Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
15 crawler(s) on-line.
 73 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Kronos:  7 mins ago
 zipper:  14 mins ago
 pixie:  33 mins ago
 Lou:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 kolla:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 Thunda:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 Hypex:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 ktadd:  2 hrs 36 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  2 hrs 37 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  AmigaOne uboot update project
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )
PosterThread
Trev 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 20:11:34
#21 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

And besides, the sam440ep U-Boot sources are always available. What's so special about the AmigaOne U-Boot sources that warrants hiding them?

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 20:31:10
#22 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

@Trev

I can think of a few things. Hyperion have worked on this for several years, not finding a fix. What would happen if you found it?

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 20:41:29
#23 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

@zerohero

If there's anything to fix, it will be fixed collaboratively and openly. In the unlikely event that I actually fix something, I'll do a happy dance and buy myself an ice cream.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 20:47:07
#24 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

@Trev

Yes, but lets play with that thought for a while. Just hypothetically speaking. If you fix it, and do that happy dance while eating ice cream, it would leave a small dent in the previous UBoot developers facade. Hypothetically speaking, of course.

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 21:20:33
#25 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

@zerohero

If that's the case--I'm not saying that it is--one hopes the previous developers would have the integrity to admit their failings and move forward. At the very least, supporting evidence should be made available. Some of the parties involved no longer exist, so where's the harm? I could take this into new territory, but I won't. We're all hobbyists and professionals just trying to have some fun, after all.

EDIT: That said, I think it's time to spend a few hours roaming the Capital Wasteland. Dog Meat misses me, and my rifle skills are getting rusty.

Last edited by Trev on 30-Jan-2010 at 09:22 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 21:25:36
#26 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

@Trev

Still hypothetically speaking, I would take into account the years of badgering from ann.lu and moobunny.

Quote:
EDIT: That said, I think it's time to spend a few hours roaming the Capital Wasteland. Dog Meat misses me, and my rifle skills are getting rusty.


I was just about to recruit the original Dog Meat. Haven't tried F3 yet. Don't have a computer that could handle it anyway.

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 21:50:20
#27 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@Trev

Quote:
If that's the case--I'm not saying that it is--one hopes the previous developers would have the integrity to admit their failings and move forward.


Well, the EGO does matter, and is a big factor to consider.

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 22:40:33
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@Geri

Quote:
I guess you would have to use a CPU on chip debugger (like the BDI2000) to find that code.


I have a Guardian SE from etoolsmiths, same thing. Maybe I'll have to dig it out and finally learn how to use it.

But we might find some clues in the uboot source as well.

I don't want to copy or rip or anything, I just want to jump to the correct place for whatever is needed. Nor do I want to debate idealogical philosophy about various licenses. Let's just figure out how to get something done, and work on doing it.

Last edited by billt on 30-Jan-2010 at 10:46 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 30-Jan-2010 22:41:41
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@number6

Cross bridge scanning is exactly what I myself want added to our uboot.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 0:12:07
#30 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

@tomazkid

Sad, if true.

@all

Still looking for a legitimate source for "Articia S Data Book version 1.0.5." Did MAI's assets go to a specific lien holder, or did the IP revert to the designers?

The other specifications are all quite easy to find.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 0:15:38
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11589
From: In the village

@billt

Quote:
Cross bridge scanning is exactly what I myself want added to our uboot.


It's apparent that the few posters in this thread are reading all of the other posters' comments. THAT is a big positive in my book.

Just noticed in your post#1:
Quote:
it's now hosted by Denx

and surprise? at
Quote:
The history shows activity in there up to Oct 2009!


Since Denx is Acube partner, this could be because there was consultation prior to the newest SAM uboot. (just a theory)

#6

Last edited by number6 on 31-Jan-2010 at 01:07 AM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 0:17:34
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11589
From: In the village

@Trev

If it's worth your asking, it's worth your dropping a line to Adam Kowalczyk and asking if he is willing to contribute.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trev 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 0:36:16
#33 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Jul-2005
Posts: 778
From: Sacramento, CA, USA

@number6

I've asked Adam for something in the past (Mediator specific Linux code) and was ignored, but I'll try again.

_________________
Sam440ep-flex 733 MHz/1 GB RAM/Radeon 9250/AmigaOS4.1 Update 2
borked A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI-IV/Z4+MediatorZIV/Deneb/Voodoo3/CatweaselMk3
more borked A1200/MBX1200z/Indivision
A500/clockport/RRNet
A600/A603

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 0:44:21
#34 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@Trev

Regarding the bouncing emails at hyperion.biz, try with email to Rogue instead, his email works.

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 0:49:20
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11589
From: In the village

@Trev

Quote:
I've asked Adam for something in the past (Mediator specific Linux code) and was ignored, but I'll try again.


Just a thought..to save you re-explaining.
Send him the links to this thread, as well as the thread that spawned this thread. It might help background-wise.

He is alive btw.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 1:10:50
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@zerohero

Quote:
zerohero wrote:
@Trev

Yes, but lets play with that thought for a while. Just hypothetically speaking. If you fix it, and do that happy dance while eating ice cream, it would leave a small dent in the previous UBoot developers facade. Hypothetically speaking, of course.

Developers come and go and we're all deeply grateful for their efforts!

Maybe the problems were not possible to fix in the A1's U-boot version. On the other side U-boot has seen a lot of rework in the meantime. Who knows, if this problems couldn't be fixed easily now?

I would like to see this issue resolved. Everbody wins, if normal users can work on the A1 U-boot code. Hyperion could concentrate on OS4 (without being bothered all the time to do an U-boot update) and we could fix and integrate new features into U-boot.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 1:18:12
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11589
From: In the village

@Geri

Quote:
I would like to see this issue resolved. Everbody wins, if normal users can work on the A1 U-boot code. Hyperion could concentrate on OS4 (without being bothered all the time to do an U-boot update) and we could fix and integrate new features into U-boot.


I don't know how they feel about this at present, but in 2004, after Eyetech gave an initial explanation, Thomas said:

Quote:
I don't have the time to do it myself, but if somebody wants to tackle it, I'll help out.


source

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 1:21:36
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5067
From: New Zealand

@zerohero

Quote:

zerohero wrote:
@Trev

Yes, but lets play with that thought for a while. Just hypothetically speaking. If you fix it, and do that happy dance while eating ice cream, it would leave a small dent in the previous UBoot developers facade. Hypothetically speaking, of course.


If you spent days searching for a needle in a haystack, and then someone else came along and found it, would it really be embarrassing? I don't think so; that person would have taken advantage of the fact that he/she knew where you had looked previously, and also got lucky that he/she started looking in the right area.

So it is with problems like this where the solution (if it exists) could be something simple but, would still be one of thousands of possible simple things. Remember how the audio hardware was declared non-functional, and the AC'97 codec removed from the board, only to have someone discover years later that it was due to the power saving hardware in the VIA chip having the audio switched off? That doesn't reflect badly on the people who tried to get it working previously.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 1:21:41
#39 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@billt

Quote:
billt wrote:
@Geri

I have a Guardian SE from etoolsmiths, same thing. Maybe I'll have to dig it out and finally learn how to use it.

Cool! How much does this device cost?

Quote:
But we might find some clues in the uboot source as well.

I don't want to copy or rip or anything, I just want to jump to the correct place for whatever is needed. Nor do I want to debate idealogical philosophy about various licenses. Let's just figure out how to get something done, and work on doing it.

Absolutely agree! Count me in, if we get the possiblity to work on the A1 U-boot.

If you're interested, then I can redesign my DualUboot PCB for the microA1 and build it up. It may not be cheap (the PLCC plug in sockets are a little bit expensive here - around 30), but it would be a good starting point.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: AmigaOne uboot update
Posted on 31-Jan-2010 1:28:48
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@number6

Quote:
number6 wrote:
@Geri

I don't know how they feel about this at present, but in 2004, after Eyetech gave an initial explanation, Thomas said:

Quote:
I don't have the time to do it myself, but if somebody wants to tackle it, I'll help out.


source

#6

Even better! I already asked Rogue in this thread, if it would be possible for Hyperion to automate the process of building the A1 U-boot firmware and putting the images on their website. IMHO the time needed to setup this would be well-invested.

Last edited by Geri on 31-Jan-2010 at 01:30 AM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle