Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6029 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
39 crawler(s) on-line.
 9 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  8 mins ago
 Jasper:  8 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  15 mins ago
 Rob:  21 mins ago
 matthey:  22 mins ago
 redfox:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 michalsc:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 zErec:  1 hr 37 mins ago
 bison:  1 hr 39 mins ago
 bhabbott:  2 hrs 1 min ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Register To Post

PosterThread
Kraftwerk2 
A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 17:12:53
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 228
From: Waterloo, NY

Hi,

Can someone recommend an ATX power supply for the A4000 desktop that will easily fit? I have the ATX power adapter cable from AmigaKit.

Ideally I am looking for something as close to Plug & Play as possible.

_________________
A1-C/750FX@800Mhz/OS4.1 FE up#1
A4000/CSPPC 060-233/146Mb/CVPPC /OS3.9
A3000/CSPPC 060/233/64MB/Prometheus w/ Voodoo3/ OS3.9
A3000/PIV, A3000T/PIV

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 17:30:17
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 982
From: Unknown

@Kraftwerk2

Solved my A4k PSU problem with this and Corsair SF450.

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2792761

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kraftwerk2 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 18:42:31
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 228
From: Waterloo, NY

@Rose

Thank. How do I get one of these adapters?[quote]
Rose wrote:
@Kraftwerk2

Solved my A4k PSU problem with this and Corsair SF450.

_________________
A1-C/750FX@800Mhz/OS4.1 FE up#1
A4000/CSPPC 060-233/146Mb/CVPPC /OS3.9
A3000/CSPPC 060/233/64MB/Prometheus w/ Voodoo3/ OS3.9
A3000/PIV, A3000T/PIV

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 19:01:58
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 6191
From: UK

@Kraftwerk2

Cool! Is there an adapter for the A4000T too?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 19:49:50
#5 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6797
From: UK

@Kraftwerk2

There is also this on the future was 8 bit:

A4000 PSU replacement

It rehouses the SF ATX PSU in the original A4000 housing. RMC did a similar thing but 3d printed a bracket to hold the SF ATX PSU without drilling holes in the original casing.

Last edited by _Steve_ on 18-Jan-2022 at 07:50 PM.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tygre 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 18-Jan-2022 22:41:24
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Mar-2011
Posts: 265
From: Montreal, QC, Canada

Hi all!

Few years ago, I replaced my A4000 PSU with a Mean Well RPT-160B, it fits perfectly

Cheers!

_________________
Tygre
Scientific Progress Goes Boing!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
agami 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 19-Jan-2022 0:00:13
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2008
Posts: 862
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Kraftwerk2

I too am using a 450W SFX PSU, from Silverstone. Highly recommend.

Last edited by agami on 19-Jan-2022 at 12:00 AM.

_________________
All the way, with 68k

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kraftwerk2 
Re: A4000 Desktop power supply replacement
Posted on 24-Jan-2022 23:06:51
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 228
From: Waterloo, NY

Well I gave my old power supply another try. I will have to get a volt meter to check on the per output. My feeling that the power supply is defective is just a gut feeling.

Drives power up, but no reaction from the motherboard at all.

I though maybe the new kickstart rom were flipped. Can anyone clarify which roma go in the left and right sockets?

Last edited by Kraftwerk2 on 25-Jan-2022 at 10:10 PM.

_________________
A1-C/750FX@800Mhz/OS4.1 FE up#1
A4000/CSPPC 060-233/146Mb/CVPPC /OS3.9
A3000/CSPPC 060/233/64MB/Prometheus w/ Voodoo3/ OS3.9
A3000/PIV, A3000T/PIV

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle