Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5653 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
44 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 saimon69

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 saimon69:  27 secs ago
 SOFISTISOFTWARE:  7 mins ago
 Severin:  8 mins ago
 IRTheBorg:  14 mins ago
 saipaman4366:  15 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  24 mins ago
 ekam:  31 mins ago
 davidf215:  33 mins ago
 Trixie:  46 mins ago
 RobertB:  48 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  iBrowse 2.5
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Swoop 
iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 17:20:51
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

I wonder if anyone can help?

I have downloaded v2.5 and installed my 2.5 key.

Initially it would load jav.library, but a reboot sorted that.
Then I had to update amissl, which I got fro OS4depot.

Currently it is asking me to assign JPEGTMP: Process:247 "IBreowseNetwork"

Any ideas what i need to do?
To where do I set up this assign?

Also Amigans.net doesn't seem to render corectly.
Just text lines and links, no boxes or seperate headline posts

Last edited by Swoop on 10-Sep-2019 at 05:21 PM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 17:22:27
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Swoop

Also hod do I post a crennshot on to this thread?

Thanks

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 17:36:01
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8993
From: Unknown

@Swoop

JPEGTMP: is probably temporary directory for in-built JPG loader, IB2.5 does the same for me (I assigned this to RAM: - seems to be OK).

As of amigans.net rendering, did it render correctly with IB2.4? I remember there was change to amigans.net several years ago and more modern browser is required for correct look.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 17:49:12
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10652
From: In the village

@Swoop

When posting or editing you should see a button above this dialog box - "IMG".

Click that and you can paste your url for your image and position it after the following requester.

If this does not work, then it could possibly be browser dependent.

Give it a try and let us know.

Keep in mind AW TOS: "Images in threads: Images embedded in threads should be no wider than 640 pixels, larger images should be hyperlinked."

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 17:58:21
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2019
Posts: 36
From: Aikido Dojo Nippos

@pavlor

Quote:
JPEGTMP: is probably temporary directory for in-built JPG loader, IB2.5 does the same for me (I assigned this to RAM: - seems to be OK).


I recall that I came accross the same situation under iBrowse 2.4 as well, although I don't remember that I did an assign to prevent it from appearing. He seems to run iBrowse 2.5 under AmigaOS 4, therefore might be this assign specific, and not appearing under 68k version?

Last edited by Samurai on 10-Sep-2019 at 06:00 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:01:44
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2019
Posts: 36
From: Aikido Dojo Nippos

@Swoop

Quote:
Also Amigans.net doesn't seem to render corectly. Just text lines and links, no boxes or seperate headline posts


I think that Amigans.net is based very much on CSS and JS.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:06:41
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10652
From: In the village

@pavlor

Same goes for Aweb and some other programs.

That's why it's best to just to put an assign for JPEGTMP: in user startup.

2011 post on the topic

If anyone has a different recommendation, fire away.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DWolfman 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:20:39
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Jun-2003
Posts: 1442
From: Kansas City, MO USA

@Samurai

Quote:

Samurai wrote:
@Swoop

Quote:
Also Amigans.net doesn't seem to render corectly. Just text lines and links, no boxes or seperate headline posts


I think that Amigans.net is based very much on CSS and JS.


The info on the download page and release notes, etc, all say CSS and more modern web page stuff is still to come later. 2.5 is basically a very bug-fixed and slightly improved 2.4.

I tried the demo, and it really is about the same as 2.4 on what does render correctly, or even work.

_________________
This posting, in it's entirety, is the opinion and/or statement of the author and does not reflect the views and/or position of this site.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:28:06
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2019
Posts: 36
From: Aikido Dojo Nippos

@DWolfman

Sure, it was already mentioned that 2.5 will not bring CSS etc, other than more of a bug fixed release making it more stable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:30:47
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@number6

I have tried the IMG button, but it asks me for the URL of the image I want to add.
AlI want to do is post a creenshot from my hard drive.

[Does this in IBrowse2.5, and firefox on my mac]

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:31:57
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@number6

Thanks for the link on assigning jpegtmp,

I will look at that tonight.

Thanks everyone.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:33:46
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Samurai

Okay, thanks for that.

There are two options to select when loading Amigans.net, I assumed the css one was the correct one after installing the 2.5 update.

Thanks for your help.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:38:15
#13 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2019
Posts: 36
From: Aikido Dojo Nippos

@Swoop

Don't forget that the other option without CSS is old and abandoned.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 18:38:56
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10652
From: In the village

@Swoop

It would be better to upload the image from your H/D to any one of the web image hosting sites.

Then you can use the IMG (url) button and not be limitied by the small size indicated in AW TOS.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Futaura 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 19:21:42
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2004
Posts: 223
From: UK

Regarding JPEGTMP: - you don't really need this in IBrowse. It is just the historical default for the JPEG swap space from any tools that use the IJG jpeglib code.

Go to HTML->Images in the IBrowse settings and you can change it to somewhere else, or better still on OS4 or if you have loads of ram, change the default memory limit for the JPEG decoder to the maximum (no limit) - that is the fastest setting :). It is not a good idea to set it to "ram:" whilst having it set to a limit.

However, I have taken note of this issue - for the OS4 build, I really should have changed the default setting to "no limit" and I shall fix that for the next release.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 10-Sep-2019 19:47:13
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10652
From: In the village

@Futaura

I only suggested leaving the assign to JPEGTMP (from my link in prior post) in because not all programs document the need for it., nor do all users understand it. It avoids an error that some might not know how to easily correct.

iirc, IFX still requires it too, and keeping the assign doesn't cost anything if unused.

Of course for low spec classics it should be assigned to a H/D and not to ram.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 11-Sep-2019 0:18:39
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Futaura

Quote:
if you have loads of ram, change the default memory limit for the JPEG decoder to the maximum (no limit) - that is the fastest setting :). It is not a good idea to set it to "ram:" whilst having it set to a limit.


How do I find that?

When I go into Ibrowse settings and HTML, I don't see an optio for images, anywhere that there is a setting for JPEGTMP location, either.

Sorry if I am being a bit thick

Last edited by Swoop on 11-Sep-2019 at 12:21 AM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 11-Sep-2019 6:02:47
#18 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 667
From: .fi

@Swoop

Quote:

How do I find that?

When I go into Ibrowse settings and HTML, I don't see an optio for images, anywhere that there is a setting for JPEGTMP location, either.

Click the "+" sign before the "HTML" item in the preferences list tree to to expand the view, and then you can see the "Images" item and select that.

_________________
- The wiki based MorphOS Library - Your starting point for MorphOS
- Software made by jPV^RNO

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 11-Sep-2019 10:14:14
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 969
From: United States of Europe

I'm little disapointed to this. iBrowse 2.5 is very tinu update over 2.4, or AWeb or Voyager.

I would pay hapily 59 for a iBrowse 3.0. But if it will take another 13 years, it would be unusefull like iBrowse 2.5. Bad that Chris Young hasn't got any help his Netsurf. It was really near to be usefull with real 68k Amigas.

Last edited by utri007 on 11-Sep-2019 at 10:16 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: iBrowse 2.5
Posted on 11-Sep-2019 21:30:28
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2095
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@jPV

Thanks for that, just sorted it.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle