Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
45 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 kamelito

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kamelito:  3 mins ago
 lionstorm:  7 mins ago
 Rob:  20 mins ago
 zipper:  34 mins ago
 vision:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 amisteph:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 emeck:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 Signal:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  2 hrs 1 min ago
 sTix:  2 hrs 5 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )
PosterThread
Argo 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 3:46:11
#341 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 282
From: St. Lawrence Co., NY, USA

@Thread
How well does the emulation work? Also, what's the minimum hardware spec for a decent experience? Looking to get a Pi 4 once all the bugs are ironed out for a little emulation box, would that be powerful enough?

Might have a reason to get a copy of AOS 4.1 if this good enough

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 10:53:53
#342 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@Trekiej

No for now it not help ... it will help in case one day qemu ppc will have a working passthrough on pcie on the host.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 10:55:13
#343 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@Argo

PI4 ? for now it dont have the power for have a good qemu speed this because the qemu jit is not so fast .

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Sidewinder 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Jul-2019 6:51:52
#344 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 152
From: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

@themamboman

themamboman wrote:
Quote:
Crash is in Background CLI (DSI crash). Can't seem to get past that.


I had the same problems, the 4-minute wait to start the emulator and the SDI exception when trying to install. I ended up having to boot from the CD, format the partitions manually, and start the installer from the CD session. I still got the SDI exception once but was able to kill it and restart the installer. It worked after that.

Hopefully that will help, if you haven't already gotten past this issue.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Jul-2019 11:44:43
#345 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3945
From: Australia

@Trekiej


I use 24-04-2019 Qemu 4.0.50 build from https://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=9028

Link https://www.emaculation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=9028
it's Qemu 4.0.50

It doesn't have 4 minute wait and has buggy audio (sound breaking up).
---------
I tested Qemu build from https://qemu.weilnetz.de/w64/2019/
Audio doesn't seem to work and has slow boot up.




I reverted back to WinUAE 4.2.1 (2019.05.16)

Last edited by Hammer on 20-Jul-2019 at 11:50 AM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-7820X @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR4-3600 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Jul-2019 17:16:03
#346 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 108
From: Napoli - Italy

@Hammer

Best user experience with Qemu is under Linux.
Windows version isn't well supported.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 21-Jul-2019 8:17:50
#347 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3945
From: Australia

@Fl@sh

I still prefer WinUAE AmigaOS 4.1 FE (with 654 MB and audio) due to it's integration with Windows folders.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-7820X @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR4-3600 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 21-Jul-2019 17:50:33
#348 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9566
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Fl@sh

Quote:
Windows version isn't well supported.


Imagine that.



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 22-Jul-2019 15:58:22
#349 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@thread

Amigaforever and flower pot with AOS 4.1FE is what I use.
I need more parts for my Linux Box.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 26-Jul-2019 9:46:56
#350 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3945
From: Australia

@Trekiej

I paid and use AmigaForever 2016 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE.

I tried virtual SAM460ex via QEMU and found out there's a gap between my knowledge with classic Amiga to Amiga NG hardware. Installing AmigaOS 4.1 for NG hardware seems to be more involved when compared to installing Windows 10 i.e. my personal documents are stored in onedrive, hence clean install is easy on Windows 10.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-7820X @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR4-3600 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 26-Jul-2019 13:48:34
#351 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@Hammer

yes for sure install amigaos 3.1 or 3.9 on amiga classic is more simple than install AmigaOs4.1 on NG but think this, is more difficult install AmigaOs4.1 on a Classic amiga with a powerup ... all is a patch on a patch with a patched hardware.

Last edited by tlosm on 26-Jul-2019 at 01:49 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 28-Jul-2019 7:49:13
#352 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3945
From: Australia

@tlosm

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@Hammer

yes for sure install amigaos 3.1 or 3.9 on amiga classic is more simple than install AmigaOs4.1 on NG but think this, is more difficult install AmigaOs4.1 on a Classic amiga with a powerup ... all is a patch on a patch with a patched hardware.


My point, I wanted express install process on AmigaOS 4.1 FE Sam460ex i.e.
1. User selects hard drive device which blow away all existing data
2. Automatic install boot loader (Windows 10 has boot loader defaults), I messed up in this step, wasted several hours figuring this out.
3. Automatic install file system format (Windows 10 has NTFS defaults), I messed up in this step, wasted several hours figuring this out.


Last edited by Hammer on 28-Jul-2019 at 07:50 AM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-7820X @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR4-3600 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 28-Jul-2019 22:20:14
#353 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Hammer

I would agree that installing Win10 was and is easier.
edit:

Yet, using Flower Pot made installation better to me.
The only problem I could think of was the SCSI Drivers.
They had a size of zero K.
There was a fix for it.

Last edited by Trekiej on 29-Jul-2019 at 12:09 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 0:19:33
#354 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

I did a apt-get install qemu and got a version that is too low to run Aros or AOS4.
How can I get a better version?

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 1:18:36
#355 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3104
From: Maryland, USA

@Trekiej

I'm working on install from source for (K)ubuntu. I was confused for a while that 4.0.0 did not give me a display, as the 3.x version that I got from apt. I kept getting errors about display sdl not available, display gtk not available etc.

I found that configure output said I did not have support for SDL or GTK installed, which actually meant I did not have the dev packages installed, for htem to be used in the qemu compile. I'm waiting on a redo of "make all" now, as I had prevously forgot to do the --prefix thing for my preferred installation dir
./configure --prefix=/opt/emulation/qemy/4.0.0

I seem able to run and get a window now. Using sdl, the display comes up, but I did not see a mouse pointer in the Amiga screen, and I could not tell that anythng was happening. Changing to GTK, I do have a mouse pointer that moves, and in my searching for how to fix that display not available message, I found talk about SDL support going away and GTK is hte better choice, so that's what I'll go for here.

The mouse is a little odd, as it was using qemu 3.1.0, in that as I move around, it kindof gets stuck in the top half of the screen, stopping about half way down. If I go to move the mouse up, as if I was going well above the top of the Amiga screen, then I can come further down to the bottom again. Actually, it sometimes happens the other way around, getting stuck in bottom half of screen as well. Odd...

AmigaOS seemed able to detect the emulated RTL8139 network card, and while I can use ping, I never get any responses back. The Amiga New Connection setup discovers the RTL8139 card OK. I choose Try Dynamic Configuration, as I am not great with the netwroking details, and I am doing something weird like run Qemu inside of VirtualBox Linux Gues which is running on a Windows10 host. I'm not sure how to figure all those hops out, and hoped Dynamic would magically do it for me, but alas not yet...

Now, I am a little confused about the resulting Connection. It seems to be saved as RTL8139 inside of Devs:NetInterfaces/ and when I look in the Connections drawer, it is empty, and when I run Edit Connection, nothing is there to choose. I click the Modify button, and it brings up a file lister window to choose, and is looking into PROGDIR:Connections, which is SYS:Internet/Connections if I remember my Amiga stuff correclty (Been a while and I am rusty). But that is empty.

I do not seem to be able to get sound working. Sound does work for the Linux OS level of this onion, which is where I run Qemu.

Quote:
/opt/emulation/qemu/4.0.0/bin/qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -m 1024 -rtc base=localtime -drive id=hd,file=/opt/emulation/qemu/hardDriveFiles/amigsOS4_SYS.img -device ide-hd,drive=hd,bus=ide.0 -device rtl8139,netdev=mynet0 -netdev user,id=mynet0 -display gtk -device ES1370


This is cobbled together pieces of commands that I have seen others post in this thread, trying to make a complete combination of things.

I also want ot add on something to use my host's optical drive, I found this but have not yet tried:
Quote:
-cdrom /dev/cdrom

Last edited by billt on 31-Jul-2019 at 05:15 AM.
Last edited by billt on 31-Jul-2019 at 05:13 AM.
Last edited by billt on 31-Jul-2019 at 02:21 AM.
Last edited by billt on 31-Jul-2019 at 02:15 AM.
Last edited by billt on 31-Jul-2019 at 02:14 AM.
Last edited by billt on 31-Jul-2019 at 01:36 AM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 1:21:45
#356 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@billt

apt-get gave me 2.11

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 1:41:56
#357 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3104
From: Maryland, USA

@Trekiej

Perhaps I did 3.1.0 from source as well... I don't remember that one and didn't run it more than a couple times. I got OS4 installed, but without networking I couldn't get to what I wanted to do with this thing. Hoping I get further with 4 now that I have a tiny bit of time to play with it again.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 1:48:32
#358 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@billt

I may rush over to windows and run that version.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 3:09:44
#359 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

I get an "Assertion Failed!" with the win64 version.

Looks like this.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/53335987/mingw-runtime-assertion-when-starting-qemu

Last edited by Trekiej on 31-Jul-2019 at 03:19 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 31-Jul-2019 15:40:48
#360 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2648
From: Amiga land

@Trekiej

if you wanna try it will be more simple to install example ubuntu mate on a Virtualbox machine and run qemu from there. VirtualBox is 100% free and use accelerations where available.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle