Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5763 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
22 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Exfso:  20 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  36 mins ago
 coldacid:  1 hr 49 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 51 mins ago
 Trekiej:  2 hrs 1 min ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  2 hrs 17 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  2 hrs 22 mins ago
 tonyw:  2 hrs 23 mins ago
 DruggedBunny:  2 hrs 37 mins ago
 invent:  2 hrs 45 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
densho 
ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 13-Nov-2018 20:17:18
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

Noticed recently that there is ProTrekkr version 2.5.4 available for other systems - and even for AROS.

For OS4 latest version on OS4Depot is v2.0.1, ported by Fredrik Wikström (salass00)

There has been quite some progress since v2.0.1 and juicy features implemented.

According to this old thread there was even talks about implementing the use of CAMD driver which would enable MIDI support. LyleHaze even offered to help with the work. Current Amiga version seems to be compiled without MIDI support enabled.

Also, seems that some of the slowdowns users reported might be caused by the old SDL.. and afaik nowadays we have SDL which is partly hardware accelerated.



Wondering if it would be possible to port this to OS4, with a working MIDI driver? :)

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 9-Dec-2018 16:33:09
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

An updated port of ProTrekkr (SVN revision 682) is available at:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/o9m3hxsraaod83s/protrekkr-2.5.5-20181209.7z?dl=0

A diff of the code changes I've made is also available in the archive.

It is quite slow on my Sam460 so be warned.

When I have time I might try rewriting the audio backend to use native instead of pthread/SDL threading.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
khayoz 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 9-Dec-2018 18:16:50
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Dec-2004
Posts: 178
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@salass00
Thanks for the port!
It works very well on my X5000 except fullscreen mode brings the Grim Reaper.





_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Robert 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 10-Dec-2018 15:32:06
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 873
From: Glasgow

@densho

Reads thread title,
sees MIDI mentioned,
gets mildly excited,
opens thread,
sees no MIDI included,
leaves thread disappointed.

_________________
Robert
--
A1XE G4, OS4.1. Peg1 G3, MOS 1.4.
Abel Soul - Check out our tunes on Spotify

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
densho 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 10-Dec-2018 19:57:14
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

@salass00

Excellent, thanks a lot for your work! I've been testing this port for couple of hours and only crash seems to happen when switching to fullscreen mode on X5000 (as reported also by khayoz). Crashlog here.

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
densho 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 10-Dec-2018 20:47:38
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

@Robert

I feel you pain. I initially thought AROS version has MIDI enabled since it was listed as MIDI software on this page: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/User/Applications

But it turned out that AROS version is compiled without MIDI as well and no trace of CAMD related code in sources :/

Now Frederik's done hard work porting the latest version of ProTrekkr we only need to have MIDI enabled on it :)

It's mentioned in the ProTrekkr readme that the MIDI capabilities are rather limited. So, I'm guessing implementing basic midi features on this software should be far easier than in fully featured midi sequencer.

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/User/Applications#Protrekkr

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 11-Dec-2018 7:00:59
#7 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1919
From: Czech Republic

@densho

Quote:
It's mentioned in the ProTrekkr readme that the MIDI capabilities are rather limited.

I'd hazard a guess that the MIDI support in Protrekkr boils down to sending Note On/Off messages.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 11-Dec-2018 12:16:40
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

An updated port is available at:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6xjt7pasw7lk3w3/protrekkr-2.5.5-20181211.7z?dl=0

It fixes the fullscreen mode so that it doesn't crash.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 12-Dec-2018 9:21:01
#9 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1919
From: Czech Republic

@salass00

Looks like a very capable tracker, thanks for porting it to OS4!

Too bad the GUI configuration is so limiting On my monitor (res. 1920x1200), the font is so tiny that my eyes hurt after just a few minutes of working on a song. The fullscreen mode doesn't look very helpful: or is there a way to configure a screen with a lower resolution for Protrekkr? MilkyTracker is smarter in this respect, with its ability to magnify the display (I use x2 magnification and the font size is fine on my screen).

Last edited by Trixie on 12-Dec-2018 at 09:22 AM.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
densho 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 12-Dec-2018 19:10:17
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

@salass00

Thanks, fullscreen works now correctly!

@Trixie

On my monitor with 3440x1440 resolution (for some reason cannot get full 3840x1600 to work on OS4...) it's even tinier :)

ProTrekkr seems to replicate current workbench resolution by default. Dunno if you could setup a screen under workbench prefs/screens..?

You can also change theme colours to get better contrast or change default pattern font to large under ProTrekkr UI setup. It helps a little but, like you said, UI is still tiny.

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 12-Dec-2018 23:24:29
#11 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1919
From: Czech Republic

@densho

Quote:
Dunno if you could setup a screen under workbench prefs/screens..?

That would be a way to go... and I think quite easy to implement in program code.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
khayoz 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 13-Dec-2018 15:48:40
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 26-Dec-2004
Posts: 178
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@salass00
Thank you for the fullscreen fix.

I think i found another problem, in the ProTrekkr manual the shortcut for "Play Song"
is mapped to the right "Ctrl" key but it doesn't work on my setup.

I got the "Play Song" shortcut to work sometimes with right "Amiga" + right "Alt" but only after I pressed "Play Song" button once with the mouse first, but it dont work everytime.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 13-Dec-2018 16:28:26
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11323
From: Norway

@salass00

if I resize the window while a song is playing it can crash.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Dec-2018 at 04:31 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 13-Dec-2018 at 04:28 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
densho 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 13-Dec-2018 19:17:11
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

@khayoz

About right CTRL, maybe related to this SDL2

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
densho 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 13-Dec-2018 19:47:32
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

Should this slash in the filebrowser direct the user to the parent folder? Currently it doesn't do anything. At the bottom of the filebrowser you can find both pc-style "." and ".." links.



On windows version it's missing:

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 14-Dec-2018 9:13:12
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

@densho

I got rid of the "/" option as it wasn't working (I originally thought it was supposed to be a shortcut for the root dir but it seems it was supposed to go to the parent directory?) and moved the "." and ".." entries to the top of the list as in the linux/windows versions of protrekkr.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8de5qbk9pjkhc41/protrekkr-2.5.5-20181214.7z?dl=0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 14-Dec-2018 10:00:07
#17 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1919
From: Czech Republic

@salass00

Thanks for the update!

What do you think of the possibility to define a named "Protrekkr" screen in the system Screen prefs for the program to pick up in full screen mode? Would that be doable? I need to run Protrekker in 1024x768 or so, otherwise I'll go blind in no time (I had to do the same with Bars'n'Pipes, whose GUI is also pretty much unusable in high screen resolutions).

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
densho 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 14-Dec-2018 20:39:41
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2003
Posts: 231
From: Finland

@salass00

Thanks fo the updated version. No idea for what "/" was meant to be used for... maybe it could be used to access amiga drives/volumes?

_________________
OS4 on X5000 / Peg2 / mA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 14-Dec-2018 20:43:41
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

@Trixie

Allowing to override the width and height settings using a tooltype or an env variable would be simpler to add.

The creation of the intuition screen for fullscreen is handled by SDL so I have no control over it apart from what the generic SDL API allows.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: ProTrekkr latest version, MIDI, SDL et all
Posted on 14-Dec-2018 21:00:00
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

@densho

"/" might have been chosen as a parent directory indicator to be more Amiga-like, but as the ProTrekkr file requester uses UNIX style paths it is a little confusing IMO.

Also it didn't work because I link ProTrekkr with -lunix to enable UNIX path semantics, which means that when the code did chdir("/") instead of the current directory being changed to the parent directory it would try to cd to the root directory which does not exist in AmigaDOS.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle