Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5551 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 56 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 scuzz:  8 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  13 mins ago
 vox:  18 mins ago
 klapdeur:  28 mins ago
 eastone:  32 mins ago
 BCP:  42 mins ago
 Belxjander:  46 mins ago
 Drakken:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 apsturk:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 Blade2019NL:  1 hr 14 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Xena/Xorro software?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
Kronos 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 15:52:49
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 2052
From: Unknown

@Tomppeli

Just a few thoughts:

PCs are programmed in DotNet cos it's easy and allmost crash safe.
If they wanted to use the tools available under AOS (gcc and a prayer) then they can do that also under Windows.
Same goes for USB/serial, which btw don't have to be polled and would serve a far better point to connect the XMOS chip than directly on a mobo.

rPI or Adruino devices can and have been used to emulate pieces of classic HW, yet noone claims them to be anything like an FPGA.

As for "Asians" being scared of Windows, even if thats true, you'll have to pass an endless line of Linux and even BSD ditros before they would come to OS4 only to find out it's all that "scary" bout Window and then some.

_________________
- We don't need good ideas, we haven't run out on bad ones yet
- blame Canada

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 16:18:47
#42 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 470
From: USA

@BSzili

Quote:

BSzili wrote:
Whatever the Xmos processor can or can't do, I'd be damned if I risked damaging a 2000 EUR motherboard just so I can do hobby electronics.

Look, the bottom line is this: the Xmos XS1 didn't prove to be useful to the community. A-Eon could have just said it didn't catch on, and give up on it. Instead they doubled down, and put it on their next motherboard too. Why not just omit it to save costs? They could sell it on a separate card to those who are interested.


Not you. Me.

As far as being useful, if they had produced a useful proto board instead of the useless board they did then at least myself, and probably a few others, would have been tinkering for a few years now.

It,s like somebody selling you a toy automobile with no wheels and saying "Now go and have FUN."

_________________
We the people....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BoingBear 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 14-Apr-2017 19:58:32
#43 ]
Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2015
Posts: 89
From: Unknown

@Signal

I have sent you a PM regarding this topic, and will be starting a new thread for anyone who wishes to discuss what the best design would be for a Xena/Xorro board should be.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 0:52:53
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4057
From: Portsmouth England

@Signal

It's hard to see as the photos on amigakits site are very snall but there doesn't seem to much if any logic on the board, so why not design you own? There are companies that will make very short boards for you not too expensively.

Also it looks to me that you could hang breadboard blocks of the side of it to patch tgther simple projects in s changeable way?

I really have very little urge to tinker with hardware these days, and few ideas to try out, but in ancient times when I did, I'm not sure this board would stop me doing anything. (though risks of damahe to the main board might!)

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 10:46:20
#45 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 185
From: Unknown

@PR

Quote:



Now that we are in there, is this Altivec Speeding things up in the XE or nearly as useful.


There would be a thing to stick an A500/1200 card in these towers for the compability as many of us have a load of old stuff. In all the AmigaOne Range.

The best thing before AmigaOnes were that You can expand the A1200 to it to be an expansion "card"




Using it as a coprocessor for the Main CPU is difficult because it can't directly access the resources (memory, gfx, ...) of the A1X1K and only has 64k words of RAM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 10:56:08
#46 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 185
From: Unknown

Quote:

BSzili wrote:

Look, the bottom line is this: the Xmos XS1 didn't prove to be useful to the community. A-Eon could have just said it didn't catch on, and give up on it.


Development of the interfaces for the Xmos chips and the room needed for it and the Xorro connections cost money. I believe this low cost chip added 100Euros to the price of every A1X1K.

The ACube boards have a I2C bus, but I never saw someone using it, not even as an input device for digital joysticks.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Xena/Xorro software?
Posted on 15-Apr-2017 11:04:00
#47 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1696
From: Suomi-Finland Perkele

@OneTimer1

Nice to know.

Thank You.

Out Ruled from the equation that was One thing at the times.

It is really the main to install like 060+PIV+a lot more in a tower.

Amazing A1200 to expand. Just wanted to know that it does not work "other way" then as You are the specialist.


Still have some new A1200:s...

For all. Peacefull easter eggs.

PR

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle