Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5620 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 46 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Srtest,  terminills

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 terminills:  9 secs ago
 Srtest:  3 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  8 mins ago
 klx300r:  45 mins ago
 Spectre660:  1 hr 1 min ago
 OneTimer1:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 sibbi:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 Signman:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 amigasociety:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 newlight:  1 hr 22 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  OS4 and P96 PIP
Register To Post

PosterThread
AmiDog 
OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 5-Jul-2004 21:51:36
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2004
Posts: 915
From: Kumla, Sweden

I decided it was time to play around with P96 PIP today, so I compiled the simple example which is available in the P96 dev archive. No problem so far, however, if I move the PIP window, the actual Window moves but the PIP area stays at the original position. Anyone else with this problem? I've got a Voodoo 3 (2000 I think, 16MB).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 5-Jul-2004 21:52:38
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2439
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@AmiDog

PIP won't work until you get native P96, i'm afraid.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDog 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 5-Jul-2004 22:04:04
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2004
Posts: 915
From: Kumla, Sweden

@xeron

Well, I guess P96 does the conversion in software then? Atleast I'm able to open a PIP window and display YUV data in it. Hmm, if it isn't working, how does P96 figure out which part of the PIP area have changed? It's atleast automagically updated correctly without me telling it what've changed...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ajs 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 5-Jul-2004 22:07:01
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1459
From: Surrey

@AmiDog

Not long now?

http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=1559

_________________
Everything is proceeding as I have foreseen

Some people are like slinkies. Not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when pushed down the stairs.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 5-Jul-2004 22:10:35
#5 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@AmiDog

Quote:
Atleast I'm able to open a PIP window and display YUV data in it.


You can open a PIP window but you cannot move it. Picasso96 relies on a few patches in layers that it cannot do to the PPC verision. That means that the Overlay stays where it is.

In the meantime, Picasso96 is fully PPC native so this works now.

(before you ask, soon )

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Giovanni 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 5-Jul-2004 22:23:21
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-May-2003
Posts: 322
From: Munich, Germany

@Rogue

Quote:
In the meantime, Picasso96 is fully PPC native so this works now.



Good to hear!

_________________
www.amiga4ever.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pecosbil 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 8-Jul-2004 14:19:56
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 79
From: Rovaniemi, Finland

@Rogue

What kind of a speed increase can we expect from it? ...or does it need a PPC native graphics.library / Radeon-driver before you could "actually" see the difference?

Hopefully in the future, when the graphics system is fully PPC native, even the most complicated windows (especially Reaction stuff) will be drawn faster than the eye can see. As you probably know, they are "rather" slow at the moment. Other than that, I like the new OS very much, even at it's current Pre-Release state.


BTW, I'm hoping that you, or anyone else for that matter, could help me with this one problem that I'm dealing with the OS4Pre. For some reason I can't use the Test and Edit buttons in Picasso96Mode. It only gives me an error message saying "Screen too large for this card!". (I have a Hercules 3D Prophet 8500LE 128MB card) Otherwise it's working perfectly fine but I'd like to be able to edit the 320x240 mode a bit that my monitor would display it correctly.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
srupprecht 
Re: OS4 and P96 PIP
Posted on 8-Jul-2004 16:42:15
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Sep-2003
Posts: 166
From: Unknown

@Pecosbil

> What kind of a speed increase can we expect from it?

Depends on the function. Factor 2-10x without any ASM optimiziations currently (blitting, colorspace conversion).

> ...or does it need a PPC native graphics.library

We already have one :)

> Radeon-driver before you could "actually" see the difference?

No but a PPC native driver can make a big difference. Of course, the driver is also native.

> BTW, I'm hoping that you, or anyone else for that matter, could help me with ...

That's a bug in rtg.library (fixed meanwhile). The AmigaOne.card passes a boardname to rtg.library that is too long for the library causing a buffer overflow.

_________________
Stephan Rupprecht - AmigaOS4 developer

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle