Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5651 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 45 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Seiya

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Seiya:  3 mins ago
 scuzz:  9 mins ago
 Cammy:  21 mins ago
 BigD:  33 mins ago
 A1200:  37 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  1 hr 22 mins ago
 tlosm:  1 hr 42 mins ago
 DruggedBunny:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 megol:  2 hrs 4 mins ago
 _Steve_:  2 hrs 15 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Register To Post

PosterThread
bladerunner1963 
New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:12:47
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2015
Posts: 44
From: Baltimore MD

Hey All!

Very excited to receive my brand new X5000 today. It looks like it survived the trip across the pond in good shape...but I need some help.

The X5000 startup executes to the splash screen and boing ball animation. But, that's where things stop cold. The hard drive indicator light flashes a few times, the screen goes white, and then I get no video signal and the computer just sits there in stasis.

There is absolutely *no* documentation included to trouble shoot startup at all. So, I a, open for ideas here. This was no small investment and of course it's very disappointing that out of the box it's not running.

Meanwhile, I am going to do another once over on all the cables to make sure everything is still tight after shipping.

Thanks for any help!

John

p.s. I did get the USB stick with the OS on it if I need to recover the drive. But, again, there are no instructions on how to use it.

_________________
X5000, X1000, A4000/040 (x2), a3000, a2000/040, a1200, a1000(x3), a500, Live!2000, Live! 1000, vlab motion, Toaster 2000, Toaster 4000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:15:47
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2364
From: Amiga land

@bladerunner1963

are you near the x5000? when the boing start rotating please press esc, and report

Last edited by tlosm on 12-Sep-2017 at 02:16 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32; A4k.
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
AmigaOne X5000/40 16GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:19:31
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2005
Posts: 3571
From: Unknown

@bladerunner1963

as soon as the boing ball starts to spin in the Anim press enter on your keyboard.
This should bring up the boot menu.
Selecting "Start AmigaOS" and pressing enter again should boot from hard drive .

To boot from the USB Stick plug it in to one of USB ports and go to the same Boot menu .
go down to "Boot Options Menu" and press enter.
Then select "Boot from Mass Storage" option and press enter .

Last edited by Spectre660 on 12-Sep-2017 at 02:20 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:25:07
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2636
From: Wellington

Also make sure none of the boards or cables have become unseated or disconnected in transit.

TrevorD

Last edited by TrevorDick on 12-Sep-2017 at 02:38 PM.

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bladerunner1963 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:54:18
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2015
Posts: 44
From: Baltimore MD

@Spectre660

That's funny, I was trying the Function keys to get to a loader menu. Didn't try Return.

Okay, so that got me to the loader menu. I selected Boot from AmigaOS and it runs a routine. After the routine appears to complete, the screen goes dark and never comes back one. Same thing happens when I boot from the USB stick.

Do we think that the monitor prefs got corrupted or something like that and the Amiga is just not sending the right signal? the computer doesn't seem to "crash", it's just sitting without a valid video signal. At least that is how it appears.

All help appreciated!

John

_________________
X5000, X1000, A4000/040 (x2), a3000, a2000/040, a1200, a1000(x3), a500, Live!2000, Live! 1000, vlab motion, Toaster 2000, Toaster 4000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
F0L 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:54:21
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2009
Posts: 33
From: amiga.online, amigakit.com

@TrevorDick

Would be better if a support ticket was started.

To boot USB recovery stick;

Press ESC when Boing Ball spinning. Then select Boot Mass Storage. It will then boot from USB Stick.
If it does exactly the same, then as trevor said, check everything is seated correctly.

Just a thought your monitor supports 1024x768? as it does like a resolution issue.

_________________
FOL - PSPUAE Admin / Dev

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 14:55:35
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2636
From: Wellington

@F0L

Agreed, I have already advised by PM to contact his retailer.

Not sure what you mean by :-

"Just a thought your monitor supports 1024x768? as it does like a resolution issue."

TrevorD

Last edited by TrevorDick on 12-Sep-2017 at 02:58 PM.

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bladerunner1963 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 15:42:21
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2015
Posts: 44
From: Baltimore MD

@TrevorDick

Opened a support ticket with AmigaKit.

But in the meantime, dug out my first DVI based Dell monitor and it worked like a charm. It def was a resoultion issue with the newer Viewsonic I was trying.

I am posting this from the X5000!

Now to come up with a good name for this baby.....

Thanks for all the advice.

John

_________________
X5000, X1000, A4000/040 (x2), a3000, a2000/040, a1200, a1000(x3), a500, Live!2000, Live! 1000, vlab motion, Toaster 2000, Toaster 4000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 17:33:50
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Oullins, France

@bladerunner1963

Welcome aboard !

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 12-Sep-2017 19:58:32
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3203
From: Toronto, Canada

@bladerunner1963

glad you get her up n running as I had a similar situation years ago with my X1000 after an update & luckily i had another monitor in the mancave to fix the monitor resolution.

btw, congrats on your X5000

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 13-Sep-2017 15:12:43
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8729
From: Greensborough, Australia

@TrevorDick

Quote:
Not sure what you mean by :-


Perhaps. Roughy translated:

"Just a thought. Are you sure your monitor supports 1024x768? As it does look like a resolution issue."

[Even without seeing the problem.]

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bladerunner1963 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 15-Sep-2017 11:41:23
#12 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2015
Posts: 44
From: Baltimore MD

@klx300r

Thank you! So far, so good. Got a nice set of Logitech speakers for it. Sounds great. Getting games and applications loaded, learning about emulation, etc.

This computer is quick. If it had a truly modern web browser, it could be my full time machine.

_________________
X5000, X1000, A4000/040 (x2), a3000, a2000/040, a1200, a1000(x3), a500, Live!2000, Live! 1000, vlab motion, Toaster 2000, Toaster 4000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 15-Sep-2017 12:32:25
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 441
From: Bear Delaware USA

@bladerunner1963

Quote:
This computer is quick.


Nice to get confirmation of that from an unbiased user, it ought to be.
We've seen multiple postings related to the maximum memory bandwidth, but that is high enough that performance ought to be pretty good.

Welcome to the latest in NG.

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 15-Sep-2017 18:06:12
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 358
From: Stockport, England

@bladerunner1963

congrats on your new purchase, hope it brings you as much joy as it is bringing the rest of us who have purchased one.

and yes it is damn quick beast!

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 16-Sep-2017 3:10:41
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 225
From: Sacramento, CA

@bladerunner1963

Usually a dvi to hdmi cable will work as well.

Did you install the Enhancer 1.3 with upgraded radeon driver?

I'm using my x5000 with a r7 250x dvi to hdmi at 1920x1080!! (grin) also tested 1920X1200 all good.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Beans 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 17-Sep-2017 14:06:18
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2016
Posts: 441
From: Bear Delaware USA

@thread

Does anyone have experience running an X5000 with a Radeon 6000 series card?
I'm thinking of using an HD 6750 for Linux compatibility.

_________________
Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kyle 
Re: New X5000 Arrived...Boot Issues
Posted on 17-Sep-2017 14:20:34
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2006
Posts: 835
From: Livorno, Italy

@Beans

No 3D available nor Nova drivers on OS4.1 side for this card (and all 6xxx series).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle