Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
 63 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 eliyahu

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  4 mins ago
 Rob:  17 mins ago
 BSzili:  26 mins ago
 outlawal2:  26 mins ago
 OneTimer1:  31 mins ago
 pavlor:  36 mins ago
 bennymee:  42 mins ago
 Signman:  44 mins ago
 apsturk:  45 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  53 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  X5000 power on fault
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
mdr 
X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 9:02:24
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 3-Oct-2018
Posts: 16
From: Unknown

Hi all,

My X5000 won't power on. See this YouTube video to see the problem - the fans briefly twitch, but the system doesn't start. The status LEDs on the motherboard (according the manual) just show it has power and is in standby state, nothing else.

I have tried removing all peripherals, unplugging all drives and removing the extra SATA card I installed. I can't remove the sound and video card as they were glued in place by the installer (AmigaKit in the UK). I'm contacting them for returns/repair details but I wondered if there is anything really obvious I could check in the meantime?

It was working absolutely fine yesterday afternoon, I just powered it off as usual and now it won't start.

UPDATE : It lives! I've added the details to my blog here, the last photo in that post of the next-gen and classic systems together makes me so happy

Thanks!

-Mark

Last edited by mdr on 22-Mar-2019 at 11:08 AM.

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 10:12:32
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

@mdr

Hope you get it working.

Mine died 6 month ago. Less than 2 years old.
Worked in the morning. Powered off until afternoon.
Nothing. No lights. Machine has always been on a UPS and had top quality power supply.
Sent motheboard in for warranty repairs.
After nearly 5 1/2 months (Last week) I enqired about it in strong language in an email .
Response was that there apeared to be some foreign substance on the motherboard and that it probably will not be covered by the warranty . Also possibly not worth or able to repair.

The same 'No warranty" issue happened with me and the "Unreleased low cost model" 2 years ago. Also within the warranty period.

My active volcanic environment is the possible" alledged culprit".

So the only working powerpc motherboard that I have currently is the 4+ year old one from the Italian company.

"Volcanic environment" has not kill that one yet.



Last edited by Spectre660 on 19-Mar-2019 at 10:21 AM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mdr 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 10:48:48
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 3-Oct-2018
Posts: 16
From: Unknown

@Spectre660

Yeah, I hope so, too. It's a ridiculously expensive bit of kit and I purchased it for the very reason I thought it would be more reliable and problem-free than my ageing classic Amigas. My dealings with AmigaKit so far have been very good and efficient though and it should still be under warranty so I'll see what they say.

If anyone has any ideas in the meantime I'm open to suggestions...

-Mark

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 12:07:26
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2619
From: Amiga land

@Spectre660

Quote:
My active volcanic environment is the possible" alledged culprit".


probably you dont know but you leave in a vulcan joke.
i know and i put my hands on computers full of cement and marble dust or full of steel scap that never stop for years. ...
i suggest you to swap home from volcano (star trek) to earth or not buy any more varisys hardware

Last edited by tlosm on 19-Mar-2019 at 12:10 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 12:36:12
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Your are lucky that your name was not included on the bottom of the motherboard or I would have been able to point my finger at you as well

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 12:48:20
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

@tlosm

OT:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jRRCysLUde8

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SACC-dude 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 16:42:56
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-May-2005
Posts: 241
From: Sacramento, CA

@mdr

Try changing the battery

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 17:32:05
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 271
From: Vxj, Sweden

@mdr

Make sure the microsd card is seated properly.
If that does not help reflash the card.
Its wise to use another card if it turns out that there is some other problem so that you can reinsert the old one and be pretty sure that the card is ok.

iirc mine behaved the same when i inserted the card wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 17:45:35
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11015
From: Norway

@mdr

Try new PSU or different PSU.

it might be also heat related, is the fan working?

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skateman 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 19:28:41
#10 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2017
Posts: 45
From: Unknown

@Spectre660

With all the contribution you did on the Linux part for the Amiga community you are having problems getting your board fixed / replaced ???? Are you joking?


_________________
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mdr 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 20:08:30
#11 ]
Member
Joined: 3-Oct-2018
Posts: 16
From: Unknown

@smf

Where can I get the x5000 uboot firmware image from? I could try writing to a new sd card I guess and see if that does anything.

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skateman 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 20:10:58
#12 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2017
Posts: 45
From: Unknown

@mdr

AmigaKit should be able to supply this to you.

_________________
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 20:32:08
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

@Skateman

I only expect to be treated as a paying customer .
I await a final diagnosis hopefully as to the exact component(s) that failed .

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skateman 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 20:40:56
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2017
Posts: 45
From: Unknown

@Spectre660

That is the least you would expect. To be honest.. i would expect a bit more

_________________
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 20:58:31
#15 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 1762
From: Czech Republic

@mdr

Based on your video I'd guess at a PSU problem. IMO a faulty motherboard would not prevent the case-fan from spinning if the PSU were OK.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 19-Mar-2019 21:36:27
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

@Trixie

A power supply can shutoff aotomatically is a component on the motherboard or card in an expansion slot causes a shot circuit.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 20-Mar-2019 10:49:05
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2619
From: Amiga land

@Spectre660

Quote:
Your are lucky that your name was not included on the bottom of the motherboard or I would have been able to point my finger at you as well


I dont think the guys that like me had been buy that machine was know what kind of hardware will have .... we first pay after (monts) had...
Me after some time start understand the machine wasnt exactly the ultra quality and ultra mega super computer because ... in the beginning was not present any os that was really working on it, after some time when we start see an os working on x5000/20, i swapped on x5000/40 because i was sure the 5040 will gave me really better performance compared the X5000/20 ... was truly there where i understand that this machine was not a dream machine but only an expensive rasperry pi.

Last edited by tlosm on 20-Mar-2019 at 10:55 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 20-Mar-2019 at 10:51 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 20-Mar-2019 at 10:50 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 20-Mar-2019 at 10:50 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 20-Mar-2019 14:11:17
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9484
From: Greensborough, Australia

@mdr

Have you got another computer you can test the PSU with?

I am surprised the video and sound card had to be glued in place. That's unusual and sounds like a hack job. Don't tell me they forgot to put proper holding clips in place again? My X1000 has this problem. There is no proper holding clip for the video card. If I lay my case down so the board is flat it is unstable due to a wonky video card!

I know it's annoying but due to the nature of the beast do you have a serial cable? If the machine is alive and it should be, since there are stil lights, then a serial terminal will tell if it is booting okay to begin and where it halts. Unfortunately there are no Amiga flashes of colour or PC speaker beeps to indicate failure. Without a serial debug cable they leave you blind sighted.

https://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Advanced_Serial_Debugging_Guide

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amisteph 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 20-Mar-2019 15:05:46
#19 ]
New Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2014
Posts: 7
From: Unknown

@mdr
HI! yes it your power supply! it dose the same ting mine was doing .

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mdr 
Re: X5000 power on fault
Posted on 20-Mar-2019 15:43:27
#20 ]
Member
Joined: 3-Oct-2018
Posts: 16
From: Unknown

Thank you everyone who replied with your suggestions! It's looking like it was the PSU, I just tried a new one and it now powers up properly. By this point though, I'd ended up pretty much dismantling the entire thing so I have to spend an hour or so putting everything back together and hoping nothing else is wrong. But it looks promising so far!

On an unrelated note, I also have some further good news - my A1200 is alive! Will post all the details on my blog in due course, it's been an exciting couple of days

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle