Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6035 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
74 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 cdimauro

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 cdimauro:  1 min ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 3 mins ago
 bhabbott:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 ggw:  2 hrs 42 mins ago
 agami:  3 hrs 56 mins ago
 tygre:  4 hrs 39 mins ago
 RobertB:  4 hrs 40 mins ago
 RTK0103:  4 hrs 47 mins ago
 dframeli:  5 hrs 6 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:23:10
#841 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@Fransexy

But he meant bridge chip, not a chick?

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:27:13
#842 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 823
From: Budapest, Hungary

@KimmoK
Quote:
but there is no known power chip below 20W ?

There is. The AMCC Titan. According to this wikipedia page, it's dual core, 2Ghz, and consumes 15W. They started to send out engineering samples in october, 2009(!)... And it seems to me, the PowerPC name is basically gone, almost everyone manufacturing these chips uses "Power" or "Power Architecture" now... Now put the puzzle together. I'd say, the CPU issue is solved.

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:27:36
#843 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@Tommo1975

Quote:
I'm hoping the big announcement covers both the hardware specs and prices AND the software issues.


If Hyperion have a plan for rectifying the software support issue then they are on to a winner - but that has always been the elephant in the room.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
arnljot 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:29:52
#844 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2007
Posts: 159
From: Oslo

@Thread

What ever it is, I know already that I want one. There was a thread here on aw.net which said that 2010 would be an exciting Amiga year. Indeed it will be, but it also seems like it'll be $$$, I have to buy a new machine!! I can't wait!

What Zorro card would be most fun to put into the Xorro slot? Wish there was an inline video slot with it, I'd stick my Picasso IV in there LOL

_________________
A posting a day keeps the sanity away...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:31:08
#845 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@arnljot

Quote:
What Zorro card would be most fun to put into the Xorro slot?


I only think in two zorro cards that have no equivalent supported PCI cards: Videotoaster (or any other non linear video editing card) and bridgeboards

Last edited by Fransexy on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:35 PM.
Last edited by Fransexy on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:33 PM.

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:32:41
#846 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 349
From: Perth, Western Australia

@Thread

Looking closely at the Xorro slot, there's a short segment and a longer segment. This doesn't match with actual Zorro cards does it? (I've never had one).

The closest thing I can find is the Zorro IV board, which seems to have a connector on the top to hook onto the A1200 CPU / expansion edge connector.

Could this board have the capability of piggy backing an A1200 board via the Xorro slot for legacy stuff? Just like the original AmigaOne design which was slowly progressing when I gave up on Amigas back around 1996?

tiffers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:33:44
#847 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2677
From: Wellington

@Chain-Q

Quote:
I'd say, the CPU issue is solved


uh urrr! (supposed to be a wrong answer sound!)

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mihcael 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:34:36
#848 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Jan-2006
Posts: 92
From: I come from a land ...

@tiffers

the xorro is inline with a PCIe x1 slot as stated by rogue

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:35:57
#849 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@Salup

Quote:

Salup wrote:
@Rogue

This is not really my field but doesn't this imply that maybe we are looking at a 64-bit AmigaOS? Isn't 4 gigs the maximum amount of memory that can be allocated in a a 32-bit system?


That's not 100% accurate :)

You can do some clever stuff to make more ram available under 32bit systems.
if I remember rightly there's 2 ways of doing this (on intel architectures anyway)

The first is PSE (Page Size Extension) in which you had to do a buffer copy to anything above the 4GB limit
The other is PAE mode. PAE maps up to 64 GB of physical memory into a 32-bit virtual address space using either 4-KB or 2-MB pages
(32bit Windows Server Enterprise uses at least one of these methods)

I think those are processor, and maybe chipset, dependent though and I dunno if any PPC chips/systems support that.

Last edited by BinoX on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:38 PM.

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiga_3k 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:36:21
#850 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Jun-2006
Posts: 830
From: Ohrid, Macedonia

@Rogue

Very kind of you to check, and answer .

_________________
Back home...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:37:27
#851 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 349
From: Perth, Western Australia

@mihcael

What does that mean? "inline with"

The same length as? Using the same data lanes as? physically compatible to?

Seems I'm not as much of a hardware junkie as I thought I was.

tiffers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
divina 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:37:43
#852 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Jul-2009
Posts: 50
From: Unknown

@Rogue

Hi,

It' s a CPU Powerpc PA6T-1682-a right ?
Tell me I have won an AmigaOne Power X this time

Last edited by divina on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:38 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:38:40
#853 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@Tommo1975

Quote:
Timberwolf would take care of the browser situation (in that OWB is good, but not a name that non Amiga people would recognise) so we know that'll soon be sorted.


Seriously, had you heard of Timberwolf before the first Amiga screenshots?


Better name a browser Amiga Explorer, oh wait, that is already taken

Price will be interesting, but recon it has to be something like "the most expensive SAM + XXX¤ = price ", so quite expensive.

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:39:19
#854 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

Quote:

TrevorDick wrote:
@Chain-Q

Quote:
I'd say, the CPU issue is solved


uh urrr! (supposed to be a wrong answer sound!)

TrevorD

Ok.... So not a Titan processor then, which is what Chain-Q specified.
I think we have established that TrevorDick knows.

Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:40 PM.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:39:27
#855 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 823
From: Budapest, Hungary

@TrevorDick
Well, that's too bad, as only the Titan and Freescale's e600 core based SoCs (8641D, anyone?) are interresting for this market. The rest are too weak, simply, to make up a decent desktop computer (IMO). Of course, there's always a third possiblity with some Cell based thingie, but i'd say that could hardly fit into 20W.

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hondo 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:40:33
#856 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Apr-2003
Posts: 1370
From: Denmark

Damn! - can't wait for the next clue...and the next.....and the

_________________
On Planet Boing Trevor is God

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thom_Holwerda 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:41:48
#857 ]
Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2005
Posts: 98
From: Warmenhuizen

@Chain-Q

...or, Trevor is just pulling your leg :).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:43:22
#858 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

I still think its either the PPC460GTx or the PPC460SX from Applied Micro.
Titan was probably too recently announced to have been used anyway.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mihcael 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:44:48
#859 ]
Member
Joined: 16-Jan-2006
Posts: 92
From: I come from a land ...

@tiffers

"Inline" means physical in a line.

Look at the last (on the right) black slots, there is a small one followed by the xorro one

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:47:34
#860 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 349
From: Perth, Western Australia

@mihcael

Actually the short segment looks exactly like a PCIe 1x slot.

I'm sticking to my story it's a 'bridge' of some sort.

tiffers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle