Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6096 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
8 crawler(s) on-line.
 13 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 Rob,  Kronos

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Rob:  1 secs ago
 Kronos:  22 secs ago
 Turrican3:  22 mins ago
 duga:  23 mins ago
 michalsc:  1 hr 33 mins ago
 amigang:  1 hr 46 mins ago
 AmiRich:  2 hrs 5 mins ago
 zipper:  2 hrs 17 mins ago
 VooDoo:  2 hrs 29 mins ago
 kolla:  3 hrs 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  AROS requires VMWare Player 12 to do a brand new install and have Sound!
Register To Post

Poll : Would you try AROS on VMWare?
Yes, of Course!
No, Never!
No, Shut the fuck up!
I want the Amiga Developer Team back!
Donate for Hunger in the World!
There can`t be a Computer Ferrari anymore!
Even retarded morons like Pancakes!
 
PosterThread
QBit 
AROS requires VMWare Player 12 to do a brand new install and have Sound!
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 10:28:46
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 461
From: Unknown

I tried to Install AROS One 2.0 on VMWare Player 17 from Scratch but I got no Sound. If you use a VMWare Image from Player 15 Sound runs on Player 17!

So if you want to create a VMWare Experience of AROS from Scratch you MUST start with VMWare Player 15 or 14 or take a VMWare Player 15 or 14 Image to stay safe!

Just wanted to mention that!

https://customerconnect.vmware.com/en/downloads/info/slug/desktop_end_user_computing/vmware_workstation_player/14_0

Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 08:23 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 08:15 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 10:31 AM.
Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 10:30 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 11:24:10
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 461
From: Unknown

@all


WTF?! I did a clean install from Scratch with Widow$ 11 and VMWare Player 14 and got no Sound either!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pixie 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 12:54:31
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 2917
From: Figueira da Foz - Portugal

@QBit

if you got no sound you might as well use the win32 hosted

_________________
Indigo 3D Lounge, my second home.
The Illusion of Choice | Am*ga

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AMIGASYSTEM 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 14:26:18
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Nov-2022
Posts: 47
From: ITALY

@QBit

On VMware what configuration did you choose !

In Guest Operating System, try to use "Other" version, this choice is the best for AROS, where you can add all the peripherals "manually".

@pixie

VMware offers a native and independent experience and a bitter Hardware compatibility, hosted AROS does not guarantee the same experience !


_________________
AROS One Home Site
AfA One Amiga OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pixie 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 16:56:08
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 2917
From: Figueira da Foz - Portugal

@AMIGASYSTEM

On my system both are fast, but hosted is way faster!!

_________________
Indigo 3D Lounge, my second home.
The Illusion of Choice | Am*ga

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 19:28:11
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 461
From: Unknown

@all
On more recent VMWare Player Versions you cannot chose Soundblaster 16 as Soundcard anymore!




I will try this Version to install AROS from Scratch:


https://filehippo.de/download_vmware-workstation-player/12.5.7.20721.0/

Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 07:32 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AMIGASYSTEM 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 20:12:03
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 27-Nov-2022
Posts: 47
From: ITALY

@pixie

On AROS Host, the Network works well ? Videos are seen well (correct speed), and heard well (correct audio) !

Of course without using Linux tools !!!

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM on 09-Jun-2023 at 08:12 PM.

_________________
AROS One Home Site
AfA One Amiga OS 3.9

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: AROS affords an older Version of VMWare Player for installation from Scratch
Posted on 9-Jun-2023 20:17:31
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 461
From: Unknown

@all

Sorry for double Post!
On more recent VMWare Player Versions you cannot chose Soundblaster 16 as Soundcard anymore
With this Version of VMWare Player everything is fine!

https://filehippo.de/download_vmware-workstation-player/12.5.7.20721.0/





I believe you then can use the created virtual Machine Setup on moderm VMWare Player Versions!

Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 08:29 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 09-Jun-2023 at 08:18 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
terminills 
Re: AROS requires VMWare Player 12 to do a brand new install and have Sound!
Posted on 11-Jun-2023 12:14:40
#9 ]
AROS Core Developer
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1471
From: Unknown

@QBit


This shouldn't have to be said but bugs should be reported to the bug tracker so the actual developers can see them as not all of them even look at the forums.

_________________
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

"AROS is prolly illegal ~ Evert Carton" intentionally quoted out of context for dramatic effect

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: AROS requires VMWare Player 12 to do a brand new install and have Sound!
Posted on 12-Jun-2023 13:55:59
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 461
From: Unknown

@terminills


Sorry, please help me find the Bug Tracker.. I don`t know if it is even a Bug or if it is needed to write a new Driver for recent VMWare Versions!

OK I helped myself!

https://github.com/aros-development-team/AROS/issues

https://aros.sourceforge.io/

Shit I can`t donate to kalamatee anymore, my fucking handler closed my Paypal Account!

Last edited by QBit on 12-Jun-2023 at 02:20 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 12-Jun-2023 at 02:17 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 12-Jun-2023 at 02:06 PM.
Last edited by QBit on 12-Jun-2023 at 01:57 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
QBit 
Re: AROS requires VMWare Player 12 to do a brand new install and have Sound!
Posted on 19-Jun-2023 15:12:55
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Jun-2018
Posts: 461
From: Unknown

@all

Nick Andrews clarified:

the problem is vmware automatically picks a default sound device that is not supported by AROS (so it is not a bug). You will need to edit your .vmx file for the virtual machine and make sure the following line is present -:

sound.virtualDev = "hdaudio"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle