Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6074 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
75 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 gonegahgah

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 gonegahgah:  2 secs ago
 Gunnar:  5 mins ago
 Karlos:  6 mins ago
 Varthall:  20 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  26 mins ago
 BigD:  30 mins ago
 K-L:  32 mins ago
 Rob:  40 mins ago
 vox:  53 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 9 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  I'm trying to port mplayer
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
NutsAboutAmiga 
I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 18:30:56
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12290
From: Norway

I'm trying to port mplayer, I have magicly managed to compile most modules, the problem is when I start compiling the mplayer.c source, currenlty I need to replace this functions whit some thing Amiga native..

undefined reference to `pipe',`select',`swab',`usleep','fork',`waitpid',`glob',`globfree'

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ikir 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 18:34:45
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2002
Posts: 5647
From: Italy

@NutsAboutAmiga

I can't help you, i'm not a programmer, but your effort is very much appreciated! I really hope that someone helps yo, so you can manage to port this good software to OS4.
Thank you.

_________________
ikir

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
alx 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 18:38:06
#3 ]
Super Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 1224
From: Midlands, UK

@NutsAboutAmiga

Have you tried starting from the MorphOS source (I'm assuming you've get the generic/Linux sourcecode)? I'd have thought that that'd have more Amiga-friendly calls? Good luck with the port

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 19:19:10
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12290
From: Norway

@alx

out of interest of porting things from linux I where thinking about trying to port some thing that some one else have successfully ported before me, I call it an exercise. you may call me nuts

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai_Crow 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 19:20:27
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Jan-2003
Posts: 2317
From: Minnesota, USA

@NutsAboutAmiga

Follow ALX's suggestion. Fork is tricky to fix.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 21:42:47
# ]

0
0

@NutsAboutAmiga

hi m8 i did have a good look at mplayer.c & but if you are trying to port mplayer to a68k you need to do some/litle changes

use> gcc / GNU compiler

write a empty window opens on amiga displays nothing just empty
than go back to mplayer & set intuition/gfx rastar window/screen to mplayers
display not sure what was it called.

first port disable the sound you can add AHI later & will make porting easyer.

goodluck


 
     Report this post  
sicky 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 21:52:50
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2843
From: Essex, UK

@NutsAboutAmiga

Unfortunately I'm not a coder so can't help

Are you attempting to port it to 68k or OS4?

_________________
SAM 460 with 2GB or RAM, 1000GB HD, 4 port SATA, DVDRW drive and Radeon HD 4650 GFX card.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 22:26:39
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12290
From: Norway

Quote:

hi m8 i did have a good look at mplayer.c & but if you are trying to port mplayer to a68k you need to do some/litle changes

use> gcc / GNU compiler


Yes I'm trying to recompile for OS40, so I use GCC so this is not a problem,

Quote:

write a empty window opens on amiga displays nothing just empty
than go back to mplayer & set intuition/gfx rastar window/screen to mplayers
display not sure what was it called.


I don't think I need to change that it supports SDL and SDL exists for AmigaOS,

Quote:

first port disable the sound you can add AHI later & will make porting easyer.


Just cutting the mixer out will remove 50% of all my problems, what is left is a few fork()'s, select()'s and some waitpid()'s,

From my view it look like it triggers a fork whit inn the modules them self, so that program can skip waiting for sub function to finish.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 22:36:23
# ]

0
0

@NutsAboutAmiga

I don't understand. MorphOS port supports overlay, AHI, everything, no need to invent wheel twice. It can be tweaked OS4'ish later on (use P96 features etc).

 
     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 13-Jul-2004 22:45:34
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12290
From: Norway

@itix
Recompiling the MOS version will be to easy, I'm not doing the port just to get an player on AmigaOS40

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Serpi 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 16:16:25
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 547
From: Germany

@NutsAboutAmiga

Well, at least you could have a look at the MOS sources, just to see how they worked around fork() ans similar

Ciao, Alfred

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miksuh 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 16:29:54
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 731
From: Espoo, Finland

@NutsAboutAmiga

I aggree with itix, I would try to port the MOS version. It's already tested and it's known to work well. I don't think it's bad if porting is "too easy"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miksuh 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 16:36:30
#13 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 731
From: Espoo, Finland

@Serpi

I think i saw one solution in the Amiga Developer help site, it was implemented using ix_vfork() in the ixemul.library. If I remember right MOS has ixemul.library. But it was said that there isn't ixemul.library for the OS4. I don't know, but it's possible that MOS version use that ix_vfork() solution.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miksuh 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 16:37:53
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 731
From: Espoo, Finland

@miksuh

Yep. Here is Louise's fork() replacement from the Amiga Developer help site:

#ifdef AMIGA
child_pid = ix_vfork();
#else
child_pid = fork ();
#endif
if (child_pid < 0)
{
// ERROR WITH fork()!
return -1;
}
if (child_pid == 0)
{
// CHILD code;
#ifdef AMIGA
ix_vfork_resume();
#endif
exit (1);
}

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Agafaster 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 16:55:59
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 1413
From: West Midlands, England - sector ZZ9 plural Z alpha

@miksuh

fork() - isnt this the unix/linux/BSD equivalent of starting a new Process / Task ?

I would be very interested in 'ahem' testing your work !

_________________
XH558 - the worlds last flying Vulcan.
ok, its actually XL426 in the picture but you know what I mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hyph-n 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 17:03:03
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2003
Posts: 148
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

just got my AmigaOne & installed OS4 & the SDK.... just wondering what to do next..... (i'm a professional Windoze developer)

can i ask: do u use an IDE, or just a TXT editor? -- i was wondering whether to buy GoldEd Studio, or just do it all manually ...

ps: i would be more than happy to help, if you need a hand... it would be a good starting point.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
miksuh 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 14-Jul-2004 17:14:40
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 731
From: Espoo, Finland

@Agafaster

My work ? Did you mean NutsAboutAmiga ? We seem to have same avatar

Nothing to test from me until i get OS4 and AmigaOne Well maybe something for OS3.x.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trixie 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 15-Jul-2004 8:52:08
#18 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 2062
From: Czech Republic

@hyph-n

Quote:
do u use an IDE, or just a TXT editor? -- i was wondering whether to buy GoldEd Studio, or just do it all manually ...

Don't hesitate and go GoldED - it's a wonderful piece of software, there's nothing comparable to it as far as programming tools are concerned. By the way, I have just placed my order, too.

Regards,
Trixie

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000/020 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Slash 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 15-Jul-2004 9:05:14
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 686
From: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK

@Trixie

I just bought GoldEd AIX myself the other week and it's already destined to collect dust on the shelf... I don't like it, and I've been forcing myself to use it for the last week.

I just can't get into it. For a start it is FAR to much orientated towards M$ Windows, from the look to the wording conventions et all. Makes me shiver. There are far to many configuration options, I thought setting up Opus Magellan from basic installation was a knightmare, this is 1000x worse.

That said, if you've got a lot more patience than I have I suppose you could get it setup the way you want. Me, I prefer using StormC 4 IDE

_________________
This fire is burnin' and it's out of control
It's not a problem you can stop, It's rock n' roll - GN'F'N'R

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: I'm trying to port mplayer
Posted on 15-Jul-2004 10:24:02
#20 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
pipe',`select',`swab',`usleep','fork',`waitpid',`glob',`globfree'


Some of these are in clib (pipe) or libnet (select), but fork is going to be a problem.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle