Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 53 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 AdvancedFollower:  7 mins ago
 Hypex:  9 mins ago
 amisteph:  20 mins ago
 Raziel:  27 mins ago
 Tuxedo:  32 mins ago
 K-L:  41 mins ago
 BCP:  51 mins ago
 Vidar:  52 mins ago
 number6:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 hr 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  What development package do you use?
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
thinkchip 
What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 14:46:47
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 1082
From: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

I use Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 on a PC in my attempts at writing games (I know it's getting old and cranky). I use CUBIC IDE on the Amiga side. I wrote a kludge that translates proprietary VCPP classes and functions to Amiga ones so I can compile a program on my Amiga with few changes. Visual C++ has superior navigating, editing, and debugging capabilities. I'm wondering if anyone else uses Visual C++. If not, what do they use and how does it compare with VCPP? What languages are developers using and how would they rate them? Also, is the language/package they use being actively supported?

Last edited by thinkchip on 31-Dec-2011 at 02:48 PM.

_________________
AmigaOne 500(OS4.1 FE) / microA1(OS4.1 FE) / Cubic IDE / Imagine
Amiga 4000/1200/500/2500/1000 / VIC20 / C64 / SX64 / C128 / C16 / C116 / Plus/4 / PET B500
Windows 10 / 3GHz AMD Phenom 8GB RAM / Lightwave 11.6.3 / Visual C++

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 15:15:52
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4125
From: Portsmouth England

@thinkchip

Program in C (with supporting scrits in Arexx Python and perl) and as of my latest project I'm experimenting with CodeBench http://codebench.co.uk/

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jacadcaps 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 15:20:52
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2007
Posts: 133
From: Poland

@thinkchip

Visual Studio 2008 (C++) on Windows when doing paid work, XCode 2, 3 and 4 on Mac. I've been using GoldED for as long as I can remember on Amiga and MorphOS but have recently dropped it in favor of Scribble.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ggw 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 15:23:48
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-May-2003
Posts: 1017
From: Austin, TX

@thinkchip

What I use:
gcc, make, annotate, subversion, and the SDK docs for system routines + examples somehow related to what I'm working on.

As you can imagine, the above lack of an IDE means productivity is not high on my list of priorities.

The Microsoft tools I used to use back around 2000 always left such a strong stamp on the work that I was put off. The sacrifice for a greased slide to a finished GUI was too great, I felt. I also saw the resistance of my co-programmers to go against the grain to achieve a better user experience. The user's point of view was not paramount. The IDE was not a fault for that, but laziness to customize (and customize and customize). I dunno. I guess the lead wasn't inspired.

The most useful moment to moment help is the context sensitive source code highlighting. That lets me concentrate on the pertinent algorithmic content instead of perseverating on every stinking grammatical mark that my mind knows, but the fingers fail do DWIM.

Sorry its not more high tech.

ggw

_________________
..effects of civilization upon...nature, the growing gap between what education was supposed to accomplish and what it consisted of, the national debt and...high taxes, the problem of the excess cost of medical care -- Philip Wylie, 1951

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Belxjander 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 16:10:44
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2005
Posts: 557
From: Chiba prefecture Japan

@thinkchip

Personally ... when on an Amiga I'll throw all the IDE tools out and just concentrate on using
Cygnus Ed with rexx scripting to connect with the compiler directly,
StormC was something I checked out on the Classic (only IDE on Classics I found worthwhile)

When on non-Amiga systems... I'll go with Eclipse or a straight text editor there as well,
But it has been a while and I need to re-learn how to write Makefile scripts again.

as for any of the IDEs.. too many like to provide "Wizard" GUI makers to let you drag and drop...
taking care of the boilerplate code behind the UI... but in the process I have personally
found most IDEs with any sort of UI wizard component seriously wanting.

Maybe it is just my style but the pre-written boilerplate usually I find misses details or takes
shortcuts here and there eschewing the product right from the design choice of using an IDE.

if you aren7t familiar or at least able to read the entire codebase *something*will*be*wrong*
I have run into hidden subtleties that have seen projects shot because of not being as familiar with
the design AND the code along with some things being just blatant mismatches.

I wish I was able to explain a lot of what I have seen but then there is no real point to it....
only rely on code from an IDE if you don't care about any "slop" biting you later.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheAMIgaOne 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 17:00:29
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Jan-2004
Posts: 774
From: United Kingdom

@thinkchip

I use DevC++ (AmiDevCPP) crosscompiling on AmigaOS3 OS4 ,Windows,Linux.

Use Eclipse for Java, Android, Blackberry

Xcode for MacOS, iPhone etc

_________________
Cross-developer on Windows, OS3, OS4, Linux; Current Projects:-
Nephele Cloud App OS4
UserProfile System OS4
AmigaOneXE OS4.1.6

TaoSoftwareBlog Youtube

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
djrikki 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 17:09:19
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2010
Posts: 2075
From: Grimsby, UK

@thinkchip

Coding, exclusively Codebench and Hollywood.

Web, Dreamweaver and MAMP.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Coder 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 17:10:15
#8 ]
Team Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 4523
From: The Netherlands

@thinkchip

Cubic IDE here as well. Since I don't have OS4.1 I can't use CodeBench.

Coder

_________________
Can't get enough of me?
The Bucket Diary Blog
The Bucket Diary Twitter Account

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g_kraszewski 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 17:20:39
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Sep-2010
Posts: 338
From: Unknown

@thinkchip

Scribble and MorphOS SDK as main one. Secondary are: AmigaOS 4 SDK and NotePad and also MorhOS hosted cross-compiler for AmigaOS 3 target (testing on WinUAE).

_________________
krashan.ppa.pl · digibooster.eu

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 18:37:12
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3390
From: Freedom world

@thinkchip

Scribble/MorphOS SDK on Amiga (MorphOS PPC and 68k native). Using Visual C# at the work and it is great. Visual C++ is lacking features but luckily I don't have to use that relic very often.

Notepad for Java.

Last edited by itix on 31-Dec-2011 at 06:37 PM.

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 19:35:25
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2916
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@thinkchip

The simpler the better.

I use NotePad on Amiga OS4.1_4 all way through as it more or less forces me to keep things as simple as possible (but, to paraphrase Albert Einstein, not simpler!) in order to keep my remaining sanity intact.

EDIT:
And of course a strict set of rules about how code *IS* to be written. No need for fancy 'aids', which in the end turn out to be counterproductive.

OldFart

Last edited by OldFart on 31-Dec-2011 at 07:39 PM.

_________________
The younger and less experienced a coder is, the more difficult it is to prove him wrong...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dirk-B 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 31-Dec-2011 19:43:58
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1180
From: Belgium

I am starting to develop with ED and ADOS1.3 on the A500.

I have already inplemented some echo's, so it is going good.

_________________
A1G3-SE + OS4.1 u1 iso (x2)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Nibunnoichi 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 8:43:56
#13 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 18-Nov-2004
Posts: 944
From: Roma + Lecco, Italia

@thinkchip

For my daily job i use Delphi for its own language and Eclipse for anything else... i'd love to have Eclipse on the Amiga (of course it's just a wet dream without the foundamental Java requirement...)

_________________
Proud Amigan since 1987
Owner of various Commodore and a SAM440ep\OS4.1FE
See them on http://retro.furinkan.org/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Toaks 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 9:38:40
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 8034
From: amigaguru.com

@thinkchip

Codebench, Cubic on OS4 and on 68k Asm-One and DevPak.

_________________
See my blog and collection website! . http://www.amigaguru.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 11:33:13
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5006
From: Sweden

I use HD-REC and later on will try out Digibooster. Seems like a good developer tool ;)

HD-REC is like C/C++ and Digibooster like assembler.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 14:27:30
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 1923
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

Usually, GCC, a shell, subversion and an editor :)

_________________
IBrowse/AWeb user? amiga.org - classic browser edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fingus 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 15:14:14
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2006
Posts: 736
From: Unknown

Im using just Cubic IDE for PHP and Hollywood-apps

_________________
SAM460ex Lite, Radeon HD6570 Ultimate/1GB, Juli@Xte PCI-e soundcard (top notch!), eSATA-Connector, OS4.1 Final Edition, Author of Amiga-Flipclock

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g0blin 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 16:00:57
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Mar-2009
Posts: 577
From: Unknown

@thinkchip

I mostly code in ARexx and Hollywood.
I use Codebench while coding on the Amiga, Hollywood IDE while coding on Windows and Kate while coding on Linux.

For web development I prefer Quanta+ or BlueFish under Linux.

Last edited by g0blin on 12-Jan-2012 at 04:01 PM.

_________________
GDG Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 16:46:19
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 844
From: N-Space

@thinkchip

GCC, GNU Make, Vim, and either Gnome Terminal or MacOS Terminal, depending where I'm at at the time. i think it's (past) time to try out Clang.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: What development package do you use?
Posted on 12-Jan-2012 16:58:01
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4492
From: Quattro Stelle

I am no programmer, far from it, but which is the most performing language to use?

And is it possible to create a piece of software which translates a program into the same program for another OS? For example you load a piece of software inside this program and it converts it for you into one that your OS can understand and run?

Sorry as I said I am no programmer

_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle