Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
7 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 zipper

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 zipper:  4 mins ago
 Kronos:  5 mins ago
 Karlos:  32 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 1 min ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 39 mins ago
 pixie:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 vox:  2 hrs 25 mins ago
 BigD:  2 hrs 40 mins ago
 Hypex:  2 hrs 47 mins ago
 MagicSN:  3 hrs 48 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:05:58
#801 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@AmigaBlitter

Quote:

it's a PASemi electra modified (obviously) mobo

check here:

http://www.theinquirer.net/img/1966/PASemi-Electra-development-board.jpg

i suggest to zoom the image and note some identical things.


The Nemo board is a complete new design, tailored to our specifications. I don't know what "identical things" you see here. Big deal, there are memory slots on every board, PCIe slots on every board, power connectors on every board. About the only thing in common is the CF card position, but that is always there since some cases have a front slot for CF cards. Everything else is on different spots.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Radfoo 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:06:28
#802 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 327
From: Derbyshire, Great Britain!

Snowing tons here so can not make it to work Good day for a snow day, just hope my net connection is not effected

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Dagon 
Time
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:08:07
#803 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2003
Posts: 51
From: Athens, Hellas/EU The_Land_of_The_Gods

I'm at work right now and I'm eager to know more, so what time shall we expect the next piece of the puzzle? (Central European Time preferably)

_________________
So we must exercise ourselves in the things which bring happiness, since, if that be present, we have everything, and, if that be absent, all our actions are directed towards attaining it

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
opi 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:09:52
#804 ]
Team Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2005
Posts: 2752
From: Poland

@-Sam-

Quote:
You must admit that the last few days have been kinda fun.


Yep.

Quote:
We will stay sensible and practical - we always do - but let us take this new step with some positivity and just that - a first step - not a PC/Mac killer overnight. Let's work with it and not against it as it has a chance of giving us what we want in the end.


I'm positive in my own way. That still includes critical thinking and asking question. I was just guessing different move (I bet everyone on this site has their own vision of Amiga, right?) and that's why I'm not that impressed. It's my right.

As I said: I'm waiting for full frontal (hope the case will be sweet) and some test from people who will put cash on the table. Maybe eFunzine will order one or two for Polish customers and I'll be able to lay my hands on it?

_________________
OpenWindows Initiative. Port PS3 hardware to bananas. For free. Join today and receive expired $50 cupon from AI!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cool_amigaN 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:11:13
#805 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2006
Posts: 1227
From: Athens/Greece

@DAX

Me too. As if we don't know the weaknesses of the system (amiga as a computer, meaning hardware+OS+software). And when one of those (new AND powerful hardware) is eliminated they start complaining or being skeptical for other things "What about the price", "What about SMP", "What about this, that", the catalogue is endless.

Whoever thinks that A-EON will produce 1.000.000 machines in order to lower the cost must be dreaming. Whoever wants right now, a SMP OS + Extreme H/W + Lots of apps should buy a pc. Nothing more, nothing less.

And something more, how many of all these saying that AOS or MOS or AROS doesn't have the x,y,z of the super utility / suite has bought the original on the pc and not installed a pirated version? Because, if you are gonna make a fully functional pc with all the major apps on it, be ready to spend thousands of euros, and not only 2.000 euros or 3.000.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:12:36
#806 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@opi
Quote:
professional use...anything..?

Well since you asked about even a "single" professional use, a north european company (posted the news here) uses Sam for professional interactive didplays they sell for the Dental industry (OS4.1 installed, interactive part done in Hollywood).
Quote:
and funny flamewars.

Fuled by well known naysayers that abandoned Amiga years ago no less...

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:14:52
#807 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@Dafs

Quote:
To follow, begin where Nemo entered into a rage (M)editerranean Sea (maybe?)


When I saw the riddle, I guessed "Mysterious Island"... It's been ages since I read Jules Verne's books :$

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
opi 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:15:53
#808 ]
Team Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2005
Posts: 2752
From: Poland

@DAX

This is offtopic, if you want to continue this talk, there's PM for that.

_________________
OpenWindows Initiative. Port PS3 hardware to bananas. For free. Join today and receive expired $50 cupon from AI!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thom_Holwerda 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:19:58
#809 ]
Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2005
Posts: 98
From: Warmenhuizen

Wait.

When the news comes out, there is only one machine I can write/publish that news item with, obviously. Why didn't I think of that earlier!

*gets his SAM with AOS4 out of the closet*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Smurfen 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:21:44
#810 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 160
From: Unknown

@opi

Quote:
People said same things when it came to public information that, then new to us, Samantha board will have FPGA. Did someone used it for something, anything? Maybe Hyperion has some awesome demo that will display ability of this new silicon that lives on MAP board. Maybe it's OS4 that would be able to utilize it from kernel up to user land?


That is true, some people have a tendency to cheer for any new things.
From my point of view a FPGA is a cool device that will be fun to do old stuff with, some custom gimmicks, but it will not lead to any dramatic changes in the computer history.

But introducing a transputer type of hardware might. It can give a radically different computing power especially if the OS allows flexible use of it, and if the hw is expandable

My 2 cents

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cool_amigaN 
Re: Time
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:22:38
#811 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2006
Posts: 1227
From: Athens/Greece

@Geennaam

Clock is ticking...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thom_Holwerda 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:22:47
#812 ]
Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2005
Posts: 98
From: Warmenhuizen

@Rogue

Silly question, and may have been asked already - but does the board fit into a standard (micro)ATX case? The board layout is obviously quite different, but will the back ports and expansion slots still line up in a(n) (micro)ATX case?

I'm asking because I dislike towers, and I have the suspicion that the default case will be one. I prefer desktop cases :).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:23:25
#813 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2090
From: Czech Republic

@Thom_Holwerda

Quote:

Thom_Holwerda wrote:

When the news comes out, there is only one machine I can write/publish that news item with, obviously. Why didn't I think of that earlier!

*gets his SAM with AOS4 out of the closet*

Now that's what I call ATTITUDE!

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mr-Z 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:23:31
#814 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-May-2005
Posts: 191
From: De Keistad, Netherlands

@Thom_Holwerda

Quote:
Wait.

When the news comes out, there is only one machine I can write/publish that news item with, obviously. Why didn't I think of that earlier!

*gets his SAM with AOS4 out of the closet*


The Sam should not be in the closet but on your desk, using a RDP connection to a pc to fill in for some gaps in he OS4 software

Last edited by Mr-Z on 05-Jan-2010 at 10:23 AM.

_________________
Amiga is additive coz it is fun to use

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
opi 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:24:53
#815 ]
Team Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2005
Posts: 2752
From: Poland

@Cool_amigaN

Quote:
"What about SMP"


I understand that this board has SMP-able CPU? That would mean Hyperion has added this to AmigaOS4, this will impress me when demonstrated. If they did it without breaking "old" Amiga applications I would be super impressed.

_________________
OpenWindows Initiative. Port PS3 hardware to bananas. For free. Join today and receive expired $50 cupon from AI!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Time
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:24:56
#816 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5211
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

about CPU

http://www.ppcnux.com/?q=node/7533

So, that AMCC variant of Titan monster began sampling too late for Nemo.
But perhaps there has been some (roughly pin compatible) PA semi prototypes available before that???

Not too long wait any more....

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WillKar 
Re: Time
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:25:19
#817 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2007
Posts: 69
From: Unknown

@Boot_WB
"In 20000 leagues Nemo entered into a rage (anger) and a storm (which could be interpreted as "rage") at co-ordinates long 105, lat -15, although as this is the middle of the bloody Indian Ocean, and doesn't fit with any of the chip numbers I've seen mentioned, I can't see why this would help."

Hmmmm, Amiga India?

@ne_one

"The allusions to transputers and the possible involvement of Dave Haynie are interesting (although he wasn't too complimentary regarding developments over the last decade)."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRI7hHwiRxk
Dave Haynie had the AAA nearly ready then! Could it have anything to do with it??

@DoodooHead

"The Straits of Torres?"

Hi-Torro anyone?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ami603 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:26:45
#818 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 580
From: Valencia,Spain 8-)

@Thom_Holwerda

I think they already confirmed that the board is full-ATX in size.Although the hints point to a full computer instead of only a motherboard, i do hope that people can choose to buy the motherboard alone, since the aesthetics on the case may be loved, or hated.

I personally would settle for a tower with a big transparent window just for the sake of it

_________________
Cuida tus piedras gordas.

A1200/030 32Mb
A4000D
A1-X1000.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:29:43
#819 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5211
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@opi

"I understand that this board has SMP-able CPU? That would mean Hyperion has added this to AmigaOS4, "

I think not yet.
But I bet the CPU can run operating system per core.
We would then have 4.0+Linux or 4.0+4.0 running side by side.
Later we might have SMP capable AOS5.0 that runs legacy AOS4 apps in a sandbox.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 5-Jan-2010 10:30:59
#820 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@Flystone

Quote:
I do not want polemics


?

Quote:
I have a Sam. Did you include the custom chip means that Sam will not be + supported?
Support Sam will stop only at version 4.1.


What makes you think so? Even after the SAM came out we are still updating (and plan on updating) AmigaOS for the AmigaOne; with your logic, we would have stopped doing that the moment that the SAM version came out. The inclusion of custom hardware doesn't have any bearing on this; if you look at SAM and AmigaOne, they're very different machines with very different onboard hardware.

Quote:
Gone are the relationships with Acube? Will no longer support future machines and / or tabs (see eye-motion) created by Acube?
This info, I just wanted to know how to send my hard-earned savings in the near future.


What makes you think so? When we released a Pegasos version, did you suddenly think Hyperion has abandoned all relations with ACube in favor of Genesi? Probably not. Why would you think that there needs to be an exclusive hardware partner?

I am clearly not speaking for Hyperion, but so far there has been no change in their relationship. What ACube hardware will be supported (I have to admit I don't know what eye-motion is) or not is up to Hyperion and ACube to decide, but Max is on the core developer team, and the SAM clearly aims at a different market than, well, the new machine.

I hope this answers your question.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle