Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6064 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
40 crawler(s) on-line.
 24 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 kolla,  Holmes

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Holmes:  38 secs ago
 kolla:  3 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  9 mins ago
 Amibill:  17 mins ago
 Amigamia:  21 mins ago
 michalsc:  29 mins ago
 Jasper:  59 mins ago
 hardwaretech:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 Mobileconnect:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 matthey:  2 hrs 12 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Register To Post

PosterThread
fat_barry 
AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 7:27:09
#1 ]
New Member
Joined: 11-Feb-2019
Posts: 8
From: UK

Anyone Know?


In need of Odyssey update, will there be a updated version, cannot go on
some sites! bit of a pain


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 8:23:40
#2 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2016
From: Czech Republic

@fat_barry

Quote:
will there be a updated version

I'm afraid it doesn't look very likely.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skateman 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 8:35:43
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2017
Posts: 136
From: Netherlands

@fat_barry

I agree with @Trixie.... don`t think so anytime soon.


_________________
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Klowna 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 8:41:53
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 29-Feb-2004
Posts: 24
From: Manchester, UK

@fat_barry

I take it you are using your X5000 on OS4.x, in which case that may be correct - no updates.

Fortunately for you, you can choose to migrate to MorphOS with your hardware (X5000 - as long as you don't have, or can swap out your R7 250, R7 260 and HD78x0 graphics cards which are not currently supported, for a more compatible GFX card).

On MorphOS we trust there are more updates to come, and the version on MorphOS is currently, AFAIK, more compatible with many websites, though it too does have a few limitations. The limitations discovered have been forwarded to the MorphOS Team to see if they can continue to update it to cope with the ever changing world of data-handling of browsers on the Web.

I'm enjoying using OWB currently at version 1.25, with JIT JavaScript beng worked on currently that may speed up even more its functionality, on MorphOS.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skateman 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 13:44:21
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2017
Posts: 136
From: Netherlands

@Klowna

The moment MorphOS supports my X5K videocard,(R7 250) i will buy a License and start using it.

Swapping videocards back and forth just wont work.

Last edited by Skateman on 24-Feb-2019 at 01:44 PM.

_________________
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 13:49:40
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 593
From: Unknown

@Klowna

I much prefer using Odyssey 1.25 under MorphOS on my X5000 machine but I think for people to get the most out the machine of it across all three OS options(AmigaOS, MorphOS and Fienix(Linux) for the time being a downgrade to a Radeon X1650 card is needed.

You will lose out on 3D on the AmigaOS side thats for sure, but Ive found Ive gained with MorphOS and Fienix.

At the end of the day I guess its down to what you use your machine for on a daily basis but I agree that Odyssey on AmigaOS desperately needs an update.

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 13:54:55
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 593
From: Unknown

@thread

And it is also true that MorphOS would see a surge of licenses once the current set of graphics cards that are used by 95% of the user base are supported. Developers should really chase the cash.

_________________
Amigaone X5000/20 4GB Radeon RX 550 Polaris 12 AmigaOS4.1 Final Edition Update 1
Amiga 1200 Workbench 3.1.4
Amiga CD32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 16:49:07
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2211
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@Klowna

To be honest Odyssey on MorphOS is quite useable and my main browser and the situation is better than on OS4, but it isn't only rosy. Also with Odyssey MorphOS you have sites that just don't work correctly...
Overall situation is okay - Odyssey on MorphOS still updates as does MorphOS.
AROS (x64) is probably leading in odyssey country as they can migrate to newer webkit versions where MorphOS and OS4 have issues due to the byte order of ppc.

_________________
My programs: www.via-altera.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 24-Feb-2019 17:07:04
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3021
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@Trixie

OS4 desperately needs an up-to-date browser. Understatement of the year...

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AlicePPC 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 26-Feb-2019 18:18:11
#10 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 81
From: Asturies-Spain

@-Sam-

Maybe if odyssey morphos developer send the code to Kas1e?

_________________
AmigaOne X5000/40-Amiga 4000T- Amiga 1200 x2

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 26-Feb-2019 18:29:29
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 649
From: Netherlands

@-Sam-

Yes and I am willing to pay money for an update :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jaokim 
Re: AMIGA X5000 and Odyssey?
Posted on 26-Feb-2019 20:43:07
#12 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 277
From: Sweden

@all

Ive begun trying to merge the latest Aros changes with OS4 compilation stuff. My aim is to create a reproducible build environment, using Docker for cross-compilation and some scripts to automate dependency download. The build environment is practically done; have to get some documentation in place so others can use.

Regarding Odyssey Im in the middle of getting a full comple through without any missing files or dependencies. I could use some help on stuff like fontconfig, Cairo, and others. Have managed to build a few missing dependencies.

The plan in short:
* Compile latest Aros branch on OS4, creating an executable (which I reckon will crash)
* Try and fix so it doesnt crash, or proceed to next step (if the crash is due to endian stuff)
* Update code to next WebKit branch that has patches for TenFourFox/Leopard/Mac-safari.
* Make it compile, and run, and conquer the world.


I however dont want to give people too much hope. But one thing I will be able to achieve is a cross-compile environment that anyone can just start and type make with. Without having to hunt the webz for dependencies long gone.

Anyone wanting to help is very much welcome. First step for that someone would be to have a docker environment setup.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle