Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5823 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
57 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  34 mins ago
 Rob:  34 mins ago
 Lou:  1 hr 47 mins ago
 klx300r:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 29 mins ago
 SHADES:  2 hrs 31 mins ago
 Samurai_Crow:  3 hrs 1 min ago
 fishy_fis:  3 hrs 13 mins ago
 Jasper:  3 hrs 54 mins ago
 ealm:  4 hrs 32 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  amiga xe
Register To Post

PosterThread
rob_d 
amiga xe
Posted on 26-Mar-2020 20:00:23
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Jul-2011
Posts: 25
From: london

after about 5 years i dug out my amiga xe and actually installed 4.1 which i bought a few years back changed coin battery and all seemed fine was wondering if this a list of cards that can be used and is the radeon 9250 still the best card for it
i have not had dma fix on machine was thinking of sata cars and any info on best wifi devices for it

thanks for any help

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: amiga xe
Posted on 26-Mar-2020 20:30:52
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9090
From: Unknown

@rob_d

9000 Pro should be the fastest, but it may be hard to find one with 128 MB GFX RAM. Any 128 bit R200 card should be fine (if working of course).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldAmigan 
Re: amiga xe
Posted on 27-Mar-2020 19:06:33
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Dec-2003
Posts: 613
From: Dumfries, Scotland

@rob_d

I've always had mixed results with my XE. I've never successfully managed to get any graphics card working in either the AGP or 2x speed PCI slot and usually ended up back with a Radeon 7000 PCI in one of the normal slots.

I've been through quite a few PATA HDs and even a DOM SSD module.

OWB repeatedly hangs up and necessitates a hard reset

I've also got a new PSU just in case!

Recently I discovered that the thermal past needs replacing on the processor and I wonder if that is a big part of the problem.

For wi-fi I use a small wifi range extender/bridge from Vonets, which I then just plug in to the ethernet port.

Last edited by OldAmigan on 27-Mar-2020 at 07:08 PM.

_________________
Fred Booth
========================================
A500, A600, A1200 c/w Mediator and 030
AmigaOne and OS4.1
Mac LCII, G4 Powermac running OSX + Amigakit and MorphOS 3.0
Dell Mini 10 Netbook running IcAros and AmigaForever+Amikit+AmigaSys
2006 Macb

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rob_d 
Re: amiga xe
Posted on 27-Mar-2020 19:26:35
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Jul-2011
Posts: 25
From: london

9250 seems to work fine i am having issues with random freezing when i try and ope an old amiga active cd and i cant seem to register the os 4.1 software will not accept my serial code for some reason

will check thermal paste now you have mentioned it

Last edited by rob_d on 27-Mar-2020 at 07:29 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tonyw 
Re: amiga xe
Posted on 27-Mar-2020 22:06:29
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3184
From: Sydney (of course)

@rob_d

It is many years now since I had an XE, but the ThermalTake heatsinks were IIRC attached with a piece of double-sided sticky (heat-conductive) pad.

I seem to remember Alan Redhouse warning that some machines were accidentally assembled without removing the protective tape over the sticky pad. So if the heatsink comes off easily, that could be the problem.

On the other hand, if it won't come off easily, leave it alone.

_________________
cheers
tony

Hyperion Support Forum: http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz/index.php

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle