Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5763 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
17 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 Rob,  Kronos,  bigmac

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 bigmac:  5 secs ago
 Kronos:  48 secs ago
 Rob:  2 mins ago
 Trekiej:  9 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  9 mins ago
 towo2099:  22 mins ago
 OlafS25:  27 mins ago
 AmigaOldskooler:  36 mins ago
 bison:  38 mins ago
 dreamlandfantasy:  1 hr 2 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  MAME and joypads
Register To Post

PosterThread
Niolator 
MAME and joypads
Posted on 22-Mar-2015 22:18:07
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

I am trying to get MAME to work on my SAM. The version that works best is XMAME but it does not support Joysticks/pads. In the readme to SDLMAME it says that it does not support joypads as SDL does not support AmigaInput. Does that mean that no games meant for SDL support AmigaInput? Is there work being made to get AmigaInput to work with MAME on AmigaOS 4.x?

The only version that claims to support joypads is the port from WarpOS that was uploaded to os4depot in october 2013. I can't get any rom to work with that version though. The list is always empty when I scan the ROM directory. I have set it up just like the other MAME's with every rom in it's own drawer in the ROMS directory.

I would appriciate some tips on how to get joypads to work with MAME on AmigaOS 4.1. I would hate to have to use my PC for playing these old classics.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 22-Mar-2015 23:19:38
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 5847
From: S.Wales

@Niolator

Quote:
Does that mean that no games meant for SDL support AmigaInput?


Huno made a static joypad library for SDL so any SDL software compiled with that library supports pads. I think most of his own ports support it. He has a port of Finalburn which supports a number of arcade games.

No idea about MAME though.

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 0:18:18
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@Rob

Then some programmer better get to it and make an updated port of MAME.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 7:17:00
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Niolator

I want to improve the sound before I release my current build of 0.158 - and I'll probably update to the latest MAME then - but there's not much difference to the one on os4depot.


SDLMAME 0.151 on OS4depot but it should work with amigaInput - are you sure you've configured it right?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 7:28:54
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3389
From: Italy, Perugia

@Spirantho

Soon you might support GL too, they included your old patch into the MiniGL branches
Check this thread:

http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/viewtopic.php?topic_id=6886&forum=11

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 7:35:52
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@samo79

That should help speed things up a little.
Since I wrote compositing support it's not so necessary, but it all helps!


The real problem I have with MAME is a lack of time to dedicate to it..... the sound stutters badly on SDLMAME quite often and I really want to fix that before doing a proper release again.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 7:42:26
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2323
From: Perugia, ITALY

@Spirantho

The problem was that. 151 was soooooo slow to be unusable...on every Amiga system ot so..

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 7:55:48
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3389
From: Italy, Perugia

@Spirantho

Check private message

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 7:56:50
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Tuxedo

Depends entirely on what ROM you're running.
My little Sam440ep (600MHz) happily plays games like Green Beret at full frame rate, full screen.
My X1000 can naturally play rather heavier games. :)

A major thing is the screen acceleration, using compositing, overlay or opengl. If you run it without them in a high screen mode it's very slow.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 14:19:15
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@Spirantho

Nice. Will it support joypads?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 23-Mar-2015 18:32:23
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Niolator

It's still using SDL for input, so yes. It will do, just like all other versions of SDLMAME (I test it using the Catweasel AmigaInput driver).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 24-Mar-2015 0:56:51
#12 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@Spirantho

That sounds good. I'll have to test SDLMame again tomorrow. XMame isn't SDL based right? If it is, how do I get the joypad to work?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 24-Mar-2015 7:44:07
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Niolator

No idea. I didn't port xMAME, only SDLMAME.

The early version 0.37 or whatever requires ROMs for 0.37, by the way. It won't work with a current ROM set.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 24-Mar-2015 14:44:09
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@Spirantho

OK, I'll see if I can find such ROM's on the probably not so legal sites i use.

I am punished by a lot of PUP's and exe downloaders though. That id why it is best to download them from my Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 25-Mar-2015 13:20:49
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@Spirantho

SDLMAME isn't entirely stable on my system and some games just get stuck on input test, there is no way to get past that. It doesn't even make any tests on XMAME where it works (without joypad as I have written).

edit: typos

Last edited by Niolator on 25-Mar-2015 at 01:26 PM.
Last edited by Niolator on 25-Mar-2015 at 01:26 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 26-Mar-2015 12:46:23
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@Spirantho

I am really looking forward to your next version of MAME. SDLMAME doesn't work at all for me. I can get past the input test by pressing right CTRL. Then I come to some debug mode, or what you should call it, which is totally impossible to get past. You can just cycle through screens testing colours, sprites and whatever. Is SDLMAME made for developers?

Last edited by Niolator on 26-Mar-2015 at 12:46 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: MAME and joypads
Posted on 26-Mar-2015 17:28:45
#17 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Niolator

No, SDLMAME is meant for normal people. :)

I'm really not sure what you're referring to as a problem, I've never heard of anyone else having trouble. What ROM are you trying to run?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle