Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5637 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
45 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ppcamiga1:  7 mins ago
 davidf215:  21 mins ago
 RobertB:  22 mins ago
 Tarzin:  42 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 1 min ago
 kolla:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 Trekiej:  1 hr 53 mins ago
 ferrels:  2 hrs 5 mins ago
 ssolie:  2 hrs 7 mins ago
 bison:  2 hrs 7 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  CIA 8520 replacement
Register To Post

PosterThread
TheGuest- 
CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 24-Jul-2019 15:38:45
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Oct-2004
Posts: 30
From: Ontario, The Dominion of Canada

Hello. Is there any prospect for a plugin replacement for the 8520 when the old stock runs out? Is such a thing possible? I apologize, if this is a stupid question. Cheers

Last edited by TheGuest- on 24-Jul-2019 at 04:28 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 24-Jul-2019 17:30:26
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11061
From: Norway

@TheGuest-

Yes just plug inn a AmigaONE in the wall socket

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 05:31 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 24-Jul-2019 19:42:30
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4853
From: UK

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:

NutsAboutAmiga wrote:
@TheGuest-

Yes just plug inn a AmigaONE in the wall socket


Haven't you heard?

The AmigaOne branding died before the stocks of CIA chips ran out!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 24-Jul-2019 20:18:30
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11061
From: Norway

@BigD



When it becomes to illegal to call this Amiga, I'm sure that spanish people with start calling their girlfriends PC for (Personal Consultant).

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:24 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:19 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 24-Jul-2019 20:37:57
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11061
From: Norway

@TheGuest-

It's not stupid question, I believe the answer is that newer FPGA's use different voltage 3.3V DC, so replacing just one chip was unpractical, as don't operate in the 5 VDC range.

I read this somewhere on FB, by someone who acted like he know something
and you must always believe what you read on FB.

anyway all new motherboards that is based on A4000 or A12000 or A1000 (phoenix) use old chips.

So guess its time to start saving for Vampires, if you run out of chips.



I guess if people did not hord Amiga's then be affordable Amiga for everyone, the community is not that large.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:56 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:53 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:48 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:41 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 24-Jul-2019 at 08:38 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Turrican3 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 26-Jul-2019 13:30:22
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 324
From: Italy

@TheGuest-

I believe it's technically doable (there are multiple SID replacement for the good old C64 as far as I know for example), I guess if I'm right it all depends on some enthusiast willing to do this...

Seeing the AMAZING things the Amiga community is still up to in 2019, a quarter of a century after the demise of Commodore, I'm quite confident somehow it's going to happen.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scusscus 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 26-Jul-2019 13:45:37
#7 ]
New Member
Joined: 29-May-2005
Posts: 2
From: Italy

@TheGuest-

A friend of mine told me that, in Italy, Gianguido Casonato replaces old CIAs with programmed PICs.

Try get in touch with Gianguido, you can send him a mail.

Take a look here:

https://www.logicasnc.it/index.php/contattaci


EDIT: Typos

Last edited by scusscus on 26-Jul-2019 at 01:48 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheGuest- 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 27-Jul-2019 15:24:43
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Oct-2004
Posts: 30
From: Ontario, The Dominion of Canada

@scusscus

Thank you! That's very exciting information. I will reach out to him.

I wonder if it is fully compatible?

Aside from pulls or new old stock, I've never seen a CIA 8520 replacement for sale at any Amiga stores.

I wonder if it's still okay to call them Amiga stores, with all the legal action I'm so confused /sarc :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheGuest- 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 27-Jul-2019 15:38:09
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Oct-2004
Posts: 30
From: Ontario, The Dominion of Canada

@Turrican3

IMO. It's titillating to think of all the amazing hardware we can stuff our Amiga's with! There should be an image contest showing off just how much one can cram inside.

Last edited by TheGuest- on 28-Jul-2019 at 02:39 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Turrican3 
Re: CIA 8520 replacement
Posted on 29-Jul-2019 8:23:25
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 324
From: Italy

@TheGuest-

Yeah, it's really amazing.
And I'm all for the contest you suggest! :D

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle