Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5697 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
27 crawler(s) on-line.
 8 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Tarzin:  16 mins ago
 Livebyfaith:  33 mins ago
 RobertB:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 invent:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 billt:  2 hrs 35 mins ago
 Kremlar:  3 hrs 30 mins ago
 Prober:  3 hrs 47 mins ago
 ggw:  3 hrs 58 mins ago
 freak:  4 hrs 5 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Developer Projects Forum
      /  ACube Systems
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
ChrisH 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 15-Oct-2008 16:22:51
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

This has probably been mentioned before, but after squinting at some Sam440 pics, I believe that it uses the SIL3114CT176 chip for SATA. This means SATA-150 speed, rather than SATA-300 (not that this is likely to make any difference, since harddrives are so slow anyway).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 15-Oct-2008 16:29:45
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5887
From: Work

@ChrisH

In this case the PCI bus is more of a bottle neck than the SATA stream...

So you're right in that it wouldn't make much of a difference, because even with 5 harddrives on a port replicator you're still limited to what you can output over normal PCI (even if it could be 66MHz it's still sharing that with the VGA chip)...

So we're waiting for a PPC440SPe version with x4, x4 and x8 PCIe in addition to the PCI port

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 8:01:36
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Yo
Question for ACube/Hyperion: If I fit a Radeon 9250 PCI card to a Sam440ep (with built-in gfx-chip), will U-boot & OS4.1 allow me to use it?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
m3x 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 8:26:31
#24 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 309
From: Bologna, Italy

@ChrisH

Yes, you can use an external PCI gfx card with Sam. It will work with both UBoot and OS4.1

Before using a PCI card you need to take into account the following info:

- the onboard M9 is connect to a 66 Mhz PCI bus
- the PCI slot is 33 Mhz instead

- the onboard M9 chip as a 128 bit gfx ram bus
- most (if not all) of the 9250 PCI cards have a 64 bit gfx ram bus

Therefore the external PCI card will run on a slower bus and will have a slower gfx ram interface, but you'll have 128Mb or 256Mb ram available instead of the 64 Mb onboard.

My suggestion is to use the onboard M9, with a little fine tuning of video resolution and color deep you can use composting without problems with 64Mb.

_________________
Massimiliano Tretene, ACube Systems, Soft3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Shadowolf 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 8:28:34
#25 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Mar-2005
Posts: 137
From: Germany

@Lecta

>There is no difference between backplates for Sam440ep and Sam44o-Flex boards.

Not perfect, but two holes in the backplate on a Sam440-Flex are way better than no backplate at all.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 10:01:57
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@m3x
Thanks for answer & warnings! I wonder if the Sam440-Flex will have a "dedicated" 66MHz PCI slot for the needed gfx-card?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kyle 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 13:20:38
#27 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 15-Oct-2006
Posts: 861
From: Livorno, Italy

@ChrisH

Yes, Sam Flex has 1 PCI slot at 66Mhz and 2 PCI slot at 33Mhz.
Obviously I'll put gfx in the 66Mhz PCI slot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 14:19:02
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4499
From: Quattro Stelle

@kyle

Which is the best PCI graphics card supported by OS4?

_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rigo 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 18-Oct-2008 16:01:59
#29 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 718
From: Unknown

@TheDaddy

The Radeon 9250 is the recommended base model.

Simon

_________________
Simon

Comments made by me on any public fora are not representative of, or on behalf of, any company I may have, or assumed by the reader to have, any association with.

Any comments are a personal opinion, and should be accepted as such.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Yo 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 21-Oct-2008 7:54:54
#30 ]
Team Member
Joined: 8-Oct-2004
Posts: 2043
From: France, on an ADSL line

@thread

Again. Please keep this thread strictly for questions to be posed TO ACube. If someone, like Rigo above, can answer your question, fine, however chatter WILL be deleted.

Thank you for your consideration.

_________________
¤¤ Official Hyperion Zealot ¤¤

(No, I didn't type that with a straight face.)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 21-Oct-2008 11:04:37
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4185
From: Sweden

@olegil

Quote:
So we're waiting for a PPC440SPe version with x4, x4 and x8 PCIe in addition to the PCI port


That would be nice!

Acube: Are there any plans for such a motherboard? A more highend kind of thing with some (or a lot) of L2 cache, PCIe etc., but still a small embedded-like formfactor perhaps?

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 21-Oct-2008 12:07:11
#32 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1637
From: Here

I have seen PCI risers with two or more sockets.
Would these work with the Sam?

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Radov 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 22-Oct-2008 11:23:14
#33 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2006
Posts: 139
From: Poland

A question from another thread:
Quote:
Is the Sam440's processor overclockable?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 23-Oct-2008 9:13:10
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5162
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

Why is minimig called "mini"? The size is actually "nano", is it not?

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 2-Nov-2008 10:06:30
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@Yo
Another question for ACube: Does Sam440 have any internal connectors for audio sockets (headphones and/or microphone) that you get on cases? The manual does not list any, except for a cryptic "Audio expansion port: J12".

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lucaricossa 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 2-Nov-2008 10:35:08
#36 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-May-2003
Posts: 260
From: Genève

@ChrisH

I second your question about microphones ! I REALLY need one (recording sound). The spare Soundblaster I have doesn't seem to be compatible (5v)!
Is there any solution in order to let SAM record sound (from mic) ????

Last edited by lucaricossa on 02-Nov-2008 at 10:35 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 10-Feb-2010 21:46:23
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10743
From: In the village

@thread

Just adding a few bits of info taken directly from Acube sources, in order to keep this official Acube thread up to date.

After a user stated that SAM440ep was discontinued:

January 26, 2010 - m3x quote:

Quote:
@hunk
you're right, after 3 years, the Sam440ep mini-itx version is out of production, but there are still (few) boards available from resellers and directly from us the 600 mhz version.
We can still produce it if we receive a bulk order of at least 30-50 boards.
We're currently putting our resources producing Sam-flex, EyeMotion and the NAS.


After a user showed concern for Acube's future after X1000 puzzle:

January 27, 2010 - m3x quote:

Quote:
@amigauser
Don't read too much into it, we're not leaving the amiga market, just fading out a product which was already out for 3 years.
As we said at the Pianeta Amiga show in September, there will be eventually a new hardware from us later this year, but there are some conditions for this to happen, and the first one is: we need to sell a certain amount of Flex boards.
For the backplate, it will be available around end March / beginning April this year (crossing fingers...)


Source posts #28 & #52

#6

Last edited by number6 on 10-Feb-2010 at 09:50 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 10-Feb-2010 22:06:33
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3494
From: Toronto, Canada

@number6

thanks for the update

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 12-Feb-2010 8:06:08
#39 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1506
From: Cork Ireland

@number6

thanks for the update!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: ACube Systems
Posted on 26-Feb-2010 23:46:15
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10743
From: In the village

@thread

As reported here

Quote:
Sam blackplates finally available!


direct link to Acube announcement

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle