Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6021 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
64 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 BSzili

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 BSzili:  13 secs ago
 AP:  18 mins ago
 Trixie:  23 mins ago
 heling:  24 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  36 mins ago
 htvront:  38 mins ago
 Rob:  55 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 Birbo:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  1 hr 16 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 Next Page )
PosterThread
Templario 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 0:31:54
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2004
Posts: 3604
From: Unknown

@zzd10h
+1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 2:43:02
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3437
From: Italy, Perugia

@Fairdinkem

Quote:
why spend thousands of dollars on a system that has no web browsing software?


A system that has no web browsing ???
Odyssey is availible and it works in most case, aka in the 99% of the website worldwide, i wonder why some of you continue to repeat that nonsense ...

Beside this, updating the web browser it's not an Hyperion task (TW was only a personal project of the Frieden bros)

About OS updates, yes me also i don't understand why they keep us on hold for so long, time ago they included AmiUpdate by default exactly with the idea to send us quick updates rathen then "force" us in a long wait...




Edit: spelling correction

Last edited by samo79 on 23-Jan-2016 at 10:06 AM.

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fairdinkem 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 5:27:23
#23 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Feb-2010
Posts: 498
From: Victoria, Australia

@samo79

Quote:
A system that has no web browsing ???
Odyssey is availible and it works in most case, aka in the 99% of the website worldwide, i wonder why some of you continue to repeat that nonsense ...


I beg to differ good sir, I can find multiple instances in my use of web browsing the internet that Odyssey is not able to meet your claim of 99% usability, or is it that I browse every page on the internet that falls within your 1% tolerance? In lieu of your possible reply to site example websites I will not bother to give you examples as it will not change my circumstances of the fact that I can not use my NG system how I would like to be able to, due to Amiga web browsers not meeting modern standards.

Quote:
Beside this, updating the web browser it's not an Hyperion job (TW was only a personal project of the Frieden bros)


Yes I thought this would come up I should listen to my intuition more, The mere fact a Frieden saw fit to port it suggests to me that it was in Hyperions interests in the first place aside from the monetary incentive. To me it is in Hyperions interests to sell an operating system with a quality web browser if they want to be able to move the operating system forward and have there OEMS sell computers running the operating system.

What I object to regarding updates is I paid for AmigaOS when I purchased my Pegasos 2, then Hyperion switched to Amiupdate for a method of delivering quicker updates, then they decide to finish AmigaOS 4.1 by deciding the final update is a PAID (again) ISO only update that doesn't update an existing installation rather I have to reinstall from scratch this is annoying, and the update to top it off doesn't offer me much at all over update 6. Now we are left with a situation of stalled development with no updates because of the X5000 and now the A1222.

(edited a spelling mistake)

Last edited by Fairdinkem on 23-Jan-2016 at 06:35 AM.

_________________
Pegasos 2 G4 - AmigaOS 4.1 FE / MorphOS 3.14

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ArtBlink 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 6:16:38
#24 ]
Member
Joined: 23-May-2013
Posts: 54
From: Unknown

@zzd10h:

+1000000000000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:00:14
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3490
From: Russia

Ssolie was driven force of that "os updates via amiupdate". Now he busy (with child ?), and other ones in team or just can't do that without him, or give a shit about :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BSzili 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:15:43
#26 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Nov-2013
Posts: 429
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Sounds great. Way to treat the users

_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
xray 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:17:31
#27 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 21
From: Suisse

@zzd10h

++1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:28:23
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@kas1e

i think there are all busy... there are to many things in cooking and to less devs ...
in computing: to much process and really less resources... result in many guru meditation

@samo
Quote:
excuse of the X5000

... naaa there is the tabor too ... more cooking things

Last edited by tlosm on 23-Jan-2016 at 07:30 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:32:23
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2287
From: Germany

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@cdimauro

Quote:
Talking about the monitor driver, it works even with the composition turned on,


This is not hardware accellerated and was possible even with Picasso IV driver (eg. for transparent windows). However, it is not true compositing, games requiring compositing will not work.

So there should be some missing feature, I suppose.
Quote:
UAEGFX is much slower than Picasso IV (OS4), but Im sure speed will improve in next releases. Interesting to note, OS4 started automatically with UAEGFX (with monitor file in Devs/Monitors), even though I changed nothing in Screenmode prefs. Nice for quick experiments.

In fact: it's slow because it's just an experiment now. Toni explicitly said that first he wants to see the things working, and then I'll think about optimizations.

The good thing is that, once done, there's no need/dependency on some peripheral emulation, like a full graphic card, network card, etc.: they are directly offloaded to the host o.s., and the implementation can be made very fast.
Quote:
Quote:
I think that this version of WinUAE can be called "pavlor edition" when it'll be released,


Betas are available even today.

Let's wait for the experiment to be completed, and optimizations done.
Quote:
Quote:
What Hyperion can do to complete the work, is make a big gift to its OS4 "classic" users: introduce the already existing patch to let Z3 RAM be added to the system memory, removing the 128MB memory.


Better to introduce needed changes for current and future kernels. Several years OS component (if we assume it exists) would offer only limited value.

Sorry, I didn't got it. What are you talking about?


@zzd10h

Quote:

zzd10h wrote:
@pavlor@cdimauro

Please...


Please what? This thread talks about OS4FE news from Hyperion. This o.s. is sold by the company for "classic" systems, which AFAIK are the only ones that can benefit from the digital download platform (by Cloanto).

The new that I reported is a very good new for OS4FE "classic", because it will greatly improve the user experience. So, it's a good new for Hyperion too, because more units could be sold (unless it doesn't like money ).

And since OS4FE "classic" suffers from the current 128MB limitation, it'll be a good new from Hyperion to have it removed.

What's wrong with all that?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:35:09
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@cdimauro

please means dont spoil a thread with something that you dont know ... leave os4 real hardware users with our peproblems .. thanks

Last edited by tlosm on 23-Jan-2016 at 07:35 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:43:06
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2287
From: Germany

@tlosm: what's not clear to you that this thread is about OS4FE, which is an o.s., and NOT a machine?

What's not clear to you that Hyperion is selling it for "classic" systems, which are basically used by customers with WinUAE?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:48:03
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@cdimauro
Fe is for a real classic system and not for a classic emulator ....
Amen

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:51:52
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2287
From: Germany

@tlosm: OS4FE is for the system on which it can run. WinUAE does it. Fertig.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 7:54:30
#34 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 715
From: Norway

@tlosm

+1

_________________
nox's in the house!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 8:08:28
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@cdimauro
please dont wast our time with your no. sense posts... thankyou

Last edited by tlosm on 23-Jan-2016 at 08:08 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 8:32:08
#36 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2013
From: Czech Republic

@cdimauro

Quote:
What's wrong with all that?


This thread is about Hyperion and the lack of updates for OS4.1 Final Edition. The fact that uaegfx now works in WinUAE is great news but it's really off topic here. If you want to discuss emulation features, limitations or improvements, you're very welcome to start a new thread.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 9:16:36
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9248
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
Fe is for a real classic system and not for a classic emulator ....


Hyperion has probably more WinUAE/4.1FE customers than X1000/SAM/A1 combined...

@cdimauro

As discussion about WinUAE features is clearly OT in this thread, you may start another (or continue via PM), if you are interested in current WinUAE/OS4 experience.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 10:15:54
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

I dont know how much FE on winuae they sell ... did you find the numbers someware ?

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 10:23:55
#39 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9248
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
I dont know how much FE on winuae they sell ... did you find the numbers someware ?


Well, at least one eastern european store sold FE Classic vs other 10:1. I dont think PowerUP cards were sold in such great numbers in Poland.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 10:45:28
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

Two of my powerup was sold there in last 2 years
Remember Stachu is from there :)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle