Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6053 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
42 crawler(s) on-line.
 13 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kolla:  6 mins ago
 Livebyfaith:  1 hr ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 saimo:  2 hrs 3 mins ago
 zipper:  3 hrs 1 min ago
 amigang:  3 hrs 15 mins ago
 paolone:  3 hrs 18 mins ago
 VooDoo:  3 hrs 18 mins ago
 BigD:  3 hrs 23 mins ago
 clint:  3 hrs 36 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 )
PosterThread
golem 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 17-Jan-2023 23:12:43
#81 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2004
Posts: 46
From: Nottingham, UK

I'll put this here.
I am connecting up my 1200 to a mixer to mostly hear it when playing games through headphones. I've run out of stereo channels so I am using a Y cord to sum left and right into a mono channel. Most posts on the web say this is bad in general but if I remember this is how the old RF modulator did it to feed the mono TV back in the day with that RCA Y cord. Am I likely to damage my mixer by doing this? I think for some applications it makes the Amiga sound better as a lot of older mods and games weren't meant to be in proper stereo.

_________________
1200 desktop Blizzard 1260 with 2Gb Jaz SCSI drive, 32Mb, OS3.9 BB2
1200 desktop Blizzard 1230, 32Mb, OS3.2
Trusty 1.3 A500 underneath the TV with SCART

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 17-Jan-2023 23:22:42
#82 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 3571
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@golem

I can't see why. The peak output level for the channel will be 2x higher but that's only if left and right are already playing exactly the same signal. And if it's going into a mixer you can just lower the input level a bit there.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
golem 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 17-Jan-2023 23:30:45
#83 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2004
Posts: 46
From: Nottingham, UK

@Karlos

Thanks for that. I’ve just got a new one so want to try to do everything by the book with it.

_________________
1200 desktop Blizzard 1260 with 2Gb Jaz SCSI drive, 32Mb, OS3.9 BB2
1200 desktop Blizzard 1230, 32Mb, OS3.2
Trusty 1.3 A500 underneath the TV with SCART

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 18-Jan-2023 14:17:27
#84 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1236
From: Harbor Gateway, Gardena, Ca.

@Karlos,

A reverb stretches it and imitates walls at variable distance, Easily sounding like a hall or amphitheater. decay time should give you different size rooms and a mixer would Vary how live the room is..


Chris

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 18-Jan-2023 17:34:42
#85 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2479
From: Trondheim, Norway

@golem

If you’re using a mixer, why not use two mono channels and do some panning of each to get a more pleasent stereo than full seperation?

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 18-Jan-2023 18:08:33
#86 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1236
From: Harbor Gateway, Gardena, Ca.

@golem,

To Karlos' point, 2X power is only 3 db, this is only 1 notch on the volume control.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 18-Jan-2023 18:49:58
#87 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 3571
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@kolla

I think the point was that he had ran out of inputs.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 18-Jan-2023 19:30:25
#88 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1236
From: Harbor Gateway, Gardena, Ca.

@kolla,

A guy on the radio has this software that can isolate each instrument, With that you could have a custom chip that could steer it to what ever stage position you want, 5.1 anyone? But I bet that software is much to fat for our machines.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 18-Jan-2023 19:45:37
#89 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 3571
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@QuikSanz

It's probably something neural net driven.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 19-Jan-2023 0:15:21
#90 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2479
From: Trondheim, Norway

@Karlos

Quote:

Karlos wrote:
@kolla

I think the point was that he had ran out of inputs.


Ran out of stereo channels, I read… only one mono channel left? Time to upgrade the mixer :)

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
golem 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 19-Jan-2023 6:51:32
#91 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2004
Posts: 46
From: Nottingham, UK

@kolla

Karlos was right, I ran out of all channels. I just upgraded. It’s an improvement on my old one where I was using 3 Y cords to get extra inputs! Only one Y cord now on the said 1200.

_________________
1200 desktop Blizzard 1260 with 2Gb Jaz SCSI drive, 32Mb, OS3.9 BB2
1200 desktop Blizzard 1230, 32Mb, OS3.2
Trusty 1.3 A500 underneath the TV with SCART

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QuikSanz 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 25-Mar-2023 4:35:12
#92 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2003
Posts: 1236
From: Harbor Gateway, Gardena, Ca.

@Karlos,

After listening to many machines, Looks to me as low over sampling, this maybe the problem. Maybe an external delay bucket set for 1ms or so may let let these old machines sound a bit fuller. My Pioneer Car and home systems have something called "Advanced Sound Retriever" for Compressed audio. Its very hard to duplicate this with low sampling rate.

Chris

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 26-Mar-2023 12:54:33
#93 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 3571
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@golem

If you are dealing with vanilla 4 channel Paula, I see no problems downmixing to mono.

_________________
Doing stupid things for fun...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Audio processing, effect simulation, that sort of thing...
Posted on 27-Mar-2023 5:45:44
#94 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10973
From: Greensborough, Australia

@QuikSanz

Quote:
A guy on the radio has this software that can isolate each instrument, With that you could have a custom chip that could steer it to what ever stage position you want, 5.1 anyone? But I bet that software is much to fat for our machines.


I highly doubt it can isolate each instrument cleanly. While there's increasing free and commercial software to isolate instruments none I've heard is the holy grail of song splitting that can reverse engineer a song into separate components. Most split it up into a shadow of its former self that while it may sound fine fully mixed the separations tend to have this weird filtering effect. Sometimes sounding like glass at Supermans home. Even clean techno songs rarely come out cleanly.

I've had some success with a subtraction filter used to filter out noise but it's limited really. Possibly could be used with drum replacement for a kick. But there's a lot of cross over frequencies so it soon reaches the limit of what it can isolate.

More likely is that guy having a 5.1 mix which can have isolated instruments or having the actual backing tracks. Which is becoming common since Rock Band game, studio leaks and remix compos have flooded the internet with a source of real backing tracks. If not and it's software then yes it packs a punch and needs high CPU power for processing.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle