Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5819 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
36 crawler(s) on-line.
 26 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 amigang

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigang:  1 min ago
 Dragoon:  8 mins ago
 clint:  40 mins ago
 amisteph:  48 mins ago
 jaokim:  1 hr 7 mins ago
 BSzili:  1 hr 7 mins ago
 Derfs:  1 hr 9 mins ago
 MrFrench:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 cip060:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 Jasper:  2 hrs 1 min ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  MPlayer Experimental version #2
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Jape 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 5:42:35
#41 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Feb-2005
Posts: 397
From: Helsinki, Finland

@afxgroup

On this morning before going work, i played a little with mplayer,
and something is really missing, you should put an option that you
can point that to screen what you want, like Ibrowse screen..

And if there is an option please, tell to me too

because i'd like to use mplayer in IBrowse, just click and play,
but now window is opened into Workbench



EDIT: typos

Last edited by Jape on 06-Apr-2006 at 05:46 AM.

_________________
Asus Maximus VII Ranger, i7-4790K@4.6, HyperX DDR3@1866, MSI GTX980, 120GB ssd, 1T, 2T hdd.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 8:28:06
#42 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1966
From: Taranto, Italy

@Deniil715

Uh.. i'll check it..

@number6
strange i have no problems with WMV9.. i'll check it to..

@jape
No, there is no such option at moment.. i'll add it (in a future...)

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 8:38:37
#43 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@number6

Quote:

The same WMV9 files played with the GUI did -not- produce this problem either.
Curious. Why?


Stack?

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jape 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 8:41:55
#44 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Feb-2005
Posts: 397
From: Helsinki, Finland

@afxgroup

Whee, ta

Edit:


btw, is there any useful prog that you can promote that window to another screen?

Last edited by Jape on 06-Apr-2006 at 08:43 AM.

_________________
Asus Maximus VII Ranger, i7-4790K@4.6, HyperX DDR3@1866, MSI GTX980, 120GB ssd, 1T, 2T hdd.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 15:08:17
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@afxgroup

Quote:
strange i have no problems with WMV9.. i'll check it to..

Solved. See below.

Number 6:
Quote:
The same WMV9 files played with the GUI did -not- produce this problem either.
Curious. Why?


Broadblues:
Quote:
Stack?


Yes. And entirely logical. Since I had been using the previously agreed upon
default of 5000000 (yes, 5 million) when using all versions of MPlayer in the
past, the problem did not show itself with the GUI usage.
It only popped up in shell and -with- WMV9. I think it is fair to conclude that
WMV9 needs a larger stack than the other (to date) codecs implemented in MPlayer.
When using the same stack size (5 million) in shell, the problem vanished.

#6




_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 23:06:36
#46 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1966
From: Taranto, Italy

There is another version on my site that correct the OSD problem.

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fuskoSCN 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 23:13:56
#47 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Mar-2003
Posts: 178
From: Haugesund, Norway

@afxgroup

hi there :)

Just wondered if you have released Bourrique.. i saw you mentioned this program in another thread, but couldn't find any files on your homepage :)

thanks for supporting os4 btw - you are doing a great job! :)

best regards
fuskoSCN

(ahh.... this was ment to be a PM, but now it ended up in this thread by mistake.. sorry to be of topic)

Last edited by fuskoSCN on 06-Apr-2006 at 11:16 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 6-Apr-2006 23:47:29
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@number6 & afxgroup

Quote:

1.Early report:WMV9 at end of play produced orange guru meditation

2."fullscreen" option did not work with "control panel" as active window.


1.I got this too, but not on all files, especially not WMV9 files. I think those I got a recoverable 0100000F from uses AC3 for sound, but not sure.
Btw. I use 300k for stack and I have no real problems with WVM9 or any other except the 0100000F I get sometimes.

2.In the control Panel you need to hit RAmiga+f (it's a menu shortcut there). the Panel won't come with MPlayer to the screen though We are thinking of a solution to this problem...

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 0:19:26
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@Deniil715

Quote:
Btw. I use 300k for stack and I have no real problems with WVM9 or any other except the 0100000F I get sometimes.

ok. I got the number from post #57 by Andrea here.

afxgroup quote:
Quote:
the stack must be not less than 5.000.000

Did he mean 500,000?

Thanks for the confirmation on both the "recoverable alerts" and the GUI.
I think tracking the appearance of "recoverable alerts" is only going to be useful
if we use the same "undamaged test files".
Have you got a link to a WMV9 (not too big please) that we -all- can use for test?

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 11:38:07
#50 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1966
From: Taranto, Italy

@number6

no i mean 5MB...

However just to be sure remove also the codecs.conf present in your mplayer so the program can use the internal one.
For the AC3.. well could be a problem. i must check it.

Andrea

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 13:43:04
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@afxgroup

I played a .mov file perfectly through the shell.
When I used the GUI, no extensions .mov showed up, including the one I just
played in the shell.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 14:17:43
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@Deniil715

Quote:
2.In the control Panel you need to hit RAmiga+f (it's a menu shortcut there).

Not working here with "control panel" the active window.
Fullscreen works fine here with "f" or the pulldown menu in A/V window when A/V
window is made the active window.

Quote:
the Panel won't come with MPlayer to the screen though We are thinking of a solution to this problem...

Opinion on fullscreen mode only:
Watching "fullscreen", like watching TV fullscreen, I would find a menu on-screen
distracting. In other A/V programs I have tested it seems the authors have either
used "pulldown" menus or keyboard control only for fullscreen playback, for this
very reason.

#6

Last edited by number6 on 07-Apr-2006 at 02:18 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 15:03:56
#53 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1966
From: Taranto, Italy

@number6

could be a solution.. maybe when i find some time..

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 17:42:48
#54 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1420
From: Unknown

@number6

Yeah, a link to a WMV-file that is supposed to work would be good. I have tested several WMV movies and I can only hear the sound but no picture shows. I start the movies from MPlayer GUI and have tried many different settings with the same result.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 7-Apr-2006 19:17:35
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@Niolator

I have found a few links to samples covering a variety of codecs:

http://www.execulink.com/~impact/movies.htm
Sample 1 shows in MPlayer from shell:
Selected video codec: [ffwmv3] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg M$ WMV3/WMV9)
Note:file "codecs.conf" needed to be removed from MPlayer/conf subdirectory, in
order to play this file from shell. Both video and audio are seemingly ok.
Let me know what you think.
(Tomazkid. Thanks for the above link!)

Just found a streaming sample at The Ohio State University:
http://streaming.osu.edu/FormatComparisons.html
Try cut&pasting the following link into MPlayer GUI under HTTP/URL:
mms://140.254.4.118:1755/media/formatcomparisons/1000.wmv

http://members.shaw.ca/michael.brooks/index.htm
(under "animations")
Various codecs sample files, mostly intel indeo

http://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/animation.html
Some older codec sample files like fli/flc

Feel free to post any other good links you find.
Remember that some audio codecs are still not supported, and it is possible you
will find files where the video codec is supported, but not the audio.

#6


Last edited by number6 on 07-Apr-2006 at 07:39 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 8-Apr-2006 19:24:16
#56 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Deniil715

A slight nit-pick with the experimental Mplayer-GUI. Under the "System" tab in the 'filepattern', you should add "mov" to it too. Mplayer plays them as well.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 9-Apr-2006 19:36:28
#57 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4193
From: Sweden

@RacerX

Quote:

A slight nit-pick with the experimental Mplayer-GUI. Under the "System" tab in the 'filepattern', you should add "mov" to it too. Mplayer plays them as well.


Done. Also added 3ivx and xvid in case anyone has files named like that too...

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 10-Apr-2006 10:52:06
#58 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1966
From: Taranto, Italy

@Deniil715

good. but i have a problem with volume settings. probably is an mplayer problem. i'll check it

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 1-Jul-2006 17:17:24
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@afxgroup

A minor thing I've noticed. If you use MPlayer to play an audio MP3, there seems to be no way to stop it early. I did one a few days ago (a TWiT podcast) without having the control panel open, and it kept playing even after hitting Escape or playing movie files. It even kept going after I closed MPlayer.

Of course not many people probably use MPlayer to play MP3s, so it's not a big priority.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MPlayer Experimental version #2
Posted on 1-Jul-2006 17:22:48
#60 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10881
From: In the village

@RacerX

Confirmed.

(the MP3 just ended on its own and MPlayer produced a DSI here)

#6

Last edited by number6 on 01-Jul-2006 at 05:25 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle