Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6076 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
74 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 kolla

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kolla:  2 mins ago
 dreamlandfantasy:  7 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  18 mins ago
 Rob:  23 mins ago
 JKD:  28 mins ago
 BigD:  42 mins ago
 jacadcaps:  47 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 miggymac:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 Comi:  2 hrs 4 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Problem with OS3.2.1
Register To Post

PosterThread
Punkyclown 
Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 26-Feb-2022 19:28:29
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 96
From: Carlsbad, Ca

Hi All,
Running OS 3.2.1 on my A1200 TF1230 excellerator.
Every time I make a change to the system or do a Cold boot my Commodities Library
gets corrupted. It changes size from around 7800 from my install file to around
21000. Crashes my WBStartup files and I have to go in and delete it and then
copy the original file from installs. Then Warm boot and everything is fine.
Any idea why this is happening? Would appreciate any advise.
Thanks
Brad Hansen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cheese 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 26-Feb-2022 20:16:28
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 23-Oct-2006
Posts: 308
From: Unknown

@Punkyclown

Sounds like a linkvirus. Better run an up to date virus checker. xvs.library + virusz are likely a good idea. They should be downloaded on a separate, uninfected system then run from write protected media or so. Or have system booted from known good install and then the original hdd scanned.

Last edited by Cheese on 26-Feb-2022 at 08:23 PM.
Last edited by Cheese on 26-Feb-2022 at 08:18 PM.

_________________
x86/MorphOS 4.0

"Delving into the past can be a dangerous exercise." -hyperionmp

"I've been a supporter of "REACTION" GUI because is an Amiga OS thing." -Snuffy

"I personally prefer a vision of do'ers and makers rather than

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Punkyclown 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 27-Feb-2022 18:57:02
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 96
From: Carlsbad, Ca

@Punkyclown
Hi All, the issue seems to have been resolved by removing "Write" from the
icon information tab.
Brad Hansen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mobileconnect 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 27-Feb-2022 19:00:00
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jun-2003
Posts: 473
From: Unknown

@Punkyclown

well if you made the file not writeable, the virus can't change it. but doesn't mean there isn't a virus

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 27-Feb-2022 19:43:17
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12145
From: Norway

@Punkyclown

Maybe snoopdos can tell you something, what is trying to write to the file.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 28-Feb-2022 16:44:38
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10571
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Mobileconnect

A virus could use SetProtection().

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mobileconnect 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 1-Mar-2022 21:45:00
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jun-2003
Posts: 473
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Only if the developer thought of that in advance

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Problem with OS3.2.1
Posted on 2-Mar-2022 15:53:18
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10571
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Mobileconnect

They wouldn't be very good if they didn't know about it. Then again. A virus writer writing a devastating virus can't test it on his own system or he would destroy his own work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle