Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5615 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 53 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amigakit:  14 mins ago
 TRIPOS:  17 mins ago
 smf:  33 mins ago
 Rob:  39 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 Wizzard_o:  1 hr 41 mins ago
 TargExplorer:  2 hrs 21 mins ago
 Srtest:  4 hrs 19 mins ago
 Jasper:  4 hrs 41 mins ago
 QuikSanz:  4 hrs 45 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  X5000 blog
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 6-Aug-2017 8:58:35
#41 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

@icbrkr

Out of curiosity what graphics card you using with the X5000? If you have a Southern Islands graphics card, Linux as yet wont support 3d Acceleration but will in a future update which means that you will struggle with video playback in anything other than a small screen.

If you do have one of these cards and are using SMplayer try setting the video driver to X11 to get fullscreen synced playback. Playback quality isn't great but for the time being until the 3D acceleration is implemented for these cards, but at least you can play DVD's.


_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 27-Aug-2017 21:06:33
#42 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

For those interested in doing some optimizing of their classic mode setup on Amiga OS4.1 in particular Picasso 96 screen modes you may be interested in today's blog post




AmigaX5000 Blog

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 27-Aug-2017 21:52:07
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4067
From: UK

@outrun1978

Great blog entry thanks! Would Alien Breed 3D 2 run in a bigger window? I'm sure the A600 Vampire V2 was running this game better than this!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 27-Aug-2017 22:17:57
#44 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

@BigD

If someone can let me know how to run this in a bigger window I will be happy to report back, although i can't see any obvious setting within the game menu to amend the window size. I know pressing F6 will adjust the rendering settings, but this was set at high rendering so better resolution wihtin the game.


As for the comparisons with the Vampire, I think it runs as quick on the X5000 as from the videos I have seen of the Vampire in action. Bear in mind I have set the classic side of things on the X5000 to mimic a 68040 set up not a 68080 set up of a Vampire.

The Vampire as useful and interesting a kit it may be for classic users will not give you OS4.1 nor will it let you run all the OS4.1 software. That being said, i look forward to seeing a Vampire in action in person when i get the chance probably at the amiga32.de show in October

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 9:42:57
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4067
From: UK

@outrun1978

See HERE

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 10:50:24
#46 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

@BigD

Cheers for the heads up and will try it later on and report back, although i suspect it will be running at the same speed in full screen mode.

The JIT compilation is quite interesting actually as for most A500 spec games it is actually not required and if you leave it on in some cases for example Buggy Boy it manages to speed up some games really quickly to the point that it is totally unplayable and you have to remove it to play it at normal speed.

The JIT definitely helps playing games like Sim City 2000 which really flies now and is a lot quicker than it ever was on my A1200/ 68030 accelerator card set up.

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 11:10:31
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4067
From: UK

@outrun1978

Cheers for checking AB3D 2 out.

Quote:
The JIT definitely helps playing games like Sim City 2000 which really flies now and is a lot quicker than it ever was on my A1200/ 68030 accelerator card set up.


Sweet Shame the game was never quite fast enough on a 030 060 is great other than the music that always cuts out after a while and is poor by Amiga standards.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 12:40:10
#48 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

@BigD

Just tried AB3D 2 and yes it runs in full screen mode at the same speed as on the video, interesting to note however if you change the UAE configuration file to a 68060 machine, it runs even quicker

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Srtest 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 12:47:31
#49 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Nov-2016
Posts: 144
From: Israel, Haderah

@outrun1978

In the docs of the Jit version it says it doesn't support 060 all that well so I never tried it. You ran it with 060 and Jit?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
outrun1978 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 13:19:48
#50 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Feb-2015
Posts: 318
From: Stockport, England

@Srtest

Have run it both in with JIT swtiched on and swtiched off at 060. and the same at 040 and 020 To be fair i don't really notice too much of a difference with it switched on or off in either config. The 060 is the quicket config, but the 040 and 020 version isnt too bad either in terms of speed

I did however notice a difference in speed on the Sam 460 with the JIT swtiched on when playing this game so am guessing the processing power of the X5000 is more than enough here

_________________
Amigaone X5000 with Radeon HD7750
Amiga1200 with ACA 1231/42 68030 64mb with OS 3.9
Amiga CD32

Check out my blog on the Amigaone X5000 at www.amigax5000.blog

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Srtest 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 13:23:31
#51 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Nov-2016
Posts: 144
From: Israel, Haderah

@outrun1978

Thanks. At one point the 060 + jit gave me an instability (on something like Bloodnet which responded to acceleration - both emulated and real in a strange way) so I put it aside and forgot about it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: X5000 blog
Posted on 28-Aug-2017 18:25:59
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3165
From: Toronto, Canada

@outrun1978

thanks for this awesome blog for all OS4.1 users

btw, I hope you keep your A1200 and give her some love every once in a while

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
AspireOS= Amiga on my netbook!
X1000 I BEL

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle