Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6054 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
59 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 tygre:  19 mins ago
 RobertB:  42 mins ago
 V8:  59 mins ago
 Steady:  1 hr 9 mins ago
 Seiya:  1 hr 48 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 51 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  2 hrs 5 mins ago
 Excalibur:  2 hrs 58 mins ago
 kolla:  3 hrs 42 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  3 hrs 44 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X1000 CPU clue :)
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 Next Page )
PosterThread
minator 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 25-Jun-2010 22:16:45
#241 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2004
Posts: 989
From: Cambridge

@KimmoK

Quote:
"IBM Xeon"

It's called Xenon.


Actually it's called Waternoose.
The motherboard is called Xenon but the CPU seemed to pick up that name for some reason.


--

As for the PA-Semi performance, I expect it to completely destroy the G4. In fact I expect it to come in somewhat faster than an equivalently clocked G5.

It's got a very fast memory interface and it was designed by some of (if not the) best people in the industry.

_________________
Whyzzat?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Seiya 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 25-Jun-2010 22:22:40
#242 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2006
Posts: 1427
From: Italia

benchmark pa semi

http://www.coremark.org/benchmark/index.php






Last edited by Seiya on 25-Jun-2010 at 11:04 PM.
Last edited by Seiya on 25-Jun-2010 at 10:26 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 26-Jun-2010 8:50:52
#243 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9373
From: Unknown

@Seiya

Quote:
http://www.coremark.org/benchmark/index.php


Oh no, not again...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 26-Jun-2010 9:02:33
#244 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@Seiya
We will have to wait and perform AmigaOS benchmarks on this thing (which will have faster memory and more Mhz anyway).

What's supplied there its hardly any indication, we have an SSE3 equipped 64bit Xeon 5160 (3Ghz) workstation at the office running XP-64, and this year we also added (among others) a quad core i7 PC, the latter is faster but it's certainly not night and day it's twice as fast in renderings, but on everything else the difference is felt alot less.

Why did I mentioned this? Simply because the core-mark score (per mhz) for the 5160 is 2.4 while the PA6T running on Debian at 1.7Ghz and with slow 400Mhz ram, scores 3.2 (better). On the other hand our Corei7 scores 15.1!!!!!

That's ridiculous, we should be getting a x7 speed increase while we get far less

I don't know what trigger those scores on coremark but let me tell you, there is something wrong.

Last edited by DAX on 26-Jun-2010 at 09:28 AM.
Last edited by DAX on 26-Jun-2010 at 09:26 AM.

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Apple Hammer 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 26-Jun-2010 10:29:53
#245 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Jan-2010
Posts: 130
From: Unknown

@koft

Quote:
When will A-Eon stop playing games and just be honest with the community?


Don't be so silly. If I said to you that I had a car to offer to sell you next Summer but I can't tell you what engine it'll have in it quite yet, I would not be dishonest. In fact, as long as I told you what engine the car had in it before I asked you to part with any cash I would have been completely transparent with you.

AEON have not started offering these machines for sale yet. The machine is still in development. So, they can keep secret whatever they like until the point at which they offer it for sale and they'll have not been dishonest or even immoral in any shape or form.

Your claim of dishonesty is very silly.

AH.

Last edited by Apple_hammer on 26-Jun-2010 at 10:34 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 26-Jun-2010 17:46:59
#246 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

>It's got a very fast memory interface and it was designed by some of (if not the) >best people in the industry.

lets hope there come soon more benchmarks about pa6t to show that it is really a great CPU.

if there come not more benchmarks, that show that its great, then maybe its not great.

because if something is great, it should show that it is great.every new CPU on X86 is lots benchmarked.

Also when look what the people do before, they work on ARM Cores.ARM cores give too not so much performance /MHZ, but use less power.

I dont think they can do the wonder to give G4 G5 Performance /MHZ, before i see a benchmark that show this.

for pa6t there are no confirmed specint or specfp values.

pa6t is great for copyprotection or to avoid hacking of military equipmemt, because it have a encryption in the CPU core.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 27-Jun-2010 23:56:16
#247 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3897
From: Unknown

@

old article

http://arstechnica.com/old/content/2007/02/8828.ars

_________________
Sam460ex : Radeon Rx550 Single slot Video Card : SIL3112 SATA card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 0:32:23
#248 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3897
From: Unknown

@Tread

If i were involved with A-eon I would try to hire Umisef to try to evaluate (find flaws) in the beta boards and Amiga OS 4.1 . Someone who is not so "friendly" can save you problems in the long run. remember the lipservice with problems with the MAI chip on the A1 ?. Most people thought that Bill Buck and co were just being nasty but they were teliing the truth,


_________________
Sam460ex : Radeon Rx550 Single slot Video Card : SIL3112 SATA card

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 0:33:15
#249 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3204
From: Maryland, USA

Quote:
When will A-Eon stop playing games and just be honest with the community?


When the Freescale P5020 was announced, I thought perhaps they were waiting for that chip to be made public. But the number of PCI-Express lanes doesn't fit I don't think. But perhaps there is another not quite yet announced PPC chip that they are not allowed to talk about until the chip vendor goes public...

If the whole Agnilux/PA Semi thing was what was going on, perhaps the Google buyout threw an unexpected delay into everything.

Why do you have to be so antagonistic about delays? If you really are such a professional, you should be aware that unintended delays do sometimes happen. And it's not always your own fault, but you are affected and delayed because of it. If you've never ever ever been affeced by some unexpected and unwanted delay, then you're either lieing about no delays in your experience, or your lieing about being in a related profession for so long.

Last edited by billt on 28-Jun-2010 at 01:34 AM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 4:28:22
#250 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4409
From: Australia

@minator

Quote:

minator wrote:
@KimmoK

Quote:
"IBM Xeon"

It's called Xenon.


Actually it's called Waternoose.
The motherboard is called Xenon but the CPU seemed to pick up that name for some reason.

As for codenames, "Xenon" sounds better than "Waternoose".

"The processor, internally codenamed "Waternoose" by IBM and XCPU by Microsoft."

Atleast the 65nm version of XCPU has the codename of "Falcon"....

_________________
Ryzen 7 5800X, DDR4-3600 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Amiga 1200 (rev 1D1, KS 3.2, TF1260, 68060 @ 63 Mhz, 128 MB)
Amiga 500 (rev 6A, KS 3.2, PiStorm/RPi3a/Emu68)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 11:15:01
#251 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@DAX

It would be interesting to know if there is some physical limitation on nemo that prevents the SOC from running @ 2Ghz.
(perhaps the CPU clock affects serdes lines & SB600 & xena interface)

And I find it funny&strange that they do not use a fan on the SOC. Instead they underclock it to 1,8/1,6/1,2/1/0,8Ghz.

Last edited by KimmoK on 28-Jun-2010 at 11:16 AM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_ThEcRoW 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 14:06:51
#252 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 832
From: Murcia (Spain)

Someone posted a block diagram of xbox ppc cpu. There shows 3 cpu blocks in the picture. Are xbox tri-core or tri-processor?. I think that three cores != three processors.
Somebody knows?

_________________
Amiga 1200 desktop. Apollo 030/50 Mhz 8mb ram + ClassicWB + Wb 3.1
Amiga 500 + ACA500plus 8mb + 30gb CF
Raspberry Pi 3b+ and Amibian 1.4
Mac Mini G4 1GB Ram with the butterfly!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 14:48:44
#253 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4409
From: Australia

@_ThEcRoW

Quote:

_ThEcRoW wrote:
Someone posted a block diagram of xbox ppc cpu. There shows 3 cpu blocks in the picture. Are xbox tri-core or tri-processor?. I think that three cores != three processors.
Somebody knows?

Are we just debating on semantics?

XBox 360's XCPU includes 3 PPE CPUs. Each PPE includes 1 VMX128 unit. PPE is like PowerPC G2 type CPU with high clock rates, long pipeline depth (like Intel Pentium IV Northwood) and VMX unit. The 3 PPEs shares 1.6Ghz L2 cache.

In the terms of AMD's Athlon II X3, you could say Xbox 360’s CPU as IBM PowerPC G2+ X3.

Last edited by Hammer on 28-Jun-2010 at 02:54 PM.

_________________
Ryzen 7 5800X, DDR4-3600 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Amiga 1200 (rev 1D1, KS 3.2, TF1260, 68060 @ 63 Mhz, 128 MB)
Amiga 500 (rev 6A, KS 3.2, PiStorm/RPi3a/Emu68)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 17:21:15
#254 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

I find now with luck another benchmark value of pa6t.but problem is the pasemi Homepage is as we all know closed and it is a (german) post, so verification is not possible

The thread is a announce of AMCC Titan CPU that do with 2 cores 8000 drysytones.

"""""
http://www.ppcnux.de/?q=node/6888&page=2
Noch ein Vergleichswert:

Laut http://www.pasemi.com/news/pr_2007_02_05a.html bringt es der Pwrficient PA6T-1682M auf 8800 Dhrystones/s (beide Kerne zusammen, wenn ich es richtig verstehe), also 10% besser als der AMCC.
""""""

This text mean that the pa6t do 8800 drystones with his 2 cores.And this is only 10% better as the AMCC Titan.

Last edited by bernd_afa on 28-Jun-2010 at 05:22 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 18:46:23
#255 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@bernd_afa

Some stuff of PA semi home page seems to be here:
http://web.archive.org/web/20070927205658/http://www.pasemi.com/

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 19:32:04
#256 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

@KimmoK

ah thanks for the init link.I add the other letters and here can see what they write about the drystones on their page-

"""""""
http://web.archive.org/web/20070821022655/pasemi.com/news/pr_2007_02_05a.html

Total device power dissipation is 5-13W typical, or 25W worst case. (Worst case has both processors running a thermal-stress program at 2 GHz, and all peripherals active at maximum activity.) This is three times to four times lower power than other processor solutions implemented in 65-nanometer process technology with equivalent peripheral support. At 2 GHz, the 1682M delivers 8,800 Dhrystone MIPS of performance using both PA6T CPUs.
""""""

now you can also compare the drystone with a G4.for a single core pa6t come to 4400 then.

what do a G4 and a G5 ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 20:06:18
#257 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12275
From: Norway

@Seiya

The list most be bit out of date,

I was looking for Freescale I know they have a few “ARM” based cpu’s but they were not in the list, as well as the AMCC chips were not there.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 20:13:22
#258 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6674
From: Unknown

@KimmoK Quote:
And I find it funny&strange that they do not use a fan on the SOC. Instead they underclock it to 1,8/1,6/1,2/1/0,8Gh

Errrr, who says they won't use a fan???? The shown X1000 is only a (Rev 1) prototype, not a production model.

BTW, I am glad you can underclock it, because it makes it much easier for developers to see how their software runs on slower hardware (like Sam440).

Last edited by ChrisH on 28-Jun-2010 at 08:14 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 28-Jun-2010 21:57:00
#259 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@bernd_afa
When I told people that a 2Ghz Titan could generate 8000 mips they all fired back at me saying "mips" aren't that Hot these days, and that vector units are way more important.
On a link posted abobe I read:

The PA6T's back end can execute the following instruction types in parallel:

2 integer operations
1 floating-point operation
4 vector operations
1 load/store operation

It would seem the PA6T is strong on vector operations, however we are talking "Mips" now?

Last edited by DAX on 28-Jun-2010 at 09:58 PM.

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lsorense 
Re: X1000 CPU clue :)
Posted on 29-Jun-2010 0:11:38
#260 ]
New Member
Joined: 25-Jun-2010
Posts: 2
From: Unknown

@bernd_afa

Quote:
The fastest PPC i think is the IBM Xeon in the xbox360.


Well no, not even close.

The Power6+ is available at 5GHz from IBM, and is I believe dual core with dual thread per core. The Power7 is 8 core, 4+Ghz, 4 threads per core.

The one in the xbox is a slow chip compared to the last few generations of IBM power chips.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle