Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5696 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
50 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 vox:  19 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  21 mins ago
 IRTheBorg:  25 mins ago
 Tuxedo:  30 mins ago
 Kronos:  41 mins ago
 sTix:  54 mins ago
 Rob:  58 mins ago
 BSzili:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 smf:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 ian-uk:  1 hr 9 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 Next Page )
PosterThread
Hypex 
First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 5-Aug-2008 16:34:36
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

Hello everyone.

It's finally here. The Debian Etch install CD you have all been waiting for!

So, first, head over to http://home.lizzy.com.au/dmaen/downloads/debian-etch-install.iso.gz and download the installer ISO!! That is the download link you have been waiting for!

Oh be careful in Amiga browsers, they like to download the file as text! So use right click in this case.

I have compressed it in GZip format, this is usable both within Linux and AmigaOS4 using Unarc.

As mentioned earlier you also need the first official Debian Etch install CD. Located at: http://cdimage.debian.org/mirror/cdimage/archive

A direct link to the ISO files, for example again:
http://cdimage.debian.org/mirror/cdimage/archive/6.0.8/powerpc/iso-cd/

The one ending in cd-1.iso is what you need.

Please note that like later AmigaOS4 updates, Etch isn't designed to update a Woody system. It doesn't like overwriting a present system and prefers a fresh install. So I recommend setting aside a new partition for Etch. Unless your present Linux is up the duff and you'd do better to just wipe it clean!

Just make sure you can prepare to boot off the new volume or the current one. Currently setting up an a1boot.conf in the installer is not possible ATM. If you really need this you can still do a first install of Debian and I will work around a way to make this possible. I believe it is possible, just not easy!

In theory, installing the kernel to a PreP partition should work, though this method is out dated and untested! So please be aware of these installing conditions. Right, I have prepared an install guide for you all here.


Debian Etch install guide

Here is how to install a fresh new installation of Debian Linux on the A1.

Note that currently you will need an old or current bootable Linux volume. Preferably using the new menu booting method. Currently a completely fresh install of Linux for the first time will not be possible. Unless you know how to add an a1boot.conf file to a Linux volume. I'm working on this. So I recommend already having a Linux volume you can boot off so you add another Linux to your menu. And the Etch kernel. This is mentioned in part 4 of my guide.

You will need to download the install image I made, uncompress it and write the ISO image to a disc. You will also need the first Debian Etch CD. You can download this and write the ISO image to another disc. The installation is similar to the original Woody one but hopefully a bit simpler!

Please read through the whole guide before attempting this install. Not everything is covered in depth as it has already been elsewhere. Note that I set up my Linux partitions with Media Toolbox under OS4 first. You can use Linux but I don't trust it fully with my OS4 volumes!


1. Set the boot args.

On bootup of the A1 hit a key and goto to the normal UBoot preferences menu. Goto Boot Sequence and change the Linux boot args. Set root=/dev/ram. If you have a Sii0680 and nothing on the internal IDE then set ide=reverse, and set hde/f=noprobe. Set video args as appropiate. If you have a Radeon you can set it to video=radeonfb:1024x768. Note it will work just as well without this argument as long as you don't mind VGA!

Example:
root=/dev/ram ide=reverse hde=noprobe hdf=noprobe video=radeonfb

Okay now save the settings and go back to the UBoot shell.


2. Booting the install CD.

To boot the CD we must issue a diskboot command then a bootm. I urge you to read your A1 manual to see where your CD drive sits on the bus and the controller. As an example my CD drive is device 2 on my 2nd controller Sii 0680 IDE bus. It must be booted from address 0x1000000. The commands goes like this:

diskboot 1000000 2:0 1
bootm

Not that for further booting you can save it to NVRAM. You can use setenv with a name and enclose the commands in quotes separated by a semi-colon. Then save. Next time you want to boot a CD you can just run the name and it boots. In the case of my example this would be:

setenv cd "diskboot 1000000 2:0 1;bootm"
saveenv

run cd

The CD should start to boot. Make sure that UBoot knows about the install CD when you put it in. Otherwise it will complain! You can either reset the machine or enter ide reset. If it's on the 2nd bus then stick a 1 on the end.


3. Installing Debian Etch!

You should see the Debian installer come up now and ask for your language. At this point if you need to you may swap the CD's. The install CD isn't needed any more.

Now if you don't need an option given or it doesn't concern your hardware then just press return to continue at that point. Things like PCMCIA and net domain.

* Choose your language and country.

* Choose keymap for a USB keyboard.

* If you get a complaint about the wrong CD remove my install one and try again. It will then select to detect hardware again. If so do it. I find it likes the Debian CD to be in the first drive. So you could put the Debian CD in the first drive and my install CD in a second drive and it will go more smoothly. Automatic!

* Continue without kernel modules. Yes.

* Net: Select eth0. What is dummy0?!

* Enter hostname then domain.

* Partition the disk. I choose manual. Be careful! I haven't tested using the partitioner my self to create partitions. All ones I used were setup on OS4. So I just told it which one to use as root filesystem. It will detect swap if you have it. Otherwise choose a swap partition and "Use as" swap area. Choose your Linux partition and "Use as" Ext3. You could use Ext2 or whatever else you like also. Set the "Mount point" as "/".Select Done... then Finish. Confirm everything is okay and if it is say Yes. Make sure it is! :-!

* Set the timezone and clock. I said UTC.

* Set a root password.

* Enter your name and then a user name and password for yourself.

At this point it will start installing the base system. You can watch it go for a while and then it will come back to you.

* It will fail to find a kernel. We are using Geri's! Install without it. We will set it up later.

* Now you can choose to install off a network mirror. If you have a fast broadband connection you will certainly say yes! Otherwise say no and save time.

* Like to enter a "Package Popularity" contest? Answer as you wish.

* Now you can select what packages you want from this shortlist. A desktop and standard system will be chosen by default. Be careful! It will download the standard system off the internet no matter what! It isn't very configurable. After choosing it will then start retrieving files from the CD whilst hogging your net connection and then after will keep hogging the net connection for more files! If you get stuck here and don't want it downloading the only recourse is to reset it with a Ctrl-Alt-Del and start again! Not only cannot it not be broken, it doesn't even notice if you pull the internet line! You have been warned. :-!

* After that horror, it will now install and configure the packages! You can now choose your resolution. Even LCD sizes are supported.

It will then finish installing packages and clean up the system.

* You will get a message about no boot loader. Continue.

Finally it will complete the installation! Time for a reboot.


4. Completing the installation.

Before you finish, you will need to setup the new Etch install with it's matching kernel. On my install CD you find a kernel folder. This contains two kernels and modules. Choose which image you prefer, kernel-2.6.18.img is a standard compressed Linux kernel, kernelhd-2.6.18.img is an uncompressed kernel image. I provided the latter as it allows you to boot the kernel straight off without waiting for UBoot to decompress it. In other words it's faster! Copy this to your Linux booting volume where your a1boot.conf can see it and make a new entry for Debian Etch with it's partition. Copy your boot args for IDE and VGA and you are almost done. Save the file out and it is ready for a first boot!

Now you can reboot and watch Linux boot off the HD. You will note that the kernel will fail to find some kernel modules.We need to install these so that everything is complete. You will still get quite a functional system without these, but things like mounting a FAT USB drive will fail. Probably sound as well.

We would like to use the GUI for this (I would!) but we need root access. However Debian won't let you log in as root in the desktop login window, so we need to change some settings. On your new desktop locate the menu bar at the top. Select Desktop->Administration->Login Window. Enter your root password. Go to the Security tab and enable the checkmark to "Allow local system administrator login". Close the window to save the settings. Yes, Debian is like MacOSX, closing things saves settings!

Now you can re-login as root. Select the menu item Applications->System Tools->New Login. Log in as root and your root password. You will need to extract the kernel modules off my install CD so put it back now if you have taken it out. When it mounts open it and go to the kernel folder. Here you will see modules packed into an archive. Double click on modules-2.6.18.tar.gz to bring up the Archive Manager. Click on Extract. In the new window change the "Extract in Folder" to be "File System". This the root directory of the Etch volume. Click Extract and watch it go. If all went well you now have the kernel modules installed. Well done! You can now log out as root (from the Desktop menu) and continue playing around. Or restart for a perfectly working new Debian system!

Done!!


5. A little extra.

On my install CD there is a mol folder. It contains an A1 compiled version of MoL from Geri that matches Etch kernel 2.6.18. You can right click on the packages and use the package installer. However, I found on my system that my sources list setup didn't allow me to install it. It needed libc6 though it was already there installed. So I hope you do better if you are interested in running it. Okay, that's pretty much it.

Now, I expect I will receive some feedback, I hope I have done well!!

Last edited by Hypex on 05-May-2017 at 02:43 PM.
Last edited by Hypex on 27-Jan-2014 at 01:12 PM.
Last edited by Hypex on 06-Aug-2008 at 04:58 AM.
Last edited by Hypex on 05-Aug-2008 at 04:48 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomppeli 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 5-Aug-2008 16:52:21
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2004
Posts: 1631
From: Home land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki

@Hypex

At first for your efforts !

Anyway, I couldn't find that CD1 ISO ! I got "Not found" message. But then I found 4.0_r4a ISO. Is that correct version ? Do that "a" behind "r4" mean alpha or something else ?

Last edited by Tomppeli on 05-Aug-2008 at 04:52 PM.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me. If you'll plan to deal with me, be serious !
X1000 + AmigaOS4.1 FE. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." -Seymour Cray

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Agafaster 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 5-Aug-2008 18:55:37
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 1413
From: West Midlands, England - sector ZZ9 plural Z alpha

@Hypex

I have the three-platform DVD off the cover of Linux Magazine (October 2007)...
will that work ?

_________________
XH558 - the worlds last flying Vulcan.
ok, its actually XL426 in the picture but you know what I mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 4:09:44
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Tomppeli

Quote:
At first for your efforts !




Quote:
Anyway, I couldn't find that CD1 ISO ! I got "Not found" message. But then I found 4.0_r4a ISO. Is that correct version ? Do that "a" behind "r4" mean alpha or something else ?


Sorry about the link, I checked last night and it was working. But yes, the ISO you found looks correct. I'm not sure what the "a" is exactly. Seems to be in the Debian naming scheme. What I do know is that it's a stable release. No need to switch to unstable and testing back and forth to get a Radeon VGA working anymore. That is good!

To be sure, I also found this, to be the current version:
http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/current/powerpc/iso-cd/

They seem to change it often!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 4:18:48
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Agafaster

You can buy PowerPC DVDs! And I thought PowerPC was unpopular. Apart from x86
I'm guessing, what is the other platform?

If it's based on the Etch release then it should work. I don't know if the installer image is picky about DVDs and CDs. I searched in it for specific volume names and such but found nothing. Hopefully they make it dynamic. Since you have it, why not give it a shot. If it seems to be rejecting it, as a last resort leave it in the first CDROM drive on the bus and take out other discs. And select the option to detect CD/hardware again to see if it finds it suitable. Good luck.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
acefnq 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 7:14:35
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2006
Posts: 617
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@Hypex

Just had a fiddle to see how it worked. All went very well. I already have Lenny installed with Geri's latest kernel but I may try a full install on a fresh drive on the weekend. Many, many thanks for your efforts, this will make life simpler. Thanks also to geri for all his continued hard work. A good stable Debian install is very useful on the A1. I hope many others can get to experience this now.

Cheers
ace

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DL 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 14:04:03
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2003
Posts: 140
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Have you tried it with the debian netinst CD (..powerpc-netinst.iso, 236MB) versus the full CD-1 (powerpc-CD-1.iso, 641MB)?

Good work, BTW.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 16:31:02
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@DL

Quote:
Have you tried it with the debian netinst CD (..powerpc-netinst.iso, 236MB) versus the full CD-1 (powerpc-CD-1.iso, 641MB)?Good work, BTW.


No I haven't, since it's still a big download. Too big IMHO! Good point though. Geri did send me an image of it with a kernel so I could perhaps test that again too see if it is independant.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lionstorm 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 18:50:24
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 1559
From: the french side

@Hypex

good work man !

why not putting everything on amigaone kernel homepage ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 6-Aug-2008 21:13:55
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@DL

Quote:
DL wrote:
@Hypex

Have you tried it with the debian netinst CD (..powerpc-netinst.iso, 236MB) versus the full CD-1 (powerpc-CD-1.iso, 641MB)?

I made a combined kernel/ramdisk image (no ISO) that can boot a Debian Netinstall CD. You'll find it here: amigaone-linux.sourcforge.net/install/boot.img

You have to load it at 0x01000000, because it will not decompress cleanly at 0x00500000.

But I think Hypex's ISO should be able to boot a Netinstall CD, too.

@lionstorm
Quote:
why not putting everything on amigaone kernel homepage ?

Sure, why not! BTW does anybody know, how much data I can put on the sourceforge.net webspace?

@Hypex
Again: Good job and

Last edited by Geri on 06-Aug-2008 at 09:14 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 8-Aug-2008 15:16:54
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@lionstorm

Quote:
good work man !


Cheers mate. (And all.)

Quote:
why not putting everything on amigaone kernel homepage ?


Because I don't have the password!

I leave that up to Geri. (Since he has acccess.) And I wanted him to test it before submittng it as an "offical" iso.

Last edited by Hypex on 08-Aug-2008 at 03:17 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mwoof 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 8-Aug-2008 22:42:27
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2004
Posts: 1174
From: Larisa, Greece

@Hypex

Quote:
You can buy PowerPC DVDs! And I thought PowerPC was unpopular.

Macs used PowerPC until recently, did you forget already?

_________________
And may the AmigaGuide you!

AmigaOne G3-SE, OS4 Final (July 2007 update), Debian Sarge, 512 MB RAM, 20 + 80 GB hard disks, NEC 3540 DVD writer, LG DVD reader, Radeon 9250, SB Live, Intracom Netfaster router, PCI USB card (NEC - OHCI/EHCI)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 10-Aug-2008 15:51:23
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@mwoof

Quote:
Macs used PowerPC until recently, did you forget already?


No, I just hadn't heard of any Mac users who ran Linux. Or wanted too.

I just don't think of Macs when I think about PPC Linux. I know it would be the most commercialised PPC hardware but there is other PPC hardware that exists.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 10-Aug-2008 17:11:52
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5008
From: Sweden

@Hypex

Please do make an article on IntuitionBase on Debian Etch installer guide.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 10-Aug-2008 18:35:45
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@Hypex

I'll test the ISO in the next days and upload it to the amigaone-linux project homepage then.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DL 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 11-Aug-2008 3:25:04
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Aug-2003
Posts: 140
From: Unknown

@Geri

Quote:
amigaone-linux.sourcforge.net/install/boot.img

Should be: http://amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net/install/boot.img
(Note the 'e' at end of 'sourc'. OOPS! happens.)

Quote:
load it at 0x01000000, because it will not decompress cleanly at 0x00500000

Just double checking, is that 0x01.. or should it be 0x001... ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
szbing 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 11-Aug-2008 5:19:55
#17 ]
Member
Joined: 18-Mar-2007
Posts: 22
From: shenzhen,china

@Hypex


I try to : tftpboot 1000000 boot.img, "boot.img" is copied from debian-etch-install.iso to my tftpserver.

It's can download and bootm on uboot, but it display:

Image Name: linun-2.6.18
Image Type: ARM Linux Kernel Image ...
Data Size:
Load Address: 100000
Entry Point:
Verifying Checksum ... failure

What is happan? How i to boot your debian-etch's boot.img from network.

Last edited by szbing on 11-Aug-2008 at 05:21 AM.
Last edited by szbing on 11-Aug-2008 at 05:20 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jack 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 11-Aug-2008 5:57:13
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 650
From: Israel

@szbing

I think you jave inconsistency there with zeros (tftpboot command has one zero more than uboot said).
Please recheck if you did what you intended to do.

Jack

_________________

"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 11-Aug-2008 6:20:14
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9637
From: Greensborough, Australia

@szbing

That doesn't seem right. For one thing the image name should be "Debian Install" and the load address and entry points should be 0!

So you mounted the iso, and copied it from the boot directory?

CDROM:boot/boot.img ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: First Debian Etch Installer CD release!!
Posted on 11-Aug-2008 20:00:23
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2033
From: ST/AT

@DL

Quote:
DL wrote:
@Geri

Quote:
amigaone-linux.sourcforge.net/install/boot.img

Should be: http://amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net/install/boot.img
(Note the 'e' at end of 'sourc'. OOPS! happens.)



Quote:

Quote:
load it at 0x01000000, because it will not decompress cleanly at 0x00500000

Just double checking, is that 0x01.. or should it be 0x001... ?

It should be 0x01000000!

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle