Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6079 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
45 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ferrels:  31 mins ago
 Mobileconnect:  44 mins ago
 bobopaul:  47 mins ago
 bison:  2 hrs ago
 agami:  2 hrs 1 min ago
 datura:  2 hrs 44 mins ago
 Akiko:  3 hrs 39 mins ago
 BigD:  3 hrs 52 mins ago
 terminills:  4 hrs 1 min ago
 Rob:  4 hrs 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )
PosterThread
tlosm 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 26-Aug-2013 8:45:09
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2722
From: Amiga land

I have 2 differnts experience with timberwolf

On my Sam 460 it load and do it pretty fast the partition is a SFS on a SSD Samsung 840
it is slow in scrolling the pages and slow in download procedures 350kb max dl compared with 850kb max dl of MuiOwb.... i think if in future will be a compositing accel. probably timberworlf can fly.

On my Peg 2 G4 1ghz it crash during loading the partition is a SFS on a Uide HD on the Peg2 controller.
Soon i wil test it on a Sata Hd if something will change

Last edited by tlosm on 26-Aug-2013 at 08:46 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 26-Aug-2013 10:33:48
#62 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:

Nor flash, or Java or unbroken Javascript. But those are things we accept. However, on OSX PPC, they face the same things. You need special software and plugins just like we do on Amiga. There are even flash plugins that open a window over the browser just like on the Amiga! So we shouldn't feel so bad. Though I thought a plugin would interface with the browser better and embed moving pictures in browser window so really I'm not that impressed for a modern OS open source browser!


Erm, where is javascript broken in Odyssey/OWB?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 27-Aug-2013 21:38:12
#63 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1646
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@Signal

Quote:
I discovered by setting TW to 'Work Offline' in the TW 'File' menu before shutdown stops the NSPR thread 4 error, and TW along with the spawned child processes exit cleanly.

I was too fast. Read later post. (I can confirm this. No problems when setting it to offline before quitting.)

Using Timberwolf again after long time it works a lot better than what I remembered. Maybe modern hardware helps.

Last edited by Tomppeli on 30-Aug-2013 at 11:18 PM.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me. My Workbench has always preferences. X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
realize 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 4:29:59
#64 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2003
Posts: 1797
From: nyc

@Hondo

Quote:
But realize that's why we've got you


Yup and thats why I got an "abuse violation" for this post.. unreal..

and still not one word about the actual progress status of Timberwolf project. If I had donated to this project i'd be pretty po'd

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 7:34:43
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2722
From: Amiga land

Tested on SSD on Sata controller
There is working "wihtout problem" it is fast (compared with my 460ex lite) and more enjoyable but need to be more optimized.
For now it is the only one browser is supporting HTML5... when some kind of sites is using this lenguage i use timberwolf ... for all the remain sites MuiOwb continue be the best solution.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 10:25:22
#66 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 664
From: USA

@Tomppeli

Quote:

Tomppeli wrote:
@Signal

Quote:
I discovered by setting TW to 'Work Offline' in the TW 'File' menu before shutdown stops the NSPR thread 4 error, and TW along with the spawned child processes exit cleanly.

I can confirm this. No problems when setting it to offline before quitting.

Thanks for testing and reply.

_________________
Tinkering with computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 10:49:18
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:

For now it is the only one browser is supporting HTML5


Definitely not. OWB, even in its old 1.9 version supports HTML5. But i suppose you mean HTML5 media, rather. Indeed, it's only available in MorphOS ports.

But as a reminder, Odyssey in its latest version scores 417 + 16 bonus points on HTML5test.com, which is more than what Firefox 22 supports (and that's with webgl, workers and a couple other things disabled, it could actually be more in the future...).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 14:00:28
#68 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12147
From: Norway

@Fab

I don't know about scores, but what I can say is that Timberwolf often work whit pages that OWB has problems whit, like my NETGEAR WINCE2001, WLAN TO LAN adapter, and some router software, there is progress bare that should be update that is not on OWB.

As for QT OWB I think it uses a older WebKIT.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 28-Aug-2013 at 02:01 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Boot_WB 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 14:11:06
#69 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Kingston upon Hull, UK

@NutsAboutAmiga

EDIT: Never mind, mine is not the WNCE2001 after all.

Last edited by Boot_WB on 28-Aug-2013 at 02:12 PM.

_________________
Troll - n., A disenfranchised former potential customer who remains interested enough to stay informed and express critical opinions.
opp., the vast majority who voted silently with their feet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 28-Aug-2013 16:22:02
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2722
From: Amiga land

@Fab

I have Owb on my MacMini with registered Mos .
But amiga os ... is amiga os 8)

Last edited by tlosm on 28-Aug-2013 at 04:25 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 30-Aug-2013 16:12:29
#71 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10574
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Fab

Quote:
Erm, where is javascript broken in Odyssey/OWB?


On sites that break it. On some sites I get errors. I don't have a list as I haven't made up one but I do have a shortlist of sites that crash OWB. The crashes are more severe than Javascript.

But one thing that annoys me with OWB is that I set to spoof it as one thing, load a page and find it has gone back to default. So what if I didn't save it? It still makes the option meaningless if I can't test it! I wonder why no particular HTML5 video pages ever worked.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Boot_WB 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 30-Aug-2013 17:43:32
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2006
Posts: 1134
From: Kingston upon Hull, UK

@Hypex

Quote:

Hypex wrote:
@Fab

Quote:
Erm, where is javascript broken in Odyssey/OWB?


On sites that break it. On some sites I get errors. I don't have a list as I haven't made up one but I do have a shortlist of sites that crash OWB. The crashes are more severe than Javascript.


If you'd like to post a few links, I'll happily test them with OWB/MorphOS.

Quote:
But one thing that annoys me with OWB is that I set to spoof it as one thing, load a page and find it has gone back to default. So what if I didn't save it? It still makes the option meaningless if I can't test it!


The entries on the 'settings' menu (RMB>Settings>spoof as, RMB>settings>plugins, etc) are the settings for that particular tab only. If you follow a link using 'open in new tab' or 'open in new window', or create a new tab - it will use the default settings unless overridden in the menus,
If you want to change settings for all tabs (ie change the default 'spoof as' setting) you need to do that in settings>preferences.

I appreciate that is not immediately clear (perhaps they should be in a submenu such as RMB>settings>this tab>spoof as, etc), but once you realise how it works it's a very convenient way to override the defaults on the fly for a particular tab.

It has its drawbacks though - I personally would like links opened in a new tab to inherit those settings from the parent tab for example.


Quote:
I wonder why no particular HTML5 video pages ever worked.


afaiu the OS4 port does not have html5 video support.

Last edited by Boot_WB on 30-Aug-2013 at 05:45 PM.

_________________
Troll - n., A disenfranchised former potential customer who remains interested enough to stay informed and express critical opinions.
opp., the vast majority who voted silently with their feet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MichaelMerkel 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 30-Aug-2013 20:35:39
#73 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 812
From: Ilvesheim, Germany

@Tomppeli

Quote:

Tomppeli wrote:
@Signal

Quote:
I discovered by setting TW to 'Work Offline' in the TW 'File' menu before shutdown stops the NSPR thread 4 error, and TW along with the spawned child processes exit cleanly.

I can confirm this. No problems when setting it to offline before quitting.


i cannot confirm. getting the 4 error also when going offline first.

regards...
michael

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Signal 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 30-Aug-2013 21:22:15
#74 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2013
Posts: 664
From: USA

@MichaelMerkel

Quote:

i cannot confirm. getting the 4 error also when going offline first.

regards...
michael


Thank you. That's +2 and -1.

Do you have SYNC setup? I do not.

_________________
Tinkering with computers.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 30-Aug-2013 23:20:25
#75 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1646
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@Signal

Sorry, I was too fast making the previous post. I'm confirming the opposite to what I said. I remembered something which I had forgotten also.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me. My Workbench has always preferences. X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jupp3 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 31-Aug-2013 9:03:42
#76 ]
Super Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2007
Posts: 1225
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:
Amiga is so much better for browsing without flash and all those ads coming up all the time!

Removing, or "not installing to begin with" a flash plugin is rather trivial thing to do on ANY platform, you know

And it definitely isn't needed much nowadays. Sure, there are some flash based games, but I rather download them & play with stand alone flash player anyway. And sites like youtube haven't required flash for a long time (contrary to popular belief), and are MUCH better to be used with something like minitube anyway

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 9-Sep-2013 15:31:05
#77 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10574
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Boot_WB

Quote:
If you'd like to post a few links, I'll happily test them with OWB/MorphOS.


Well this is embarrasing. I have a load of crashlogs but somehow I don't have the sites that crashed it. But just now I loaded OWB up and it crashed! It was loading the following sites. I don't know which one crashed as when I reloaded it didn't crash again! Typical isn't it?

http://www.os4coding.net/forum/pci-howto#comment-1658
http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/search.php?search_id=egosearch&sid=001668fc78e6d12974ed26ce157c0dd3

THe crashlog may be more meaningful. It has symbols at least. I've used logs before to check a crashed functions and found bugs. I think that's more reliable than an actual test case which can be hard to come by.

Quote:
If you want to change settings for all tabs (ie change the default 'spoof as' setting) you need to do that in settings>preferences.


I decided to just save the setting. Didn't help. Was hoping to find a compatible spoof for HTML WebM for testing YouTube bur it doesn work, always returns in the red. I think the spoofs are too old, they look out of date.

Quote:
It has its drawbacks though - I personally would like links opened in a new tab to inherit those settings from the parent tab for example.


THat's a good idea. I usually close a tab down after changing nthe spoof as I find a simple reload doesn't fool the site once it has looked it up.

Quote:
afaiu the OS4 port does not have html5 video support.


Well it does WebM according to the GUI which HTML5 uses according to YourTube. But this is why I wonder why we had one version of the OWB port and nothing else. I don't know what changes were needed for it to compile but I was hoping this would solve the flash problem. Once again OS4 prooves to be useless at standard browsing despite having around five browsers to chose from!

Last edited by Hypex on 14-Sep-2013 at 03:54 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 9-Sep-2013 15:40:38
#78 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10574
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Jupp3

Quote:
Removing, or "not installing to begin with" a flash plugin is rather trivial thing to do on ANY platform, you know


Yes but then all the flash videos won't work when I want to view them.

Quote:
And it definitely isn't needed much nowadays.


You mean we don't need Intel only? PowerPC Mac users might disagree!

Sure we have ARM devices doing flash but I'm sure it only works by accident. Adobe don't like compiling for anything but x86. The ARMs must be litle endian or all the PC ported code would break.

Quote:
Sure, there are some flash based games, but I rather download them & play with stand alone flash player anyway.


I don't play those games and agree they should be loaded off disk. Not a cloud.

Quote:
And sites like youtube haven't required flash for a long time (contrary to popular belief), and are MUCH better to be used with something like minitube anyway


If that's the case why are there problems on OSX/Linux PPC with flash? And more to the point why does the Amiga still have trouble!?

Where are the modern plugins for OS4/X systems that work on the native browsers and embed in the window! I don't see it! Don't they advertise!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 9-Sep-2013 21:02:13
#79 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3200
From: Maryland, USA

@realize
Quote:
and still not one word about the actual progress status of Timberwolf project. If I had donated to this project i'd be pretty po'd


What was the result of contacting Friedens directly, instead of talking publicaly in forums they say they don't read?

Last edited by billt on 09-Sep-2013 at 09:03 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomas 
Re: Where is the TIMBERWOLF Update?
Posted on 10-Sep-2013 2:04:10
#80 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2003
Posts: 4286
From: Unknown

@Jupp3

Quote:

Jupp3 wrote:
@Hypex

Quote:
Amiga is so much better for browsing without flash and all those ads coming up all the time!

Removing, or "not installing to begin with" a flash plugin is rather trivial thing to do on ANY platform, you know

And it definitely isn't needed much nowadays. Sure, there are some flash based games, but I rather download them & play with stand alone flash player anyway. And sites like youtube haven't required flash for a long time (contrary to popular belief), and are MUCH better to be used with something like minitube anyway

Try streaming some videos and see if you can then live without flash...
And funny how people keep bringing up youtube which is pretty much the only video site these days that have somewhat working html5 support.

And about flash ads.. this is why i use noscript and adblock extensions which is only way to really surf internet these days anyways.
There is also a flashblock plugin for most browsers that only blocks flash itself.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle