Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5752 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
68 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  9 mins ago
 kolla:  9 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 Dege:  1 hr 56 mins ago
 IRTheBorg:  1 hr 57 mins ago
 agami:  2 hrs 2 mins ago
 fishy_fis:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 tygre:  3 hrs 23 mins ago
 matthey:  4 hrs 30 mins ago
 BigD:  6 hrs 9 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Windows 8
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )
PosterThread
bison 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 14-Dec-2012 21:35:30
#61 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1637
From: N-Space

@g01df1sh

Quote:
And yes ubuntu has made a mess of its interface as well. Have now started to look at linux mint.

I'm using Linux Mint 13 LTS and I'm really happy with it.

Ubuntu 12.10 is a bit wobbly, so I decided to pass on Mint 14 and wait for Mint 15. In the mean time I'm using the Mint 14 backports that are available for Mint 13.

Nadia backports available in Linux Mint 13

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CritAnime 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 14-Dec-2012 21:53:33
#62 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 735
From: UK

@bison

I use crunchbang and have found my day to computing has got much easier. Dunno why it just seems to suit me.

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 1:13:06
#63 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1637
From: N-Space

@CritAnime

I haven't tried CrunchBang, but Openbox is a really excellent window manager, so I can see why you like it.

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pleng 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 2:49:25
#64 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 458
From: Unknown

@Wol

Quote:

@ChrisH

Well that's one thing any version of winblows has never done ( multitask )..

youuuul sstilllll hhhhavve ttttoo waaaiiiittt aageees ffffor yyyouurrr wwwwinndoow
toooo ooopppeeeen iffff ittt'ssssss dooooooooing sssssssomthing eeelsse.
Annnddddd tthhhee mooouuuussssssee pppoiiiiinttter wwwwiiillllll sssstutteerrrrr
aaaal tttheeeeeeeee tttttimeeeeee.........


Wol.


I suggest you try a version of windows post-98. Anything will do. 2000, XP, Vista even (not ME, that doesn't count).

These issues really... really haven't existed for a long time; so long as you're using adequate hardware, obviously.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CritAnime 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 10:17:52
#65 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 735
From: UK

@bison

CrunchBang is based on the stable Debian release, think it's squeeze, and I like it because it also means it's not lumbered down with all the crap that comes with Ubuntu and Mint. My average RAM load is 200 - 300mb and reaching 500mb if I am doing something with gimp. I have yet to go past 1gb lol.

And yeah OpenBox is becoming my new best friend ;)

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
phoenixkonsole 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 11:08:40
#66 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Nov-2009
Posts: 1768
From: Unknown

@CritAnime

www.aeros-os.org uses openbox too

_________________
AROS Broadway - AEROS - Aminux - AmiCloud - indieGO! Appstore - AmiWallet - VAN lossless video codec - AMC Amiga media Center -KrypUnite - LibertyNet - MinX - amigaNX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 11:57:16
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

Every single Windows OS out there slows to a crawl as soon as you start doing more than one thing with the hard disk. That's why SSDs speed things up massively. Windows 7 is just as bad as Win 95 when it comes to hard disk activity. When I boot my Win 7 machine I have to wait until absolutely everything is loaded up and the hard disk light turns off (about 5 minutes) before I can launch other stuff, otherwise it just bogs down entirely.
The problem isn't Windows itself, the problem is that Windows software is so bloated and reliant on disk access (e.g. Registry) that it's almost impossible to do anything without it accessing the HDD in some way or another.

Luckily I just bought an SSD so that should help massively!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CritAnime 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 12:03:47
#68 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 735
From: UK

@phoenixkonsole

As soon as I can get a Pi I will be downloading it. I have had my eye on it for a while but I have just not had the disk space for a triple boot system.

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
The_Editor 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 15:12:33
#69 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 7629
From: 192.168.0.02 ..Pederburgh .. Iceni

@CritAnime

I stuck with Ubuntu.

Got used to Unity now.

_________________
******************************************
I dont suffer from Insanity - I enjoy it

******************************************

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CritAnime 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 16:53:04
#70 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2011
Posts: 735
From: UK

@The_Editor

I don't mind Ubuntu. I just fell out with Unity when they started putting ads and crap into it. Also the last few updates borked my system.

_________________
My personal blog - CritAnime.com

Admin at Commodore Gaming Wiki

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 19:05:05
#71 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1637
From: N-Space

@phoenixkonsole

Thanks for the link. I didn't know about AEROS I'll have to give it a spin. I've never been able to run AROS it doesn't seem to like any of my hardware, but maybe this will work.

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 19:06:57
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1637
From: N-Space

@CritAnime

I could never get used to Unity's global menu bar. It made sense in 1985 when screens were much smaller, but nowadays it's just too much racing around with the mouse.

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 19:20:25
#73 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@Pleng

Quote:

Quote:

Well that's one thing any version of winblows has never done ( multitask )..

youuuul sstilllll hhhhavve ttttoo waaaiiiittt aageees ffffor yyyouurrr wwwwinndoow
toooo ooopppeeeen iffff ittt'ssssss dooooooooing sssssssomthing eeelsse.
Annnddddd tthhhee mooouuuussssssee pppoiiiiinttter wwwwiiillllll sssstutteerrrrr
aaaal tttheeeeeeeee tttttimeeeeee.........

Wol.


I suggest you try a version of windows post-98. Anything will do. 2000, XP, Vista even (not ME, that doesn't count).

These issues really... really haven't existed for a long time; so long as you're using adequate hardware, obviously.


Fast adequate hardware yes because Windows doesn't multitask. It is speed which makes it appear to multitask. I've been under the impression for years that Windows does what is called Task Switching. The faster the hardware the more it appears to multitask. Thus the race for faster hardware. Unless something has changed recently it is still that way.

Someone show this uneducated fool how far behind the times I am.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomas 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 19:30:23
#74 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2003
Posts: 4286
From: Unknown

@Moxee
Afaik Windows have had preemptive multitasking since NT and anything based on NT kernel like win2000-windows8.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
phoenixkonsole 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 19:34:18
#75 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Nov-2009
Posts: 1768
From: Unknown

@bison
Let me now your thoughts ; )
I had a break for some month to fill batteries. Will update Broadway and AEROS now (x86 and ARM).

_________________
AROS Broadway - AEROS - Aminux - AmiCloud - indieGO! Appstore - AmiWallet - VAN lossless video codec - AMC Amiga media Center -KrypUnite - LibertyNet - MinX - amigaNX

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 19:37:47
#76 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@Tomas

E-gads!

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BrianK 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 22:29:04
#77 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2003
Posts: 8111
From: Minneapolis, MN, USA

@Moxee and @Pleng

16bit Windows cooperatively multitasked - aka task switching. When Windows moved to 32 they changed to enable preemptive multitasking. Like the Amiga we all know and love. Windows NT4.x and it's derivatives such as Windows 7 and 8 along with Server OSes all preemptively multitask. 64 bit windows do not support 16 bit applications so task switching is gone. MacOS9x and prior also cooperatively multitasked. Moving to the BSD core in OSX moved the Apples into a preemptive multitasking.

@Moxee you are asking how far behind the times you are? NT4.0 came out in 1996. OSX was released in 1999. So you're somewhere around 12-16 years behind the times.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
PR 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 15-Dec-2012 22:47:08
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2004
Posts: 1939
From: Suomi-Finland

I have Vista and Directory Opus.

Then Installed a really fast NVidia that actually runs the computer (games).

Is there any sense to put Win7/8 to a one core machine.

Regs: This Amigaguy

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BrianK 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 16-Dec-2012 0:01:05
#79 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2003
Posts: 8111
From: Minneapolis, MN, USA

@PR

You said you were running Vista. You could think of Win7 as Vista with a good service pack. And you would be close to the truth.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: Windows 8
Posted on 16-Dec-2012 0:25:52
#80 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@BrianK

Quote:

@Moxee you are asking how far behind the times you are? NT4.0 came out in 1996. OSX was released in 1999. So you're somewhere around 12-16 years behind the times.


Thanks for all that info. I guess the fall of Commodore really effected me. Ever since I haven't been as interested in keeping up.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle