Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5620 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 80 guest(s) on-line.
 4 member(s) on-line.


Daedalus, fishy_fis, OlafS25, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 fishy_fis:  24 secs ago
 OlafS25:  2 mins ago
 g01df1sh:  3 mins ago
 Daedalus:  3 mins ago
 BigD:  23 mins ago
 Chris_Y:  33 mins ago
 clusteruk:  38 mins ago
 smf:  44 mins ago
 Templario:  51 mins ago
 AndreasM:  2 hrs 2 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Iconeditor not working any longer
Register To Post

PosterThread
Niolator 
Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 19-May-2017 12:30:40
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1384
From: Unknown

I was going to create a new icon for my USB stick and I was going to use Iconeditor that is availible from os4depot. I have used it before and it is a pretty handy tool. When I try to start it I get an error message saying:

Quote:
Cannot read file list_checkmark !
File GUIFuncs.hws (current line: 6 - In function: LoadBrush)


I haven't used the program since AmigaOS 4.1 update 6, maybe it is something in FE that causes it? Or do I have to install something from Hollywood to make it work?

I guess I could have posted this on os4depot but I don't know how often threads connected to older uploads are being read.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 19-May-2017 14:56:18
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1592
From: Czech Republic

@Niolator

Why not use this one?

http://www.os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/iconedit/32biticoned.lha

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 19-May-2017 16:21:51
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2682
From: Finland

@Niolator

Sounds like the problem is that you don't have AISS installed (or a too old version):

http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/aiss/aiss.lha

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 19-May-2017 16:31:18
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1384
From: Unknown

Thanks for the tips. It might be AISS that is the culprit. I don't think I remembered to install AISS after I installed AmigaOS 4.1FE. I will try it (and the program Trixie is recommending) tomorrow. I am busy tonight.

Last edited by Niolator on 19-May-2017 at 04:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 20-May-2017 14:54:16
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1384
From: Unknown

@Trixie

I don't know how to use the program you suggested. I can import an image but I have no clue how to make the second image with glow. I have at least managed to start IconEditor, it was AISS that was missing. With it I can create the glow but I can't create a second image connected to the first. I just get an error message when trying to view the second state and there seem to be no way to create the second state. If I save the image with the glow as an own image and create the icon by using the icon information in AmigaOS 4.1 the text is way off and the second image is not at the same position as the first. I have learned that this is because the images is not at the same place on the sketch board. I could use a Windows tool to fix this but I was hoping not having to use Windows.

I have tested a little with other icons and it seems to work just to pull an icon to the information window of the USB stick. I was not aware that it works for USB sticks. I don't think it did before. Must be some update that made it possible.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 20-May-2017 17:24:17
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3183
From: Russia

@Trixie
Quote:

Why not use this one?

http://www.os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/iconedit/32biticoned.lha


While that one has potencial when author start to works on it (i remember those threads on amigans), it wasn't ever finished properly. Whole design unfinished, like some beta version. Some gadgets even don't works if i remember right. Some windowses unpossible to make active. Some actions just totally unintuitive.

And, basically, when i was in needs to create usuall 2 state amiga icon from png images or something, i just can't. I do not remember details, but loading of image always overwrite settings of the states or something.

In other words, if only it was finished till logical end.. But in current form : not usable sadly. It should be just easy and intuitive design, and everything should works. But you know it all :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 20-May-2017 17:34:15
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1592
From: Czech Republic

@kas1e, @Niolator

I vaguely remember this OpenAmiga project was anounced as (almost?) finished - looks like I was wrong Sorry about that.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 20-May-2017 17:38:32
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3183
From: Russia

@Trixie

In general it is almost finished, but still need some more work in desing, fixing some flaws and co. It maybe not need even a lot of new functionality, just make what is there a bit more inuitive, bug free, and few options there and there.

Just when i was in needs to make pure amiga icon from png image (just make 2 state icon, with glow and stuff), i always loose settngs for second state (probably that about what Niolator say).

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
alpyre 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 20-May-2017 17:51:39
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Oct-2008
Posts: 19
From: Samsun / Turkey

@Niolator

I have some icons for USB sticks here in:
http://aminet.net/search?query=Alpyre
...try them. Maybe you'll like one.

If not... do you have Photoshop or at least Gimp, and can use it?
If yes, you can...
...create your two images (plain&selected) and save them as 24bit Transparent PNG's.
Then concatenate those two with the "join" command in AmigaDOS with the name USB.info.

Then you can make it the icon for any volume, drawer or file just by using the CopyIcon44 (with just 2 drag'n drops).

Good luck.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 21-May-2017 13:27:59
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1384
From: Unknown

@alpyre
Yes, I know how to do it with GIMP or Photoshop. I have made a few hundred icons that way.

I will have to try to adjust it that way. The reason I wanted to use the disk.info method is that I want a specific icon for this USB stick showing how it looks.

Last edited by Niolator on 21-May-2017 at 01:29 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 22-May-2017 11:46:48
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8639
From: Greensborough, Australia

@alpyre

Quote:
Then concatenate those two with the "join" command in AmigaDOS with the name USB.info.


And then what? We've got two PNG images back to back. How do you then turn that into an actual icon?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Iconeditor not working any longer
Posted on 22-May-2017 11:50:37
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8639
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Niolator

IconEdit used to work, IIRC, by dragging a pre-drawn image into the window for the select you needed, then saving it back out.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle