Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6005 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
47 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 redfox:  9 mins ago
 zipper:  21 mins ago
 michalsc:  27 mins ago
 Rob:  34 mins ago
 Bosanac:  1 hr 1 min ago
 xe54:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 Condor:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 _Steve_:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Amiga Racer tracks problem
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
PosterThread
newlight 
Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 17-Jan-2022 18:45:23
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

Hi

The fact is that since I received my AmigaOne X5000 this summer I can't play all of the Amiga Racer tracks,in fact is that I can only play one.

Years ago I can play a lot of the tracks.

Why no at this moment?

And I can't connect to the Live Update option in order to download more tracks.

I want to play with more tracks as before because is a very interesting game.

More circuits I mean

How do you see?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 17-Jan-2022 22:49:43
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 6169
From: S.Wales

@newlight

I don't know the exact details but what I read third hand was that Amiga Racer was based on someone else's work which was used without their permission. Basically it's gone so updates and tracks are no longer avaiable to download.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 11:32:52
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Rob

Ah! OK

Is a pity

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 20-Jan-2022 14:29:03
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Rob

OK I must say that I want to play this game in all its glory because it means a lot for the Amiga platform and for me too of course.

Want to have all tracks

I am sure someone in the planet has all the tracks installed on his/her HD.

If someone can send me a PM I will be very grateful,because the game was an Amedia France gift when I buyed my X5000 amd I was right to have this oportunity.

If someone has its Amiga Racer tracks...you know? It really matters

Thanks for yout patience and stay true to Heavy Metal and Amiga



Amiga rules!!!

Last edited by newlight on 20-Jan-2022 at 02:30 PM.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 20-Jan-2022 14:34:50
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Rob

Amiga rules and Heavy Metal too and...

Long live Amiga Racer!!!

I love it

Last edited by newlight on 20-Jan-2022 at 02:35 PM.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 22-Jan-2022 16:38:58
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@newlight

My Amiga needs seems like they want only one word: AMIGA RACER!!!

Tell me what are your thoughs,and if the game can be obtained (the tracks of Amiga Racer)
can be obtained via PM I will look

Out Run and Amiga Racer areeeeeeeeeeeee: FOREVER!!!!

Search for me please

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 22-Jan-2022 16:39:49
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@newlight

Any ideas?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
FairBoy 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 22-Jan-2022 18:07:11
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2020
Posts: 55
From: Unknown

@newlight
If you insist to play and support lamer's stuff then why not directly contact the impostor himself?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 22-Jan-2022 20:33:34
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@FairBoy

Yeah maybe...

Of course

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 22-Jan-2022 20:34:57
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@newlight

I ewpect better support for this endeavor...from you yeah!!!

Last edited by newlight on 22-Jan-2022 at 08:36 PM.

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spud101 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 24-Jan-2022 12:52:09
#11 ]
Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2016
Posts: 72
From: Unknown

@Rob

Quote:
I don't know the exact details but what I read third hand was that Amiga Racer was based on someone else's work which was used without their permission. Basically it's gone so updates and tracks are no longer avaiable to download.


I assume it's the real cars in the game. I was always wondering how the developer got away with using real car models without licensing them... Assuming licensing the real cars is way too expensive for an Amiga game.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 24-Jan-2022 12:58:39
#12 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2056
From: Czech Republic

@spud101

Quote:
I was always wondering how the developer got away with using real car models without licensing them...

I vaguely remember a Facebook post mentioning that the author used somebody else's game engine without permission/licensing.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 24-Jan-2022 13:21:08
#13 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 982
From: Unknown

@Trixie

Not only that, assets were lifted from a mobile game.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 24-Jan-2022 14:53:42
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 844
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

Quote:

newlight wrote:
@newlight

My Amiga needs seems like they want only one word: AMIGA RACER!!!



Here, my friends, laid bare in front of your gaze avid for knowledge,
here is the average "Amigan":

a yelling, rambling madman,
who can't count to two.







/MEGA!

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL
--
CAN YOU SEE ME? CAN YOU HEAR ME? OK FOR WORK

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fishy_fis 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 24-Jan-2022 16:54:03
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 2031
From: Australia

@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

lol.
As far as deliberate things go, that's one of the most amusing Ive seen someone say on an Amiga site for a while.
As far as indeliberate amusing things go however there's competition in this very thread.

Last edited by fishy_fis on 24-Jan-2022 at 05:09 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 25-Jan-2022 13:14:19
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 1041
From: United States of Europe

@Trixie

I used Canonball engine.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
saimon69 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 25-Jan-2022 23:28:55
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Dec-2007
Posts: 301
From: Los Angeles, CA

@Rose

I provided three audio tracks for the game (plus provided a fourth one that did not get approved), did not ask for compensation (was still restarting to do music), got a keyfile and that's it -_-

Last edited by saimon69 on 25-Jan-2022 at 11:30 PM.

_________________
Scarabocchi Binari - Italian AROS Blog
Binary Doodles - English language AROS Blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 26-Jan-2022 12:35:27
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10578
From: Greensborough, Australia

Before I read the details I thought this was about how Amiga racer tracked a problem and potentially solved it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
MEGA_RJ_MICAL 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 27-Jan-2022 13:15:27
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 13-Dec-2019
Posts: 844
From: AMIGAWORLD.NET WAS ORIGINALLY FOUNDED BY DAVID DOYLE

Quote:

fishy_fis wrote:
@MEGA_RJ_MICAL

lol.
As far as deliberate things go, that's one of the most amusing Ive seen someone say on an Amiga site for a while.
As far as indeliberate amusing things go however there's competition in this very thread.



Friend fishy_fis!

Always glad to ascertain that you didn't, in fact, leave as you planned to do.

And, of course....


............AMIGA RACER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

_________________
I HAVE ABS OF STEEL
--
CAN YOU SEE ME? CAN YOU HEAR ME? OK FOR WORK

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: Amiga Racer tracks problem
Posted on 27-Jan-2022 21:20:23
#20 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1901
From: Somewhere in Spain

@utri007

Cannonball engine? Wow that's a great awesome port of Out Run.Where did you get it?

I think even Cannonball is the best port ever of Out Run because I can play seemlessly without approach of the Amiga machine...In fact...I love it!!!

Amiga Racer is not Out Run.Is more like a Lotus 2 modernized and acomplished for the PPC Amigas.

Long live the fun and the racing

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle