Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6035 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
68 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  13 mins ago
 cdimauro:  19 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 49 mins ago
 bhabbott:  2 hrs 37 mins ago
 ggw:  3 hrs ago
 agami:  4 hrs 14 mins ago
 tygre:  4 hrs 57 mins ago
 RobertB:  4 hrs 59 mins ago
 RTK0103:  5 hrs 6 mins ago
 dframeli:  5 hrs 24 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
Flashlab 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:08:10
#421 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Aug-2005
Posts: 354
From: Netherlands

@Metalheart

That would certainly be ambitious and commercial suicide IMHO.

_________________
A4000D Cyberstorm PPC 060@50 604@200 128Mb G-Rex Voodoo3 PicassoIV Ariadne Delfina Lite OS3.9 BB2

Online Flash version of BoulderDash: Temporarily offline...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Framiga 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:13:07
#422 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 2213
From: Unknown

@Metalheart
Quote:
An AmigaOS powered gameconsole !


i really hope not!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:15:45
#423 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

also... Enigma is also some user interface for Digital TV set-top-boxes.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DreamBox
http://www.dream-multimedia-tv.de/english/products_flyer.php

+ IIRC, AMD now produces PPC chips for xbox360 and they also produce some DTV chips, perhaps it will have some MysteryMonsterChip.

Last edited by KimmoK on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:53 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:53 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:17:10
#424 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2317
From: Minnesota, USA

While everybody has seemed to note that the letters A, M, I, and G disappeared in todays clue, did it occur to anyone that the remaining letters spell Omen AEon?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
diezi7 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:18:06
#425 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2005
Posts: 125
From: El Vellón (Madrid)

@Metalheart

Xbox360 and PS3 cover that niche yet, for my taste,
we need a better desktop solution,
with improved processing power from what we now enjoy,
and more important:
a widespread developer comunity to ensure
activity and healthness, and support for new appearing
technologies!!
Stability, Power, elegance, simplicity at the same time,
resuming, Amiga style.....
I wait the Os4.1 update, and if new hardware and software
coming is attractive, i'll take a look at my accounts balance.
XDDDD

Last edited by diezi7 on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:20 PM.
Last edited by diezi7 on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:19 PM.

_________________
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.25 Dual MorphOS 3,5 Demo (for a while) Amiga 1200 030 AGA Pegasos 2 G4 (wrecked)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Antique 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:20:42
#426 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2005
Posts: 887
From: Norway

@Samurai_Crow

Noticed them yes. But before them being removed. If it was a puzzle. You'd have these letters:

OM
ENIGMA
AEON

This leaves us with....

aaeegimnoo which could be AmigaOne OE... Whatever that means????? If you think A1 and they have XE,SE etc. Which would lead to OE...

_________________
I'm an antique. Don't light my fuse

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
persia 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:24:57
#427 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 1059
From: Unknown

@diezi7

I thought it meant they're porting X to OS4.1. It would be a great move and provide things likeApache, Open Office, probably MySQL, Evolution, the Gimp, a ton of software fairly quickly. Maybe that's how they're porting Firefox?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:25:41
#428 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

Thanks to who-ever spotted justadot.png . Hyperion finally got my attention

BTW, I think unlikely from a commercial point of view, but *if* Jens Schoenfeld (Individual Computing) was involved, then it could have the AGA chipset built-in, using his Clone-A project (of which we've heard very very little). Not really any point though, when a >1GHz CPU should run E-UAE quite fast.

Last edited by ChrisH on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:30 PM.
Last edited by ChrisH on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:30 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ancalimon 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:27:38
#429 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 433
From: Istanbul

DirectX Amiga? :P

A new AmigaOne that is compatible with DirectX?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:33:12
#430 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@Flashlab

>ambitious and commercial suicide IMHO.

Yes, I agree. But it seems possible.
And for all we know they could have backing from several big game companies.

It would be realy cool, wouldn't it ?

I dont think this is it though, but it seems possible.

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eXec 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:36:20
#431 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2004
Posts: 956
From: Burkina Faso

@Ancalimon

Hopefully x86 based Aone hardware!



_________________
____
...administration is for serious people only....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:38:47
#432 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2317
From: Minnesota, USA

@ChrisH

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
Thanks to who-ever spotted justadot.png . Hyperion finally got my attention

BTW, I think unlikely from a commercial point of view, but *if* Jens Schoenfeld (Individual Computing) was involved, then it could have the AGA chipset built-in, using his Clone-A project (of which we've heard very very little). Not really any point though, when a >1GHz CPU should run E-UAE quite fast.


In an IRC chat a few weeks ago ssolie said that if the Natami team wanted to have a chance, they should team up with Individual Computers. He was hinting that Clone-AA was coming to fruition. Gunnar and the rest of the Natami team think that Clone-AA is just going to be an AGA compatible core for the FPGA but I'm not sure it will be limited to that. The Indivision AGA scan mulitplier pretty much replaces the functionality of the Lisa chip on AGA but with new scan rates. If Clone-AA has all the chunky support and everything that the Natami team have been trying to offer, we could have some awfully good news on our hands.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Flashlab 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:42:17
#433 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Aug-2005
Posts: 354
From: Netherlands

@Metalheart

Hyperion is too small to pull off a gameconsole that can compete with any current gameconsole. The budgets of these companies are insane.

And I wouldn't find it cool either; if you would want OS4 or any OS to shine games are not the way IMHO. Sure games are important for a platform but an OS is not for a console.

_________________
A4000D Cyberstorm PPC 060@50 604@200 128Mb G-Rex Voodoo3 PicassoIV Ariadne Delfina Lite OS3.9 BB2

Online Flash version of BoulderDash: Temporarily offline...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ancalimon 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:45:00
#434 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 433
From: Istanbul

Whatever all this turns out to be DON'T ABANDON AMIGA LIKE AN ANGRY TEENAGER (as many did in the past)!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Flashlab 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:47:21
#435 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Aug-2005
Posts: 354
From: Netherlands

@eXec

I guess the chances for that are slim to none.

_________________
A4000D Cyberstorm PPC 060@50 604@200 128Mb G-Rex Voodoo3 PicassoIV Ariadne Delfina Lite OS3.9 BB2

Online Flash version of BoulderDash: Temporarily offline...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Flashlab 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:48:18
#436 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Aug-2005
Posts: 354
From: Netherlands

@Ancalimon

?

_________________
A4000D Cyberstorm PPC 060@50 604@200 128Mb G-Rex Voodoo3 PicassoIV Ariadne Delfina Lite OS3.9 BB2

Online Flash version of BoulderDash: Temporarily offline...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Boot_WB 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:52:05
#437 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Kingston upon Hull, UK

@Thread

So many times in the (not-too-distant) past, such a long thread on AW.net would indicate something divisive, developing into an opinionated flame-war.

(Not wanting to jinx it or anything, but..) it is nice to have such a long thread on a positive note.

/Me cherishes moment

Last edited by Boot_WB on 02-Jan-2010 at 04:52 PM.

_________________
Troll - n., A disenfranchised former potential customer who remains interested enough to stay informed and express critical opinions.
opp., the vast majority who voted silently with their feet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jaseinblack 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:52:45
#438 ]
Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2004
Posts: 55
From: Stoke-on-Trent, UK

@eXec

I suppose it could conceivably be a card to plug into an x86 machine to add Amiga compatibility, but I can't see how or why that would be done.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:54:53
#439 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12191
From: Norway

@Flashlab

Quote:

Flashlab wrote:
@Metalheart

Hyperion is too small to pull off a gameconsole that can compete with any current gameconsole. The budgets of these companies are insane.

And I wouldn't find it cool either; if you would want OS4 or any OS to shine games are not the way IMHO. Sure games are important for a platform but an OS is not for a console.


if it brings more users and developers then its not bad thing, but I do agree that the standard installation of AmigaOS4 is maybe too big or not well adapted to be game console OS.
(maybe only 50mb for kickstart is needed + MiniGL)

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 2-Jan-2010 16:55:37
#440 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 332
From: Unknown

@thread

I guess it is a new computer platform that is backward compatible with some Amiga technologies..

Time for a new beginning as it is stated on teaser web page

After a quarter of a century, is Amiga on the brink of a new age ?

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 8GB Radeon RX 560
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon RX 550
Sam 460 2GB RadeonRX 550

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle