Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5651 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 56 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Amiboy

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Amiboy:  2 mins ago
 RobertB:  12 mins ago
 Barret:  16 mins ago
 DruggedBunny:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 wezzer308:  1 hr 42 mins ago
 phoenixkonsole:  1 hr 48 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  2 hrs 34 mins ago
 BCP:  4 hrs 28 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  4 hrs 47 mins ago
 retro:  4 hrs 50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
spud101 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 28-Jul-2017 19:02:49
#21 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 29
From: Unknown

Thanks all.

Regarding the PATA - IDE adapter. I have tried a lot of these. None let me run both CF and CDROM off 1 IDE cable, also not in AOS3.9. Something with hardcoded master mode in the CDROM drive I guess.

I received some other PCI RTL9029AS cards and guess what at least 1 of them works!! I shows the default vendor and device ID in Ranger. So maybe that env stuff does not work anymore since AOS4.1 FE???

I'm actually posting this from within AOS4.1.

I haven't tried the card in AOS3.9 yet but am pretty sure it will work too.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
HammerD 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 29-Jul-2017 2:22:07
#22 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 898
From: Ontario, Canada

@spud101

Glad you got the Network Card working...as I said not all cards will work, there are probably hundreds of device ID's for these cards. The ENV's should work but ...anyway doesn't matter, you got a card that works!

_________________
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 29-Jul-2017 9:34:56
#23 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 310
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@spud101

Can you try this tool and post output. It's only for OS4, source includes. itm some sort of LIST PCI devices (you will nedd too in DEVS: pci.ids from http://pci-ids.ucw.cz/v2.2/pci.ids)

http://jabirulo.site90.com/temp/lspciOS4.lha

Not tezted under classic machines, on my SAM460ex I get:

#lspci
## Ven Dev Description
01 1095 3114 Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3114 [SATALink/SATARaid] Serial ATA Controller
02 126F 0501 Silicon Motion, Inc. SM501 VoyagerGX Rev. AA
03 ACBE 0001 unknown vendor/device
04 1002 6759 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Turks PRO [Radeon HD 6570/7570/8550]
05 1002 AA90 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Turks HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6500/6600 / 6700M Series]
#

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 31-Jul-2017 12:26:08
#24 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 29
From: Unknown

@jabirulo OK, I may try it out and report here. You haven't planted any ransomware in there have you :P

So a bit more details on my findings:

I got these 3 other rtl8029as cards and had the following findings:

- Micronet SP2082A v2: works in both AOS 3.9 BB1&2 and AOS4.1FE. Ranger shows default realtek VendorID (0x10EC) and DeviceID (0x8029)
- ALN-201C-TB/P also works in AOS 3.9 BB1&2 and AOS4.1FE
- AON-201: Didn't get detected at all in AOS4.1FE (Ranger only showed my voodoo), not tried in AOS3.9. So either I didn't install it properly or the card may be faulty

However there is still a weird issue where the cards sometimes report a wrong vendorID and then are not recognised. E.g. the Micronet sometimes lists 0x18EC in Ranger instead of 0x10EC. Which is just one bit of difference, so maybe there is something weird with a circuit (mediator or A4000 mainboard) I guess (or would this be a flaky AOS4.1 mediator implementation)? Also the AON-201 listed something different the first time I tried (don't remember what). This may also be the reason why I couldn't get the first card to work. I have not reproduced this consistently, so whether the issue goes away when the system gets warmer I don't know.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 1-Aug-2017 15:09:52
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8727
From: Greensborough, Australia

@spud101

Perhaps use another tool and see if it gives different PCI IDs to Ranger. As well as the suggested lspci there is also pciscan and PCIView. See here:
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=search&tool=simple&f_fields=pci

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 1-Aug-2017 15:22:17
#26 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 310
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@spud101

source is included too, so you can check it for yourself

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 2-Aug-2017 7:30:40
#27 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 29
From: Unknown

Not had the time yet to further check the other PCI tools. In the mean time I did receive yet another network card I will test.

What I was thinking though, I guess Ranger is somehow right showing different VendorIDs, 0x10EC vs 0x18EC, as when Ranger shows 0x18EC the card doesn't work and when showing 0x10EC the card does work. So the issue is not Ranger but elsewhere, hardware or AOS4.1 PCI drivers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 2-Aug-2017 11:45:19
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10736
From: Norway

@spud101

Did you try this?

Device ID matches but if still gives trouble try this:

SetENV SAVE rtl8029.device/unit0 "VENDORID=0x10EC DEVICEID=0x8029"

or

SetENV SAVE rtl8029.device/unit0 "VENDORID=0x18EC DEVICEID=0x8029"


Given that ID number is just one BIT that toggle on and off, it might be bad connection,
1,8,E,C

divided into nibbles 4 bit groups.

[0001],[X000],[1110],[1100]

X marks the bit that is changing.

Clean the PCI contractor, try different connector.
it might also be one leg on one IC's on Ethernet card that is not attached.
If there compactors on the card, it might be some HF noise, that is not filtered anymore.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 02-Aug-2017 at 11:55 AM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 02-Aug-2017 at 11:55 AM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 02-Aug-2017 at 11:51 AM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: AOS 4.1 FE Classic IDE & Network issues
Posted on 5-Aug-2017 21:34:42
#29 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 29
From: Unknown

@jabirulo

This is shown with pci.ids in DEVS
## Ven Dev Description
Voodoo 30005 3Dfx Interactive, Inc.
RTL-8029(AS) Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.

This is shown without pci.ids present
## Ven Dev Description
01 121A 0005
02 10EC 8029


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle