Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
7 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 zipper

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 zipper:  3 mins ago
 Kronos:  5 mins ago
 Karlos:  31 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 1 min ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 pixie:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 vox:  2 hrs 24 mins ago
 BigD:  2 hrs 39 mins ago
 Hypex:  2 hrs 46 mins ago
 MagicSN:  3 hrs 47 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
DiscreetFX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:02:16
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Feb-2003
Posts: 2509
From: Chicago, IL

@Kronos

You have used one? Do you know of any other real-time video switchers for that price?

_________________
Sent from my Quantum Computer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:02:22
#22 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@Rudei

Quote:

Rudei wrote:
See posts 685, 686 and 687 on original thread page 35 for results.


Heh I just posted them all above again after diggin them out of the javascript 'cause I couldn't find where the original post had gone :)

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
arnljot 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:02:44
#23 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2007
Posts: 163
From: Oslo

I have all next week free from work... I guess I'm gonna break my F5 button too...

I seccond that everyone who has read that page get one % discount based on the number of times they've F5'ed that page...

_________________
A posting a day keeps the sanity away...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:03:28
#24 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

Yeah, I'm at work too.. But I don't mind, I work at a computer anyway, I'll just break work's F5 key instead of my own :)

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
JurassicC 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:05:59
#25 ]
Super Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 1441
From: Somerset, UK

@Kronos

Quote:

Kronos wrote:
@JurassicC

And what would be the point ???

The toaster (Amiga-version that is) is completly outdated, and whatever such a frankenstein-computer could could be done just as good with a real Amiga.
Today everything video can be done by brute CPU/GPU force. Much more sane to provide those and then write some video-SW useing it.


Agreed however, I'm just speculating a use for the xorro slot, maybe its similar to the A1200 trapdoor slot if Xena is some sort of classic hardware emulation in an FPGA then perhaps the trapdoor signals are also emulated and wired out to the Xorro slot. Pure speculation I know until we know more.


_________________
A1200T 603e 330Mhz - Mediator TX OS4.1 F.E.
CDTV 8MB Fast, OS3.1, SCSI, MicroSD SCSI & CD32 FMV
X5000, X1000, A1XE with OS4.1F.E.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:08:39
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

I'm only half way through the first thread so hopefully I'm not duplicating too much.

I've been trying to find a chip I have laying around to compare to the one in the kindof back-right corner of the pic near the battery. I suspect but can't find my example to confirm.

Other clues:
Heatsink mounting screw holes. Anyone recognize that size/pattern? Is that meaningful, or just a convenient reuse of easily obtainable PC parts, even though that may be way more heatsink than required for this CPU?

PCI-Express slots. A number of them. They must have used a PCI-Express switch for PowerPC for that many of them, may not give much real clue about which PPC SOC was used. Though I don't see a switch chip, maybe hiding under the "Not Yet" box.

Two banks of RAM. The 8610 only has one controller, 8640/8641 have two memory controllers. So I'd guess 8640/8641. (which are very similar, 8640 sounds like a lower power version of 8641)

Recent hints of multi-CPU support coming also support the 8640/8641 dual-core.

I am of course ignoring AMCC chips above, I don't know as much about them, but don't consider them high-performance as 8640, so that's what I hope for. Maybe Titan, but that still seems new enough to not be as likely. I don't know much about Freescale's QorIQ chips either.

Looks like a Xilinx FPGA behind the PCI white slots. I like FPGAs. Hopefully it's big/fast enough and connected to useful connections to do something cool.

Last edited by billt on 03-Jan-2010 at 06:17 PM.
Last edited by billt on 03-Jan-2010 at 06:10 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xo 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:09:39
#27 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Nov-2003
Posts: 17
From: Vienna, Austria

@JurassicC

did anyone already notice that in the source of
http://a-eon.com/5.html
it says "Did you spot the xorro slot?"
Seems like tomorrow's piece of the puzzle will bring some more insight on that...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:12:22
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@BinoX

I got a different response to typing in xena. I got the "You may be spot on but I'm just javascript" response.

That was from clicking the CPU though. I redid it on the other box and got your response.

I did get the CPU box to tell me I'm so smart I may cut myself. Hurray?

Last edited by billt on 03-Jan-2010 at 06:15 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RWO 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:14:05
#29 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 457
From: Denmark

What can Xorro deliver than PCI/PCI-E can't? it must be something other than a transport layer.

If they just added another custom socket just too be cool, they could just as well have added a ISA slot or Zorro for that matter.

_________________
Debugging is a state of mind

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:14:48
#30 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@billt

That was the CPU one.

The one that gives you that response about xena is the "Not yet..." one
you get the reponse you got if you do it on the "But almost..." one

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:15:33
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3505
From: Italy, Perugia

@Fransexy

Dancing Xena

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigang 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:17:22
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2005
Posts: 2048
From: Cheshire, England

Finding it difficult to keep track of what been found, whats been confirmed and whats just rumour, any chance a Moderator, could do a brief run down on what we know so far and post on the very first post of this thread 'tomazkid'.

I do find it odd however that hardly any other Amiga related site seems to be talking about it.

Any way this is all very good news, a new motherboard means it very likely I will be getting a new amiga this year as no1 this new hardware will be so good I will just have to get one, no2 the price of the new board is very low so I can get one or no3, I can get a cheap 2nd hand Sam board for a user who upgrades. So good good. Great start to the year!

_________________
AmigaNG, YouTube, LeaveReality Studio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amiga_3k 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:17:47
#33 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Jun-2006
Posts: 834
From: Ohrid, Macedonia

@RWO

But a-eon technologies is founded as being a company developing computerhardware, including accessories. Add that to the absence of a display connector and one (at least I) could conclude that together with this motherboard and fancy case they might as well deliver some fancy video-card to fit the Xorro slot.

_________________
Back home...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jaseinblack 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:18:44
#34 ]
Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2004
Posts: 55
From: Stoke-on-Trent, UK

Xorro slots aren't necessarily compatible with Zorro slots, in fact I'd doubt that - probably just user ports that cards can be created for to add functionality?

Last edited by jaseinblack on 03-Jan-2010 at 06:19 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:18:59
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2263
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@billt

Titan has been ruled out by TrevorD already. The 864x is not too compatible with 16x PCIe and more than 4 GB ram. Leaves virtually only the PA 1682.

_________________
My programs: via.bckrs.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CaptainFrank 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:25:41
#36 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Feb-2003
Posts: 118
From: UK

@BinoX

I see you opened the javascript to read the possible answers aswell!

Frank.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Crumpster 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:27:26
#37 ]
Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 43
From: Beds, UK

I've changed my CPU guess to the QorIQ P4080 :) :

Page 18 in this document for a schematic of the P4080: Freescale 2009 roadmap PDF

I didn't figure that the MPC8641D was from about 4 years ago.
The above document is from August 2009.

Cheers,
Graham C

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
billt 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:28:51
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Oct-2003
Posts: 3205
From: Maryland, USA

@mihcael

Quote:
i have no idea... its in the page source of http://a-eon.com/5.html


No idea what xorro is, but after seeing you point to the clue, look more closel;y at the pci-express slot closest to the white pci slots. I didn' t notice at first, looked likey at anther physical x16 slot, but it is actually more like a x1 slot with something directly behind it that looks like the same slot. Since it sounds like something not industry standard, the FPGA must go there. Xorro, borrowing the X from the Xilinx? Hmmm...

Finally got to the first thread part where Rogue talks about this Xorro slot a bit.

It doesn't financially make sense to make any custom chip silicon, it must all be in the FPGA, which must be the Xorro slot. IMHO.

Last edited by billt on 03-Jan-2010 at 06:42 PM.

_________________
All glory to the Hypnotoad!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:33:41
#39 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 11593
From: In the village

@amigang

Quote:
Finding it difficult to keep track of what been found, whats been confirmed and whats just rumour, any chance a Moderator, could do a brief run down on what we know so far and post on the very first post of this thread 'tomazkid'.


That's really the responsibility of the user who starts a thread and has that control. Whether he chooses to do so or not would be his decision.
We've seen such summaries done in troubleshooting threads many times.

Quote:
I do find it odd however that hardly any other Amiga related site seems to be talking about it.


Amiga.org and Moobunny have growing threads, as well as numerous irc channels. I sense that frowning down on speculation in general on amigans.net over the years has driven home the thought that speculation of even a positive nature is a dangerous road to travel.
Just my 2 with no intention to offend.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CaptainFrank 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com? Part 2
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 18:35:20
#40 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Feb-2003
Posts: 118
From: UK

@BinoX

Quote:

BinoX wrote:
Yeah, I'm at work too.. But I don't mind, I work at a computer anyway, I'll just break work's F5 key instead of my own :)


No you won't. You'll be working, I`ll make sure of it!

Also, all talk of this is banned at work!

Frank.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle