Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5770 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
22 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Templario:  8 mins ago
 Plexus:  10 mins ago
 Belxjander:  20 mins ago
 Trixie:  23 mins ago
 BigD:  34 mins ago
 thomas:  52 mins ago
 clint:  56 mins ago
 towo2099:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 9 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 25 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  It is done.... A600 is finished!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
A1200 
It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 3-Oct-2004 3:51:13
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Westhall, UK

...or do I mean complete?

The website will be updated over the coming week but for now here are a few images (including the OS 3.9 install).

Early indications shows a reliable machine, a few issues when scanning the IDE bus (using SYSinfo or HDToolbox) but that is probably some CD motor off or memory addressing thing I can sort or live with.

Erm, its quite late now and I have said I would go into work and help catch up with the accounts so I did not have time to turn all the cache's on etc. but I did quickly run sysinfo and was getting 5.85MIPS and am faster than an A3000-030/25.

Here are the pics:

http://www.amiga600.net/temp/new600_1.jpg
http://www.amiga600.net/temp/new600_2.jpg
http://www.amiga600.net/temp/new600_3.jpg
http://www.amiga600.net/temp/new600_4.jpg
http://www.amiga600.net/temp/new600_5.jpg

I will be bringing the beast along to the Big Bash if anyone is interested in a closer look, but I won't be able to lift the lid as it is stuck down with silicone to stop the IDE cables moving about as they go in and out of the machine.

Unfortunately you have to have the IDE interface outside the machine, but it is not very big so just looks like part of the cable.

More on how it is going soon....

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 3-Oct-2004 8:29:06
# ]

0
0

@A1200

Nice :)

/Bjorn

 
     Report this post  
Edit-Chick 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 3-Oct-2004 8:56:44
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 56
From: Unknown

@A1200

Neat job.

I wonder how much extra space it would give you if you removed that old MoBo and installed a A1 ?

I think that having the new A1 in a genuine AMIGA case would be cool.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Edit-Chick 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 3-Oct-2004 8:59:51
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 56
From: Unknown

@Edit-Chick

Looking at Pauls A1200 which is now removed from the EZTower, You could use Eyetechs keyboard adapter to connect the ribbon keyboard.


[edit] Hang on. I got mixed up. The adapter changes it FROM ribbon to DIN/Ps2.

You need it the other way round.

[/edit]

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cass 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 3-Oct-2004 16:30:59
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 18-Nov-2003
Posts: 481
From: Athens, Greece

@A1200

Great! Congratulations

P.S. I noticed that we have the same cell phone (A835, what else for an Amigan?! ).

_________________
Ordell Robbie: Is she dead, yes or no?
Louis: Pretty much.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Wizzard_o 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 3-Oct-2004 16:40:54
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2004
Posts: 701
From: UK, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Solar System, Alpha Quadrant, The Milky-Way, Universe. 1.1.1.3.44.HP

@A1200

See you can fit a pint in a quart pot!

Nice Job mate, you have made the A600 a more usable machine
(then again anything's more usable than a PC...)

_________________
Rev 1D3 Amiga 1200, Apollo 1240 (40Mhz '040, 64MB RAM), Indivision MKII, Fast ATA MK V, Rapid Road USB, PCMCIA WIFI & OS 3.14

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 5-Oct-2004 3:50:56
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Westhall, UK

Just run SysInfo with all cache's on etc. and got 6.48MIPS (10.5x the speed of a standard A600).

Also, got a basic network up and running, managed to ping my router and laptop, that's all I am doing tonight, it's almost 4am!

Night

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Yssing 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 5-Oct-2004 9:58:08
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Apr-2003
Posts: 1019
From: Unknown

@Cass

You need to have a motorola cellphone :)

The only thing though, the more advanced they get, the more you have to reset them... *sigh*

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ashitaka 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 5-Oct-2004 10:06:47
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2004
Posts: 87
From: Brussels

@A1200

Great mod. this A600 is a nice piece of hardware indeed :)
There might be one more interesting thing to add though : a scandoubler/flickerfixer.
Then you'd have the ultimate A600 around :)

....

Hmmm, and what about a Subway USB adapter ? I don't even know if the A600 has a clockport.
Otherwise, a pcmica compact flash or Secure Digital adapter might be something to consider.


Last edited by Ashitaka on 05-Oct-2004 at 10:07 AM.

_________________
Bruxellois from Normandy
www.sautebroussailles.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
shIva 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 5-Oct-2004 10:09:51
#10 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
Posts: 22
From: wild west germany

@A1200
nice mod - only thing id change would be the fan

_________________
... what is the question ?! ... dont forget the ![url=http://stat

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 6-Oct-2004 0:07:29
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Westhall, UK

Just before I update my website, here is a final hi-res pic of the completed article

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 12:50:05
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Westhall, UK

I am now online using my A600!!!! I am at work at the moment, but I have left it online in #amigaworld. Feel free to /version and /userinfo me! Oh and a Ping to prove its connected via dsl is cool too!

From work I got a 0 secs reply! Can't be bad......

Running the following Internet apps:

Voyager
Amirc
Genesis

Might put Jabber on, not sure yet!

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chunder 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 13:08:18
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 1956
From: The City of Xebec's Demise

@A1200

...right then - what were those Amiga internet vulnerabilities again...

/rubs hands



Seriously, though - good work! I've got an old A600 sitting in a box'o'bits - I'd love to have the time, patience, money, etc. to do something like this.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Brian 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 13:38:11
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2003
Posts: 238
From: Sweden

@A1200

A600 mods are always fun too look at... how ppl tackle the space problem in different ways. Here's a few notes though... you can't possibly be serious in disabling the PCMCIA port so no ethernet card can be used just to get the SCSI cable out of the machine... realy... make another hole for it, how hard can it be? Want to make it realy neat? Then make a short custom SCSI cable with a male in the end and fix the male connector to the case. While you're at it make a simular thing for the IDE cable so you can have an external IDE unit aswell.

Where's the kickstart swithc or the Gayle->Clockport hardware with accopaning IO or USB hardware?

_________________
/Brian
--
Computerhollic, Amiga is my fix!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mark 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 13:43:06
#15 ]
Team Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 1457
From: UK

@Brian

He hasnt sacrificed the PCMCIA, if you look about two posts up, there is a piccy of the completed beast, with a PCMCIA network adaptor underneath teh ribbon cable.

Mark

_________________
IceStar Media Ltd.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
prmetime 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 14:38:12
#16 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Nov-2003
Posts: 27
From: Plymouth, MI

This is really cool. I have been thinking about doing quite a few mods to my A600 as well. Between Christian Krenner and you, I need to get moving on this as I have gotten a great amount of motivation from you two. Hopefully I can have a web site about what I did to my A600 up within six months or so. Great job!!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rigo 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 15:31:35
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 718
From: Unknown

Try doing a Google search for "A600 Suzanne"....

That leads to a fair amount of documentation about a certain expanded A600...


Edit: Small addendum to that lot too. It now runs 030-28 with 32MB and a wireless LAN card :)

Last edited by rigo on 11-Oct-2004 at 05:16 PM.

_________________
Simon

Comments made by me on any public fora are not representative of, or on behalf of, any company I may have, or assumed by the reader to have, any association with.

Any comments are a personal opinion, and should be accepted as such.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 15:43:36
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Westhall, UK

@prmetime

Well there is still amiga600.co.uk, .com, .info, .org etc. so go for it! Mine and Christian's stites are undergoing changes in the near future, so look out for that!

Have a lot of fun and be prepared to be frustrated, see:

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=6948&forum=2

I hope the beast travels well, I am taking it to the big bash and if the A630 board comes off, I will not be able to get the case off to well. Anyway I am packing a toolbox with bubble wrap to take some of the bumps and knocks along the A47.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Brian 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 21:24:24
#19 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2003
Posts: 238
From: Sweden

@Mark

I stand corrected... I responded to the fist pictures not seen the last one. Still it's an awfull way of doing it. I like the way I got my IDE ribbon cable outside my A1200 machine with a IDE Male connector at the back of the machine a hole lot more.

Still it's just my input... do with it as one likes.

_________________
/Brian
--
Computerhollic, Amiga is my fix!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Jamie_S 
Re: It is done.... A600 is finished!
Posted on 11-Oct-2004 22:34:06
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Oct-2003
Posts: 794
From: Purbeck, UK

@A1200

I think what you've done with the 600 is brilliant... the A600 was my first miggy, which I still have, but it died sadly

_________________
A600 OS3.1 ACA620 | '030 A1200 OS3.5 | A1-C 750GX OS4.1 | SAM460 OS4.1 | '040 A3000 OS2.1 | Christian Aid |

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle