Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5763 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 58 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ferrels:  31 mins ago
 simplex:  41 mins ago
 matthey:  46 mins ago
 hth313:  46 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 retro:  2 hrs 25 mins ago
 HyperionHolding:  2 hrs 44 mins ago
 tlosm:  2 hrs 50 mins ago
 broadblues:  2 hrs 51 mins ago
 Paul:  3 hrs ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Amiga NG Startup Timing
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Zylesea 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 30-Jan-2012 11:00:04
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2077
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

An my Mac mini boot times for MorphOS 2.7 are about 20s from power on to functional desktop with a standard 5.4krpm 2.5" hdd. The longest time takes the Open Firmware. Once OF is ready the actual OS starts in about 6s.

_________________
My programs: www.via-altera.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
danwood 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 30-Jan-2012 11:03:56
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2008
Posts: 1058
From: Unknown

@Mechanic

Quote:
In S:Startup-sequence, copy the whole line that begins C:AddNetinterface..... and paste it just below the line C:LoadWB.


That's fine if you don't run apps in WBStartup that rely on net access, I have commodities like Wet which throw up requesters with errors saying they cannot find a valid IP address, so worth checking if you can get away with this.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 30-Jan-2012 11:48:57
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3396
From: Freedom world

@danwood

That is more like wrong behaviour in commodity, though. If application can't get to the net and it is configured to not popup anything (CX_POPUP=no) then it probably shouldn't throw any error requesters...

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mechanic 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 30-Jan-2012 11:59:46
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Jul-2003
Posts: 2007
From: Unknown

@eliyahu
The bootmouse and bootkeyboard are used for the Early Start Menu. Which
is fine not to use them if you have no need for that function. When USBCtrl
Start kicks in they are no longer active.

Otherwise the modules you don't load are the same as mine.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 30-Jan-2012 15:50:36
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4158
From: Sweden

@m3x

Quote:
U-boot on Sam440ep/Sam460ex use PIO-4.


NICE!
That means it is possible, and has been done, and also means the X1000 will also use at least PIO-4 too. Only the old A1s are stuck on PIO-0, but that's ok. Noone wants to mess with U-Boot on them and I get that....

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 17-Mar-2012 19:43:33
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2967
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

Hi all,

Just to revive this thread...

I managed to get boottime on my Sam460 down to 21 seconds (from the moment kickstart starts loading 'till WB appears)

I modified Kicklayout and removed all unneeded stuff from Devs (not sure if that made any difference though).

Anything more I can do ? or don't

----Kicklayout-----

; Configuration name
LABEL AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
; Exec name
EXEC Kickstart/loader
;
; PPC native modules
;
MODULE Kickstart/kernel
MODULE Kickstart/FastFileSystem
MODULE Kickstart/SmartFilesystem
MODULE Kickstart/JXFileSystem
MODULE Kickstart/battclock.resource.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/bootmenu.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/bootimage
MODULE Kickstart/CDFileSystem
MODULE Kickstart/con-handler.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/console.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/diskboot.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/diskboot.config
MODULE Kickstart/diskcache.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/dos.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/elf.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/env-handler.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/FileSystem.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/gadtools.library.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/gameport.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/graphics.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/hunk.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/input.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/intuition.library.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/it8212ide.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/keyboard.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/keymap.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/layers.library.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/lsi53c8xx.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/newlib.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/nonvolatile.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/nvram.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ram-handler.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ramdrive.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ramlib.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/shell.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sam460sata.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii0680ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3112ide.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/sii3114ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3512ide.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/strap.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/timer.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/rtg.library
MODULE Kickstart/PCIGraphics.card
;MODULE Kickstart/ATIRadeon.chip
MODULE Kickstart/RadeonHD.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/3dfxVoodoo.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/siliconmotion502.chip
MODULE Kickstart/petunia.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/usbresource.library
MODULE Kickstart/usbsys.device
MODULE Kickstart/hub.usbfd
;MODULE Kickstart/bootmouse.usbfd
;MODULE Kickstart/bootkeyboard.usbfd
MODULE Kickstart/massstorage.usbfd
;MODULE Kickstart/uhci.usbhcd
MODULE Kickstart/ohci.usbhcd
MODULE Kickstart/ehci.usbhcd
;
; Additional contributions from ACube.
;
MODULE Kickstart/i2c.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/fpga.resource.kmod

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eliyahu 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 18-Mar-2012 0:00:14
#27 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2010
Posts: 1759
From: Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)

@Metalheart

you can also comment out the following:

Quote:
; Additional contributions from ACube.
;
MODULE Kickstart/i2c.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/fpga.resource.kmod

additionally, depending on what file systems you use with your disks, you can also comment out 'fastfilesystem' or 'jxfilesystem' if you don't use them. of course if you ever do, you'll need to remember to uncomment those lines....

-- eliyahu

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
clusteruk 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 18-Mar-2012 7:48:16
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2008
Posts: 1497
From: Marston Moretaine, England

@fishy_fis

Comment just for fun but true.

My aros system on my laptop is fully functioning as soon as i open my lid so i guess around half a second.

But this is on my vm on my my macbook which has a reliable sleep mode, something that none of ours have. Something to work on because i rarely turn my system off i just shut the lid.

I think having sleep mode and instant on is more useful but while not available the quick boot is nice.

_________________
Amiga 1000, 3000D Toaster, Checkmate A1500 Plus
http://www.checkmate1500plus.com/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 18-Mar-2012 9:01:02
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2967
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@eliyahu

Thanks !

What are the meant to do ?

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
arigatou 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 31-Mar-2012 4:15:05
#30 ]
New Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2012
Posts: 3
From: Unknown

For some reason, the system lock, black screen, if I press the reset button or press the CTRL + ALT + ALT. So, if I want to cold start I want to reach the power button.Annoying.

_________________
Universal Battery Charger

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 31-Mar-2012 6:40:04
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5101
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@arigatou

Exactly the same behaviour here. (SAM440ep mini)
BIOS bug?
BIOS setting incorrect?
Broken board?

Last edited by KimmoK on 31-Mar-2012 at 06:40 AM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mechanic 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 31-Mar-2012 14:20:21
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Jul-2003
Posts: 2007
From: Unknown

@arigatou

Quote:

arigatou wrote:
For some reason, the system lock, black screen, if I press the reset button or press the CTRL + ALT + ALT. So, if I want to cold start I want to reach the power button.Annoying.


Which computer?

@Kimmok

I had that problem early on but it just went away and I don't know why or when.

What happens if you hold the reset button in for 5-10 seconds?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: Amiga NG Startup Timing
Posted on 31-Mar-2012 18:24:32
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5101
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@Mechanic

"I had that problem early on but it just went away and I don't know why or when."



Just realized that I had not tried it for a very long time.

Now... the problem might be gone.
ctrl+alt+alt works.
Reset button works.

Have to try another day with cold motherboard&chips, just to make sure.

Perhaps something has improved in BIOS???


(in windows: "yesterday it worked, now it does not"
on Amiga: "yesterday it did not, now it does"
I prefer it this way around... )

Last edited by KimmoK on 31-Mar-2012 at 06:27 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle