Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 44 guest(s) on-line.
 5 member(s) on-line.


salass00, klx300r, fishy_fis, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 tommywright:  5 secs ago
 klx300r:  10 secs ago
 Overflow:  35 secs ago
 fishy_fis:  3 mins ago
 salass00:  4 mins ago
 Tuxedo:  47 mins ago
 int21h:  58 mins ago
 Vidar:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 Amiboy:  1 hr 22 mins ago
 Raziel:  1 hr 24 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Cdrom file systems
Register To Post

PosterThread
g01df1sh 
Cdrom file systems
Posted on 3-Nov-2017 20:48:59
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

Hi all

Im starting to get feed up with this whole CDrom FPU issue. I have just got one of these Ide adapters

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-CF2IDE-Angle-IDE-44-PIN-CF-Card-Adapter-to-40-PIN-IDE-Amiga-600-1200-566/112379910631?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

CF cards work nice if no Cdrom drive is connected FPU is seen. If I connect CDrom no fpu. Plus with this adapter you dont get any software for CDrom support and EIDE'99 / Allegro CDFS dont work with it. EIDE'99 / Allegro CDFS pops up two messages complaining it cant see the IDE interface and no device Id contact elbox guess that software protection.

So my real question is what do you guys use for CDRom support on A1200 I have tried AmiCDFS but dont seem to be able to make that work either..

Last edited by g01df1sh on 03-Nov-2017 at 08:51 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 3-Nov-2017 21:32:14
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2005
Posts: 220
From: Sacramento, CA

@g01df1sh

You did know that the 1200 ide connector can only use two devices.
The normal way is to connect the CF card as the master.

and the cdrom as the slave. Then the cdfs file system (your choice) is installed.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 3-Nov-2017 21:54:09
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

@SACC-dude

Yes but your wrong with a buffered interface it can use up to 4 devices. The device I am using now supports two. CF is master and CDROM is Slave. I have put CD0 in devs dos drivers and cd-handler in L and the C programs in C. No Cd is shown when I put a disk in. On my Amigakit ide Adapter using EIDE99 software CDROM worked fine. Reason for changing was having cdrom connected I would Loose FPU on my Blizzard MK2 030 card. Seem like this card also does the same but I can get cdrom to work either.

Dam dam dam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 3-Nov-2017 22:42:01
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

@g01df1sh

Ok Made CDrom work using IDEFix 97 from aminet. Hint doing google search found out that Amiga forever has a registration code on the DVD for it Thanks Cloanto. But no further forward on the FPU issue when CDrom is used. :(

Its a lot nicer interface board than the 4 x IDE by Amigakit. A 4 x version using the same layout would be perfect for tower systems.

Idefix added a bit to the top of my startup squence it realy did not like that would not boot. Removed the part from startup sequence and sysytem boots with CDrom working. What does the entry do in startup-sequence for idefix97 ????




Last edited by g01df1sh on 03-Nov-2017 at 10:44 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 13:44:16
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

AmiCDFS is nice. I have heard there can be issues using CacheCDFS (OS3.9 install disk or aminet download).

AmiCDFS Link: http://aminet.net/disk/cdrom/amicdfs240.lha

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 04-Nov-2017 at 01:58 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 14:51:19
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

@Drewlio77

That's the one I tried could not make it work idefix97 is working. But still have same fpu issue.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 15:16:54
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

This FPU issue is odd. Have you tried AIBB (Amiga Intuition Based Benchmarks V6.5)? It will do FPU and non-fpu benchmarks. Definitely will let you know if it works.

I would honestly try another IDE CD-ROM (or DVD-Rom)

AIBB: http://aminet.net/util/moni/AIBB_65.lha

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 04-Nov-2017 at 03:17 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 15:36:03
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8691
From: Greensborough, Australia

@g01df1sh

Does it turn up in HDToolbox device list? So just an issue with EIDE'99 / Allegro CDFS when the device and unit is confirmed as the one?

I've never heard of this locking out the FPU. Something is wrong there. Hard to say if hardware or software. So CPU command lacks FPU in listing as well?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 17:30:31
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@Hypex

Only when the CD-Rom is not connected. With the CF only on the IDE adapter, the FPU show up with various system tools.

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 04-Nov-2017 at 05:31 PM.
Last edited by Drewlio77 on 04-Nov-2017 at 05:30 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 17:32:44
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

@Drewlio77

Yes correct only when cdrom is not connected does the fpu show in Shell using cpu command or in sysinfo

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 17:41:29
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

Just your luck to have the oddest Amiga issue I have seen to date.

The CPU expansion slot has an FPU Sense and FPU Chip Select lines (Pads 115 and 116). Perhaps something is blocking the data path? At this point it is either an incompatibility with 1) your CD Rom or 2) your Accelerator Card. Though I have not seen anything on Google that mentions this issue that anyone else may have experienced.

Drewlio77

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 18:50:09
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

@Drewlio77

Yes that is my kind of luck LOL it does the same in my other A1200 so i guessing its a compatibilty issue with the 1230 and ide inteface. I used have 060 blizzard back in the day and never had this issue. Maybe its just the mark2 never mind not a major issue.

Thanks for your ideas I do prefer this new ide interface its much more tidy.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 4-Nov-2017 19:47:51
#13 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

I do as well. I don't need more than 2 IDE devices and when I saw this model I knew it was exactly what I needed. One of the best IDE/CF expansions available for the A600/1200.

Drewlio77

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 5-Nov-2017 13:52:25
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8691
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Drewlio77

Bizarre! I'm stumped.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
g01df1sh 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 5-Nov-2017 16:16:53
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Apr-2009
Posts: 1161
From: UK

Vampire A1200 is the cure....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 5-Nov-2017 16:42:11
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@g01df1sh

I hope it gets produced. Must have the POWER!

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 05-Nov-2017 at 04:42 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 6-Nov-2017 15:59:01
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8691
From: Greensborough, Australia

@g01df1sh

Quote:
Vampire A1200 is the cure....


Doesn't it have it's own FPU issues?

Or is it compatible with your CF/CD setup?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 6-Nov-2017 17:11:02
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@Hypex

CurrentlyThe Vampire 500 V2+ doesn't have the FPU activated due to compatibility issues.

I am going to send him my spare Blizzard 1230 MK-IV to see if this helps. It's a newer version than the MK-II and better autoconfigs (almost no jumpers)

Drewlio77

Last edited by Drewlio77 on 06-Nov-2017 at 05:30 PM.
Last edited by Drewlio77 on 06-Nov-2017 at 05:14 PM.
Last edited by Drewlio77 on 06-Nov-2017 at 05:13 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 10-Nov-2017 15:28:12
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8691
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Drewlio77

Like to see if there is any improvement.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Drewlio77 
Re: Cdrom file systems
Posted on 10-Nov-2017 15:37:56
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2008
Posts: 706
From: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

@Hypex

Me too. It's one of the oddest things I have seen in all of my computer troubleshooting years.

Drewlio77

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle