Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6035 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
72 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 imagodespira:  7 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  26 mins ago
 cdimauro:  33 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  2 hrs 3 mins ago
 bhabbott:  2 hrs 50 mins ago
 ggw:  3 hrs 14 mins ago
 agami:  4 hrs 28 mins ago
 tygre:  5 hrs 11 mins ago
 RobertB:  5 hrs 13 mins ago
 RTK0103:  5 hrs 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
stone 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:45:02
#961 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2004
Posts: 102
From: Copenhagen, Denmark

@KimmoK
Quote:
Also, Xenon CPU would be nice...


i dont really agree. its dated and limited- but its not an option regardlessly as its owned by microsoft.

/stone

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Glames 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:45:28
#962 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 384
From: Nantes, France

AmigaOS 5? But please wait for AmigaOS 4.1.1 before



_________________
Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MZ 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:50:51
#963 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Dec-2004
Posts: 70
From: Unknown

Yeah... Bring out the new HW...ASAP.

My microA1 went 'kaput' loooong time ago.

BR,
MZ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
diezi7 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:50:57
#964 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2005
Posts: 125
From: El Vellón (Madrid)

@NEO

>mMM... nice thought but rather unlikely. *nix means that they have to open up a lot of the code >and in the end that means that it will be ported to every device on the planet.

MacOSX is Unix based, and no open sourced.

_________________
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.25 Dual MorphOS 3,5 Demo (for a while) Amiga 1200 030 AGA Pegasos 2 G4 (wrecked)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
balis 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:51:20
#965 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Apr-2005
Posts: 139
From: Lille

@Rogue

Please stop all that tease before AW server explode

Too much ppl on Amiga sites those days...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:52:07
#966 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9367
From: Unknown

@kedar

Welcome!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Akiko 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 16:59:18
#967 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2004
Posts: 778
From: UK

@stone

Quote:
if its a cell it would be the PowerXCell 8i. it uses ddr2 and i guess the name suits the X hint.


Also that "i" at the end looks familiar!

_________________
Amiga 4000T, CSPPC@233,50 , Amiga OS3.9 / OS4.1
Amiga 1200, Blizzard IV
CD32/SX32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:00:09
#968 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3443
From: Italy, Perugia

@Rogue

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RodTerl 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:03:25
#969 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 6-Sep-2004
Posts: 589
From: Rossendale

ARGGGGG... WIBBLE Wibble, Mr Flibble is most upset..

The tension is driving me mad, MAD I tell you. @.@

8)

Oh, Im already insane, thats ok then. in that case, can I ask for an insane idea due to PCI Express slots?

Can we have Cross Machine Crossfire support, so I can build that 64 PC Petaflop unit using Direct Crossfire GPU cable connections, bypassing the need for teh Mobo to handle data rates, given Crossfire seems to be faster than Giganet as well? 8)

just 4 connections per machine, a pair of dual head graphics cards would do given the n^3 wiring layout?

Trouble is is getting the things to work reliably over 2 metre cables 8(

Im still trying to save up for a SAM.. this thing is going to be deadly.

By the way.. in 1997, Kefrens released Desert Dreams, which at one point, has 12 Thousand smoothly manipulated points, in 3D space, on teh 7 Mhz, 1Mip 68k CPU. Modern Radeon HD48, 58 series GPUs are a Million times more powerful.

So youre saying you need a $100 Thousand machine to handle a ten million point image in realtime?

We Have A Dream, It May Come True,
This Dream We Wish To Share With You.


AMIGA.

We`re Back.

Still Alive.

8)

I really wish someone was going to seriously pi$$ Apple off again at CES. 8)

Real time Raytraced 3D Workbench. Handled by Cameron. 8)


I Said I was Insane. 8)

_________________
The older and more respected a scientist is, the longer it takes to prove him wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NEO 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:07:43
#970 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2010
Posts: 14
From: Sweden

@diezi7 Well... That's not the complete truth. The Darwin core is...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darwin_%28operating_system%29

@stone "i dont really agree. its dated and limited- but its not an option regardlessly as its owned by microsoft."

All hardware is dated. Period. Xeon is not owned by Microsoft. It's a processor manufactured by Intel and used both in PC's and Macs.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MZ 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:08:57
#971 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Dec-2004
Posts: 70
From: Unknown

"Please stop all that tease before AW server explode"

1000th post here we come!

I just hope that 'the official announcement' is near... :)

Prices....what are the prices?

Timetable? I almost bought 27" iMac, but if something good emerges...

BR,
MZ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:10:12
#972 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@stone

Because its "dated", it might be coming available outside xbox manufacturing.
And with it's three 3Ghz core, we would run OK, even though it's not the smartest CPU in the world.

But, yes, others are more propable. Like MPC8641D.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mpiva 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:10:55
#973 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2005
Posts: 202
From: Alberta, CAN

My opinion, based on a few things Rogue has said:

As for CPU:
- CPU is definitely PowerPC
- screenshot of CPU usage appears to be testing Max Wattage, thus the system is running at full load. 24% x 8 = 200% Implies dual-core.
- In discussion about max memory, Rogue stated that he's not sure on limit but that it's "at least" 4Gb as that's what their system is using. In another post he states that 4Gb is the limit for 32bit CPUs. Taken together, these comments imply a 64bit CPU

As for Xena/X:
- all the references to "classic" and "custom chips" to me imply that Xena must be some sort of FPGA that emulates the classic custom chips (or perhaps enhances them ala Natami)
- however there appears to be more o it than that, X and Xena seem related
- my guess is that Xena is hardware side and X is software side
- Rogue's made comments about "using" X, or X not being needed for certain software ports, he also made a strange remark about wanting to "port" on Xena (Sure it was a comment about the actress/character but for the joke to really work it implies Xena has something to do with porting)
- I think that X is a software interface to Xena, perhaps allowing programs to rewrite the FPGA on the fly depending on the task needed. (ie. XUAE using Xena to emulate the custom chips, XN64 using Xena for a N64 emulator, a MplayerX using Xena to speedup video routines allowing fast 1080p playback, and perhaps Timberwolf can use Xena to emulate an x86 for certain Firefox plugins, etc)
- I also think Xena interfaces with Xorro to allow for custom/legacy expansion cards.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDaddy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:13:18
#974 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2005
Posts: 4499
From: Quattro Stelle

@thread

I have just come back so could someone kindly answer this:

It's a new motherboard with a PPC CPU
a few PCI X-press (is that the X?) slots
2 x PCI
a slot called Xorro (advancement on Zorro slots?)
and there is a tower case

Up to 4GB of memory max?

Can more than one pci express gfx card be installed? I suppose at 8x instead of 16x like on other pcs?

Anything else? What is this Xena everyone is talking about?

Thank you



_________________
www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:14:44
#975 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@NEO

But we were talking about Xenon (designed by IBM, Manufactured by Chartered), not Xeon.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenon_(processor)

Last edited by KimmoK on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:15 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:17:23
#976 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@mpiva

"- In discussion about max memory, Rogue stated that he's not sure on limit but that it's "at least" 4Gb as that's what their system is using. In another post he states that 4Gb is the limit for 32bit CPUs. Taken together, these comments imply a 64bit CPU"

Also it could be 4Gb per core (and perhaps per AMP OS).

And I'm pretty sure that xena has nothing to do with classic compatibility (it would be futile and insane).
IMO: It's AJA Xena and xorro is for AJA Xena I/O.

Also...

xorro could have direct access to rapidI/O (CPU) bus ... but most likely not.

Last edited by KimmoK on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:22 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:21 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:18 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:18:24
#977 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@TheDaddy

Quote:
Up to 4GB of memory max?


For a 32-bit OS, yes.

you can have more memory installed, but the OS can only use 4 Gb, due to 32-bit memory limit.

Here is quite good article about it.

(Yes, that is regarding Vista 32bit vs. 64 bit, but that applies to all 32-bit OS:es as well. )

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NEO 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:21:43
#978 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2010
Posts: 14
From: Sweden

@KimmoK

Quote:

KimmoK wrote:
@NEO

But we were talking about Xenon (designed by IBM, Manufactured by Chartered), not Xeon.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenon_(processor)


Ooh. My bad then. Sorry. Whoever came up with that name should be fired. =)

Last edited by zerohero on 03-Jan-2010 at 05:23 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
arnljot 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:22:42
#979 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2007
Posts: 159
From: Oslo

@Hyperion



I just need to say this right away, preemtive of the situation that will arise when this is released:

I'm really dissapointed that you didn't anticipate and produce the board in big enough quantities. I demand marketing, sales and product management peoples head on a plate



It's the first time in a very long time where I've longed to give my money away!

_________________
A posting a day keeps the sanity away...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuBe 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 17:22:57
#980 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Dec-2006
Posts: 1063
From: Dunes of Uridia

@KimmoK

What ever it is Kimmok; this is lighting up a fire under all our buttocks... The truth is near and so is the future of Amiga :)

Who will be the first to let lose a massive BANANA dance party?

Q!

"i am home"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle