the Amiga market.

The trouble with us lot is that we care about our machines so much - I can't see any such affinity from the PC market with their machines. We want things to be perfect so much and when they aren't, we create noise (which is no bad thing.) I think we're done with being patient too - although experience tells us that Amigans have been the most patient force in computing ever (10 years guys, give yourselves a round of applause) we want things so badly to work now, to be perfect and to operate as we were used to with the Classics.

Mind you, I put up with that flaming PCMCIA/Accelerator conflict for ever with my A1200 and never got it fixed! My A1200 crashed more than Maureen off of Driving School (sorry, English joke guys ) but I still put up with it.

Who knows how long I'll wait to get this repaired

Rude!



_________________
Nissan GTR '08

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Russ 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 17:59:54
#125 ]
Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2003
Posts: 78
From: New York

@mbilla

I am officially handling all the AmigaOne fixes in the USA. Cost is $35 plus shipping. This price has been set and I will abide by it. Personally I would have charged more.
The complete fix should not be attempted by weekend warriors.Some traces are 1/32nd of an inch apart and everything is surface mounted, making it easy to lift or break a pad. $800+ mistake if you screw up. The fix will not be released to the public or many dealers because of the difficulty of the work. Most of this work will be done with my hot air system. Soldering irons are abit bulky, soldering chips the size of pepper flakes to the motherboard.
USA customers should contact me. If your country does not have someone to do this job we can handle your board but the shipping is always an issue.

_________________
Mr. Hardware Computers

[email]sales@mrhardwarec

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 18:25:41
#126 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3134
From: Beds, UK

Having connected up my camera again and switched it on/off several times, I'm confident that I have one of the newer batch of working boards (which is hardly surprising, since it was one of the last ones sold before the XE shortage)

I'm more concerned with the DMA fix personally, but I think it is going to be cheaper and easier to slot in a sii680 than get the necessary modifications made. The speed doesn't bother me much anyway, a quick run through PartitionWizard's Optimise function and you hardly notice it is loading even big files.

Chris

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mbilla 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 4-Jan-2005 23:34:32
#127 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-May-2003
Posts: 1369
From: EU

@Russ

Quote:
I am officially handling all the AmigaOne fixes in the USA. Cost is $35 plus shipping.


Thx for the Info. I'm living in Luxembourg (Europe). Since years we have no Amiga dealers here.
I buy all my Amiga equipment from KDH in Germany.

I don't know if they are doing the repairs too?
Is there a list of dealers who do actually repairs?


OTOH my A1XE can read my Swissmemory stick and my DigiCam. The 6 in 1 LACIE drive is only recognized after a reset.

WACOM GFX tablet gives me a strange Babble error.

_________________
A computerworld without MS products and Windows!
Connect your Amigas ...
...The Red ONE-A1XE G4 - A3000T- A3000 - A4000 - A2500- A1000 - A600 - CDTV - CD32...
and your PDAs and laptops ...
Psion 5mx Pro - Psion NetBook - Apple iPhone - MSI Wind OSX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Paul 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 0:32:59
#128 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 616
From: Michigan

@Rudei

Quote:
Am I missing the whole point of this "no sound" issue.
I've plugged in a soundblaster Live! on ym A1XE and it works fine...

Whats the problem?


So have I (plugged in a soundblaster live.)
and a sil680ide
and a Catweasel
and ....

oops, that's right, there's no PCI slots left to plug in a SCSI card so I can use my scanner.

That's what the problem is. Once we actually have drivers for the Catweasel, that will be a very useful piece of hardware. Don't want to give that up.

I don't really need a lot of sound capability. The AC97 would have been adequate. But I don't really want to give up ALL sound.

I am way too used to full DMA drive access to go back. Don't want to give that up.

But obviously I have to give something up. Right now it's the SCSI/Scanner.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand, the monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 3:36:11
#129 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1675
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@Chris_Y, Everyone

Right, so with some dealers still listing A1-XE boards, were there ever any of these that were built with the fixes, i.e., working sound, UDMA and USB? Or are these few remaining ones still stocked by the likes of KDH still flawed?? I was just about to order myself an XE when these problems came to the surface, so I've held off and watched the situation for a while. The Micro-A1 is nice, and apparently working well, but doesn't have anything like the expasion I'd like, so it's looking like I'll have to wait off for the follow-up to the XE.

I just hope I'm not waiting another year...

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 6:18:28
#130 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@Russ

Thank you very many for clarification, this makes things bit more clear :)


Miikka

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rudei 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 8:52:35
#131 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3577
From: Dallas, Texas

@Chris_Y

You can help me with this then Chris


_________________
Nissan GTR '08

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rudei 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 8:54:20
#132 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3577
From: Dallas, Texas

@Paul

Ok point taken.
I cannot get by with just on-board sounds hence the requirement for a soundcard of (some) calibre!


Full DMA drive access, this is a speed issue I take it?

_________________
Nissan GTR '08

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Radfoo 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 10:23:37
#133 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 327
From: Derbyshire, Great Britain!

@Russ
Have you heard if any dealers in europe are doing this too? Also what does your fix include? DMA and USB (others?)? Will there ever be a fix for the sound? Thanks

I am in the UK and ordered an earlybird from Eyetech, but expect they will be the last to react (as always!). I was happy to buy a *working* board with only Linux, however it infuriates me the way Eyetech have added comments after the XE were sold that we all new the boards were buggy.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chris_Y 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 10:57:38
#134 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2003
Posts: 3134
From: Beds, UK

@Daedalus

The currently available XE boards have the DMA problem, no sound chip at all, and USB working. If you check with the dealer before ordering, you may find they have applied the DMA fix to the boards already.

_________________
"Miracles we do at once, the impossible takes a little longer" - AJS on Hyperion
Avatar is Tabitha by Eric W Schwartz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gnarly 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 12:27:54
#135 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 742
From: Cheltenham, UK

@DrBombcrater

Quote:
Quote:
Then there is the buster chip debacle. :-/

Indeed, but a fix for that was available in the form of new Buster chips. They should have been supplied for free, but a paid-for fix is better than none.

Which, AFAICT is exactly what is being offered now - through dealers who are qualified to do the repair (like Mr. Hardware for instance). What seems to be lacking is PR...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DrBombcrater 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 12:38:53
#136 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Feb-2004
Posts: 1382
From: UK

@gnarly

I was speaking as the owner of an A1-SE. There are no fixes available for the DMA and USB flaws on these machines, paid-for or otherwise.

_________________
Who do you serve, and who do you trust? - Galen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rudei 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 12:45:25
#137 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3577
From: Dallas, Texas

@DrBombcrater

What? No fixers ever? Why not?

_________________
Nissan GTR '08

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Restore2003 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 12:50:07
#138 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2004
Posts: 438
From: Norway: The land of fjords and red trolls

Well, how come some have managed to fix their boards then?

_________________
If you need music for your productions, or graphics for your creations, feel free to contact me.
also check out my music at http://www.contrazt.no/records.html

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DrBombcrater 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 13:04:57
#139 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Feb-2004
Posts: 1382
From: UK

@Rudei

Quote:
What? No fixers ever? Why not?


I don't know about ever but Eyetech have never indicated there is a fix for the SE, no dealers are offering one, and no 'unofficial' sources have mentioned one. So I think it's a safe bet that no such beast exists.

_________________
Who do you serve, and who do you trust? - Galen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daedalus 
Re: Apparently the A1XE/SE USB needs a HW fix too!
Posted on 5-Jan-2005 14:43:57
#140 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 1675
From: Glasgow - UK, Irish born

@Chris_Y

Hmmm... That's interesting indeed, as I was planning on buying a soundcard for it anyway. I must get in touch with some so and see about getting me one of them... Any estimates on when the next board'll be out? Can't seem to be able to access Eyetech's website.

Thanks for the info!

_________________
RobTheNerd.com | InstallerGen | SMBMounter | Atoms-X

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle